Which video card now? etc...etc...etc...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Which video card now? etc...etc...etc...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,595

    Which video card now? etc...etc...etc...

    PNY TECHNOLOGIES GEFORCE4 TI4600 128mb
    or
    ATI All-In-Wonder RADEON 8500 128mb

    I'm actually buying one of these because i'm using up a grant to pay for a laptop(from Dell) and i'll have enough left over for a real videocard.
    These are my choices, which should i get?
    For the longest time i wanted to get the Radeon 8500 because the technology seems more promising for tomorrows games. Yet even up to now the 4600 seems to romp the 8500. Not sure which will be best for DoomIII but i'm really leaning towards the 4600 at this point.

    PS: (If i can afford the 9700 when i go to order i'll get it but right now it looks like i'll be going with one of these)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    The Ti4600 is a much more powerful card than the 8500 and does outperform it considerably in most situations. It is also much more expensive. You pay a premium for the All-In-Wonder card as it has Video In/Out, a TV tuner, TIVO functionality and a remote control. The standard 8500 cards are quite a bit less (<$100).

    Get a Radeon 9500 Pro. It's about $200 and stomps all over the pair of them, especially when using FSAA and anisotropic filtering.

    Congrats on the grant.

    MuFu.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,905
    yeah since thge 9500 pro is in roughly the same price range as the the ti4600 get the 9500pro
    i always mean to get a radeon but keep being faithful to nvidia

    radeon 7000 got a gf4 mx440 (which died so got a gf2)
    and was going to get the 8500 but got my beloved ti4200
    i WILL get a radeon one day though
    A64 3000+ at 3.2ghz
    1gb OCZ Plat 2
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Galaxy 7800GTX
    600W Enermax
    Regassed prommie with R507a

    Ah the new updatedness of my sig.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,595
    The 9500 Pro wasn't even on my radar. If dell carries it when i make the purchase i will definetely keep it in mind(I have to purchase it from dell for reasons i won't get into) as it does out perform the 8500. I looked at some benchmarks and it looks like the 4600Ti still pretty much beats the 9500 Pro in every benchmark by a considerable amount.
    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=1735

    However the price ion the 9500 Pro is very reasonable considering the performance you get.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,595
    Upon further inspection...
    Looks like that Anandtech review didn't include the final version of the 9500 pro board.
    The newer boards do seem to leave the 4600Ti in the dust especially where AA and AF are concerned.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Yeah, its about the same speed as a Ti4600 normally but miles faster with FSAA and aniso. Also DX9 compliant and IQ *should* be better above 1280x1024 if you are picky about that kind of thing.

    MuFu.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,595
    I shall be picky. This will be my DoomIII card. I might even say hell with it and drop the ram in my laptop to 128mb and get the 14.1" display over the 15" and that way i'd have enough left over for the 9700. I've never actually owned a top of the line videocard before.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Well in that case I suggest you wait a couple of months and see how the NV30/NV31 shape up in preliminary benchmarks.

    If you can't bear to wait, get a Radeon 9500 Pro/9700 or 9700 Pro - their 8-pixel pipelines give them a big advantage over other, currently available cards in the stencil-intensive DOOM3 engine.

    MuFu.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,240
    The ATI 9500 pro looks like the best buy available. I just read a review where they tested dx9 using it, and support is there and it worked great. The 9500 Pro is definitely above Nvidia's best offerings right now. DX9 can be downloaded now from Microsoft, but no reason too, except maybe a demo to showcase it if you have a ati 9500 pro or above, 9700 or 9700 pro. This is a good review of the 9500 Pro and how it varies from all the other video cards available:
    http://tech-report.com/reviews/2002q...o/index.x?pg=1
    Ut2003: http://www.ut2003hq.com/
    Last edited by evetsrim1; December 20th, 2002 at 07:43 PM.
    Technology increases at a parabolic curve upward.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Radeon 9500 Pro, Catalist 3.0, DirectX 9.0, Hack the BIOS and overclock. This is just a great card for the money and should play Doom3 pretty good.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The "313"
    Posts
    56
    I hear the driver support sucks for ATI Radeon cards. That's pretty important in my book. Also hear some game won't run with
    Radeon because of this. (Sports games)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK/HK
    Posts
    524
    hey todd, is there a hacked bios that can oc 9500 now??? i thought at the moment they can only underclock with those bios..it crashes if they oc..

    hardocp

    Antec TruePower 330W
    Asus A8N-E Bios 1008
    AMD 64 3000+ E3 Venice 1.8GHz @ 2.7GHz/auto vcore(1.55v~)
    (9x300/HTT 3x/RAM 266)
    Arctic Freezer 64 HSF
    Kingston 2x512MB CL2.5 DDR400
    ATI X800XT 256MB PCI-E, CAT 6.13 500/500 @ 520/510
    21" Eizo CRT 1280x1024@85Hz
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250GB 16MB cache
    Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200GB 8MB cache
    Samsung 16x DVDRW
    Logitech X-620 6.1 Speakers
    Canon Pixma IP3000 Printer

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,781
    Originally posted by Str8 up gamer
    I hear the driver support sucks for ATI Radeon cards. That's pretty important in my book. Also hear some game won't run with
    Radeon because of this. (Sports games)
    That's the same old rumors; ATI has much better drivers now than the first days of the 32MB DDR Radeon, or even the Rage for that matter. The Catalyst driver series is extremely solid, and driver updates are remarkably better.

    My roommate has an AIW 7500, we installed the latest Catalyst
    on a fresh XP install and all games we've thrown at it works wonder: UT2003, Iron Storm, Counterstrike, NFS HP2, NHL2003, Tiger Woods 2003, America's Army just to name a few.

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by KAsports
    hey todd, is there a hacked bios that can oc 9500 now??? i thought at the moment they can only underclock with those bios..it crashes if they oc..

    hardocp

    http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...hreadid=139110

    MuFu.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Yes. ATI added a string in the card's BIOS that prevented overclocking. That string has been tracked down and a BIOS is floating around. I first heardf about it from HardOCP and the BIOS is floating around the Rage3D forums and seems to work good. They are hitting the same speeds as the Radeon 9700 Pro (325/310), but it still only has a 128bit memory bus. The performance is great for the price and the Saphire cards should be out soon at a street price of $150 or so. Hopefully they mod the BIOS themselves.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •