i c'ant overclock my pentium 133mhz!!!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: i c'ant overclock my pentium 133mhz!!!!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    14

    Thumbs down i c'ant overclock my pentium 133mhz!!!!

    Hi everyone,its my first step in overclocking and its not a succesfull day!!

    i bought a system with a Pentium-s 133mhz and i want to overclock it so i go to the bios (AMI) and i can't find anything to help in this way.

    No fsb available ......nothing!!!!

    so i go to the dip switch on the motherboard,i make every possibility and the result gave me nothing good.

    i just go down on megahertz like 90 or 100 or 120!!!
    finally i put it back to 133 mhz.

    i am so disappointed nothing to do maybe i done something wrong!

    i saw on the motherboard the table for dip switch and when i put higher the multiplicater like 3x its put my cpu to 100 mhz!!!

    really i don't understand!!!!

    please help me to push this thing faster i am dying on windows xp

    by the way its not so terrible with xp and 64 mb

    thanks bye
    Pentium4 1.5 ghz
    Intel 845 HV
    512 pc-133
    20 g Maxtor 5400rpm
    radeon 8500
    sound blaster live! windows xp


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Escanaba, MI.
    Posts
    3,057
    there is nothing in the bios on an old machine. all jumpers and dips. 66mhz FSB? Try 2.5 mult. for a 166
    *This space for rent*

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    14
    i try this one already and it give me 133mhz
    Pentium4 1.5 ghz
    Intel 845 HV
    512 pc-133
    20 g Maxtor 5400rpm
    radeon 8500
    sound blaster live! windows xp


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Hmmm...there was a certain batch of P133 chips that was locked. I remember hearing about it. Can't remember if it was like SY033 or something like that or SY022. I dunno. My P133 runs at a 3.0x multiplier and 66FSB at stock voltage (no voltage tweaking on this baord) without problem...
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Did a little research and found this...

    Quote from Tom's Hardware Guide
    In case you want to overclock a Pentium 133, try to avoid the 'SY022'. 33% of the Pentium 133 with this S-spec have been disabled for multiplier settings of more than x2. In my database there are 22 of 66 entries with the 'SY022', where the CPU wouldn't support multipliers of x2.5 and x3. A small number of SU073 also seem to suffer from the same problem.
    If you have an SY022 P133, it is, most likely, locked. I read somewhere else just a few moments ago that said most P133 and P200MMX chips were locked.
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    14
    thank you duronoverclock,its seems like my cpu is one of them.

    maybe im gonna buy an other processor like a 166 mhz....
    Pentium4 1.5 ghz
    Intel 845 HV
    512 pc-133
    20 g Maxtor 5400rpm
    radeon 8500
    sound blaster live! windows xp


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Well then set it to 1.5x100.

    My Pentium 233 was not locked in any way.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    133MHz was the fastest a lot of motherboards supported. You may simply be at the limit of your mobo. MY P100 was like this- 100MHz was the fastest it would go, so wasn't much I could do...
    Pentium IV 2.4C Northwood- M0 stepping @ 3.2GHz HT
    Air Cooled w/ SP-94 heatpipe & 92mm Vantex Tornado at 45C
    4x256=1gb dual-channel 2-3-3-6 OCZ PC800DRAM @ 890MHz 3-4-4-8
    MSI Neo2-PLS w/I865PE & SATA @ 4x267=1068MHz
    BFG GeForceFX 5900@485/967MHz = 6284 3DMark2003s; dual-head 21" CRT & 19" LCD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    14
    my mobo can take up to 266 mhz on a pentium and 300 on a amd k6 i think ,i think its my processor who can't go further then 133mhz.

    the mobo take 60 or 66 fsb

    the multiplier goes to 1.5 to 3.5

    the motherboard is a AI5TT baby-at makes by taiwan mycomp co.
    Pentium4 1.5 ghz
    Intel 845 HV
    512 pc-133
    20 g Maxtor 5400rpm
    radeon 8500
    sound blaster live! windows xp


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    My P233MMX was locked. No higher than 3.5x . Didn't really matter though because 3x83 was the fastest setting I could probably ahve used. 3.5x75 worked for like 261, but 3x83 for 250 was faster. Damn I loved that setup. Started with some POS Packard Bell that I got for $26 at a computer show. Ended up ruining that board somehow...I think I flashed the wrong BIOS, and then ****ed up the bios chip trying to get it out. Then I bought a ASUS SP97-V. Worked awesome...that is, until another corrupted BIOS flash (damn floppies!). For a while, I had no idea what I was gonna do so I bought an ASUS SP97-XV. Basically the SP97-V with USB, and ATX form factor. Then I found this guy named Arthur Keekmeester or something. His site is www.flashbios.org I believe. Can't remember. So for $7USD (plus the $3 it cost to ship overseas back a couple years) I had my chip sent to him and reflashed with a good image, and back to me within a week. He's helped me a couple times with various dead boards I've received from people.

    I'm going to be getting rid of my P133 soon I think.. depends if my uncle's P166MMX will work in my board. The Intel board I have doesn't support MMX chips, nor their voltages. So I'm gonna try the chip in the board with good cooling and hope it doesn't fry. I may eventually get around to voltmodding the board down lower as well. If the 166MMX works out for me (need the extra cache for my server), then I will be looking to get rid of the P133 I think...
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •