PC turning off randomly
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: PC turning off randomly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142

    PC turning off randomly

    Hi there!

    Lately I'm having the problem that my PC turns off at random (happened again just an hour ago). No crash, no messages, just as if I had cut off the power. First I suspected something with the power management, so I turned off all ACPI / APM functionality, but it still happened.
    My question: Why? Could the cause be a dirty PSU? I've opened my PC and once again cleaned it out, and there were LOADS of dust in the PSU and the CPU cooler; as the PC didn't crash, I assume it wasn't an overheated CPU. Does an ATX PSU cut off the power when it gets too hot? I didn't exactly burn my fingers, but the PSU was quite warm when I opened my case.

    Any opinions?


    edit: Oh, I forgot: The PC was running all day, but being idle (just running a screensaver and some ISDN stuff like answering machine and fax receiver), but when I decided to go surfing a bit before bed time - bang! - it went down after a couple of minutes....
    Last edited by Ford Prefect; November 18th, 2002 at 07:01 PM.
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142
    nope. Cleaning didn't help. Happened just again.

    Any ideas?
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142
    As a side note, I don't know if there's any connection or if it's coincidence... it never happens when I sit and watch my PC, like watching DVD's or some fancy game fly-by (did that for testing purpose... really boring ). Most times it happens when I scroll my MOUSE WHEEL.... (MS Intellimouse Explorer USB). Possible? Could the mouse be defective and causing a short or something? I don't really want to buy a new PSU and then realize that it's not the PSU's fault....
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    Please list your complete system specs, and cpu/case temps.
    Barton 2500+ @ 230*10.5
    Abit NF7

    Watercooled w/ #Rotor block

    2x256 Corsair XMS PC3200
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    Hercules GTXP
    120GB Seagate Barracuda
    Antec 1080B w/Antec 430W


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142
    Epox EP-8KTA2 KT133
    AMD Duron 750
    MSI Geforce2 Ti
    Creative SB Audigy
    Realtek NIC
    AVM Fritz! Card Classic
    No-name ATX case w/300W PSU
    Win98SE

    I guess it's not a heat issue. My sensors read 38/33/26C for CPU/Board/Aux. Must be either the mobo or the PSU; or could Windows somehow be sending the signal to turn the PC off "by accident"?
    Last edited by Ford Prefect; November 19th, 2002 at 05:23 AM.
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    259
    Try updating your mouse drivers or try a different mouse. If that doesn't do it, then I would think it's your Power Supply Unit (PSU). Good Luck!
    Epox 8RDA+ (Rev 1.2 w/ C1 Stepping)
    XP 1700+ TBred B (OC'ed 2450 MHz)
    SLK-800(A), Enermax 350W
    Buffalo Technology PC3200, 256MB X 2
    ATI Radeon 9500 Modded to 9700 Pro
    WDC 120 GB (8MB Cache)
    Sony Trinitron 19" & KDS 17" TFT LCD
    Logitech iFeel Optical Mouse

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142
    hmmm I've tried a different mouse, even different types (PS/2, serial). No change. I have, however, noticed that the problem only *seems* to ocur when I'm using MSIE.... I can work / surf for hours, even heavy tasks like video encoding, but when I have to us the IE for certain pages that don't support Mozilla (which is a shame that those pages even exist), it's a matter of time that the PC turns off. I've made an intense scan of my HDD, but haven't found any viruses.... now this is becoming really eerie....
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    What OS? I think Windows 98 had an AMD patch for it. I personally thnik it is the PSU.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142
    believe it or not.... I've tracked it down to a software problem. I can work fine as long as I avoid the IE. Use the IE - bang! - the lights go out.
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Sarawak, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,807
    What version of IE are you using??
    Probably you can update your version to the latest IE6 SP1..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    alternativly, don't use IE

    www.opera.com

    www.mozilla.org

    www.netscape.com
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    142
    that's what I do . Mozilla is my stadard browser, but there's always a few pages that simply don't work with browsers other than IE. Bummer .
    There is an art, or rather, a knack to flying.
    The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.

    - The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy -

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •