What does the reset button do?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What does the reset button do?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    767

    What does the reset button do?

    Just exactly what does the reset button do? How does it differ from selecting Turn Off Computer and selecting Restart?

    Curious, haven't been using it but maybe I should.

    Thanks, Bill
    AMD 9950 Quaad-core processor
    M2N-SLI Deluxe board
    4 GB OCZ Gold
    WD 500GB SATA2 HD
    Antec True Power 750
    Antec Sonta case
    BFG 8600GT 256MB video
    Samsung 940bx 19" LCD
    Samsung SH-S203B DVD
    On board NIC
    SB Audigy sound
    XP Pro 64 bit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    it is the same as pressing the power button twice when your computer is already on.
    this causing you to run scandisk
    best used when your pc crashes
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    its not meant to restart the computer whilst an os is operating, only for crashes really, it basically restarts everything without saving.
    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    US
    Posts
    1,157
    Justintime is right. If you need to restart, do it from the Start menu if possible. Sometimes the PC will freeze, and the only way is to hit the restart button. And what Justintime just mentioned, it will restart without saving your work.
    Eric

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    95
    Why has no-one told the man that it's simply a switch that momentarily cuts power to the board ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Que, Canada
    Posts
    8,689
    Originally posted by Streptococcus
    Why has no-one told the man that it's simply a switch that momentarily cuts power to the board ?
    The reset doesn't cut the power at all. The reset button, sends the processor's reset pin to ground, which in turns clears all NMIs (non maskable interrupts) and forces a cold boot.
    Gilles Lussier

    HWC Folding@Home Team

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    6,334
    damn

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    state college, pennsylvania
    Posts
    407
    interesting.
    Dell PowerEdge 400SC
    Intel Celeron 2.4Ghz
    WD740GD (74GB HD)
    WD1200JB (120GB HD)
    WD400JB (40GB HD)
    LG DVD Burner
    Sony CD Burner
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    Hauppauge WinTV PVR-350

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Posts
    571
    Nice definition glussier. Of course, the reason you use the reset button rather than turning the power off and on again is because the power surge caused by powering up and down (particularly in rapid succession) is bad for many of the components and could shorten their life.

    That's why some people leave their systems on 24/7, although there's been plenty of arguments on HWC over the years about the merits of that strategy.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    350
    Ok so on the subject or rebooting

    What is the difference between hard and soft reboots?

    Am I right in thinking that a hard reboot is using reset button or power button and cutting the power. A soft reboot is using your OS to restart the computer?
    Thejaronline.com

    ECS K7S5A
    AMD Athlon 1GHz
    512mb PC133 SDRAM
    Sony 48x12x48 CD-RW
    DVD
    Seagate Barracuda 80Gb 7200rpm IBM Deskstar 60GXP 40GB
    Creative 3D Blaster Personal Cinema
    Antec PlusView 1000
    Microsoft Windows 2000 Pro SP4

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    high wycombe, UK
    Posts
    676
    a hard reboot - power off/on or using the reset switch is the same as turning on the machine for the first time - all devices are reset and powered up/initialised completely blanking any residual setting

    a soft reboot - ctrl,alt,delete restarts the computer from the moment past initialising the hardware which is why the memory isn't retested at startup. This i believe can leave residual settings in hardware/memory etc and potentially virus's so is fine for resetting machine if possible after a common or garden software crash but if you've used software to change hardwaresystem settings e.g. agp fast write(prehaps?) you need a hard reboot or obviously if the system is no longer responding to ctrl alt del.

    think thats right, or least ways right enough for the average layman!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •