Unlocking new OPGA Athlon XP Palomino 1800+
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Unlocking new OPGA Athlon XP Palomino 1800+

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ames, IA, USA
    Posts
    159

    Unlocking new OPGA Athlon XP Palomino 1800+

    Hi all

    Good to be back to this awesome forum, and to see all the changes (yes, it's been a while).

    Just got myself an upgrade, ABIT KX7-333R, 512 Mushkin PC2700 RAM, SB Audigy and a green OPGA Athlon XP 1800+ (not T-Bred, but Palomino I believe)

    Read an article that those new greenies cannot be unlocked, no matter what. Just wondered if anybody had any luck unlocking those. Currently it's at 1692 Mhz (11.5x146), with RAM at most agressive settings at 166. Unlocking it would be best shot though, but no luck finding more info yet.

    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=1009

    This is the article that describes the general idea of unlocking those cpus, but not sure if there is no other way.

    Cheers and thanks for any info.


    [EDIT] Just noticed that there is CPU related forum hehe, so if this one is a wrong to post such questions, plz move this post [/EDIT]
    Last edited by redsolar; July 31st, 2002 at 04:27 PM.
    Athlon XP 1700+ AXDA1700DUT3C @2004 Mhz (166x12), TT Volcano 7+, Arctic Silver 3
    Abit KX7-333R
    512 Mushkin PC2700 + 512 OCSystem PC3200 CL2
    Sapphire Radeon 9800 non-pro flashed to pro 128MB 430/370
    Creative Audigy
    Western Digital Caviar 2000JB 200GB
    Western Digital Caviar 1000BB 100GB
    IBM Deathstar 60GXP 60GB
    3DMark 2003

    Real_Men_Do_Not_Use_Space

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Memphis Tennessee
    Posts
    4,930
    Sharkys Extreme has a fairly new tutorial (April12, 2002) on unlock/overclocking CPU's.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ames, IA, USA
    Posts
    159
    Leoslocks,

    Thanks for the try, but the problem is that i seems i have one of the newest cpus, which were unavailable at the time Sharky worte their guide. My CPU is OPGA (Organic Pin Grid Array), and is green. The older ones were brown and had a little different bridge structure.

    Cheers.
    Athlon XP 1700+ AXDA1700DUT3C @2004 Mhz (166x12), TT Volcano 7+, Arctic Silver 3
    Abit KX7-333R
    512 Mushkin PC2700 + 512 OCSystem PC3200 CL2
    Sapphire Radeon 9800 non-pro flashed to pro 128MB 430/370
    Creative Audigy
    Western Digital Caviar 2000JB 200GB
    Western Digital Caviar 1000BB 100GB
    IBM Deathstar 60GXP 60GB
    3DMark 2003

    Real_Men_Do_Not_Use_Space

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Lakewood, CO
    Posts
    3,604
    I have an XP 1800+ that's green (Palamino). I just filled the L1 pits with white out, and connected the bridges with conductive paint. If you're talking about the Tbred core, then you can unlock them, but it's different. I don't know off hand where I've seen it, but if you have a tbred, I'll look.
    Athlon 64 2800+
    1xWD 1200BB, 1xMaxtor 200GB SATA
    Asus K8N-E
    2x512MB Corsair XMS3200
    Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
    Radeon 9800 Pro, Dell 1801FP - WinTV Theater
    Sony CRX320E Combo Drive, Pioneer A04
    Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro - Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical
    Win XP Pro SP2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ames, IA, USA
    Posts
    159
    Cool wetling,

    I was just wondering if anybody unlocked that thing. Glad it's possible

    *orders conductive paint*

    Thanks a lot hehe

    Cheers.
    Athlon XP 1700+ AXDA1700DUT3C @2004 Mhz (166x12), TT Volcano 7+, Arctic Silver 3
    Abit KX7-333R
    512 Mushkin PC2700 + 512 OCSystem PC3200 CL2
    Sapphire Radeon 9800 non-pro flashed to pro 128MB 430/370
    Creative Audigy
    Western Digital Caviar 2000JB 200GB
    Western Digital Caviar 1000BB 100GB
    IBM Deathstar 60GXP 60GB
    3DMark 2003

    Real_Men_Do_Not_Use_Space

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Lakewood, CO
    Posts
    3,604
    Glad to help.
    Athlon 64 2800+
    1xWD 1200BB, 1xMaxtor 200GB SATA
    Asus K8N-E
    2x512MB Corsair XMS3200
    Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
    Radeon 9800 Pro, Dell 1801FP - WinTV Theater
    Sony CRX320E Combo Drive, Pioneer A04
    Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro - Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical
    Win XP Pro SP2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    I've had an AGKGA 1600+ and two AGOIA 1600+ chips. They were all green. I was able to unlock my AGKGA by filling the gaps with sister's nail polish and used a window defogger repair kit (cost ten frickin dollars!!! ) Haven't attempted the AGOIA's yet, but will be very soon. I am expecting them to be unlocked just as easily since they look identical except for the core stepping.

    Got 1.63 out of my AGKGA (bout the limit for medium-range aircooling, Dragon Orb 3 w/ 7200RPM). I am hoping for 1.8+ with my AGOIA on my new setup (not together yet, need some DDR RAM...looking at Mushkin PC3200). I'll have a nice little test with the two AGOIA chips, and see which one will clock higher. Then my dad gets the other one at whatever the chip will clock to on 1.55v. My AGKGA was doing 1.47 on 1.55v...
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    I've unlocked a couple of green XP's; the one I have at the moment is an AGOIA-0 core than is quite happy at 1938MHz with the radiator fan at 12V (That is at the limit of my memory - 155MHz). To keep the noise down I run the fan at 7V for a stable 1900MHz.

    The method I have always used is to mask off the pits with surgical tape and fill them with superglue. Then I remove the tape, shave down the excess superglue using a knife blade (very easy to do) and bridge the gaps in a slap-dash manner using conductive silver paint and the eye of a needle (on its side). When the paint is semi-dry it takes no skill at all just to scrape away the excess with the other end of the needle, leaving very neat little strips of silver.

    MuFu.
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •