Corsair XMS3200 - 220MHz@CAS2!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Corsair XMS3200 - 220MHz@CAS2!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466

    Corsair XMS3200 - 220MHz@CAS2!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    i really wanna buy that stuff for my new water cooling machine. i just wanna see if the abit kd7 has a 1/6 divider...or any other kt400 board for that matter. i doubt my scsi controller can run that far outta spec.

  3. #3
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    6ns chips? I have PC166 that has only 6ns chips on it and it will not do anything close to 220MHz!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Of the two KT400 boards I've seen reviewed (Gigabyte and Abit's AT7 MAX2), neither have 1/6 dividers. The KT400 just offers official synchronous memory and CPU bus support at 166/333MHz. The name of the chipset is very misleading. I'll wait for the KT400a. There will have to be a 1/6th divider then.

    [edit]I almost forgot to mention, it seems that VIA is demanding that the KT333 chipset be relabelled as KT400. The only difference being AGP4x vs. 8x. nVidia's nForce2 can't come soon enough, that is if it's ever ratified by AMD...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    yea i have read serveal things. i have heard the kt400 chipset won't support a 1/6 but i have heard the setting is there on some asus boards. i have yet to hear of anyone using it. there is also some word that i read saying the max2 doesn't have it but the kd7 does....it would be very sweet if they did include it on at least some boards but it doesn't seem hopeful. it is stupid as hell that they call it that and yet include basicaly no support for it.( i guess u can run the ram at 400/333bus?) didn't kt333 allow a 333/333 bus?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Originally posted by dfgsd
    it is stupid as hell that they call it that and yet include basicaly no support for it.( i guess u can run the ram at 400/333bus?) didn't kt333 allow a 333/333 bus?
    Yeah it allowed it, but the setting wasn't official. It's too bad there weren't any KT266A mobo's with locked PCI/AGP frequencies- none of VIA's current chipsets really outperform it they just offer more dividers and integrated features...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Ol man
    The PC-166 uses 6ns like the DDR333. That would make it PC2700 not PC3200 (or DDR400) so it IS running overclocked and not true PC-3200. It is kind of like the differance between "true" PC2700 and PC-2100 overclocked to 2700 with a heatspreader mounted on it so you cant read that it is realy 7.5ns memory chips. True PC3200 would be 5ns. Now I've been seeing PC3500. That's DDR 415Mhz or so and that would be about 4.5ns. Man that is insane. Don't you wish you could get some of those memory chips on your graphics card on memory for your PC. Something like 3ns for DDR 667. Boy I can't wait for the Hammer.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    The first DDR3500 used 6ns chips. Soon Geil will be introducing a platinum RAM line that uses 4.5ns (or maybe 4ns, I can't remember) chips.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Now 4ns would be nice. That would be capable of PC-4000 or DDR 250MHz. Think of this in dual channel on a Hammer board.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Another review...

    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1229

    "Only" 215MHz@most aggressive memory timings this time.

    MuFu.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    And I thought my 187MHz and max timings on my Samsung was pretty good
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    and the board is probaly limiting the ram on all those....i want my damn 1/6 divider....is there any socket a board with one??

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Originally posted by dfgsd
    and the board is probaly limiting the ram on all those....i want my damn 1/6 divider....is there any socket a board with one??
    Yeah, any board with a SiS735/745 chipset or the IWill XP333.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    well i guess let me put it another way...i want a board that can actually make it that high to use it. i don't think i have ever seen the i will or any 745 chipset running at 200....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •