Overclocking PIII 500
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Overclocking PIII 500

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ 07030
    Posts
    135

    Overclocking PIII 500

    Hey everyone,

    Need some help overclocking a DELL XPS T500 system... the cpu is a pentium iii 500 mhz processor and the board is a SE440BX-3. I know it is possible to overclock with software such as softfsb but is it possible to hardware overlcock through a method of covering up a pin on the processor for example. I have KingMax PC133 memory on the way and should be in on monday. Would appreciate any help...
    Ebay Handle: creek-chub-maniac (70)
    Heatware Handle: polski-krol (10)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    widgetville
    Posts
    373
    what are the details on that PIII 550
    Soyo P4S-Ultra Rev1 (RAID)
    P4-1.8A @2.35
    1024 MB DDR-2700
    4 60GB ATA-133 HDD
    SB-Audigy Gamer
    Leadtek GeForce 4 ti4400
    Win-TV
    Sony 16x DVD
    Sony 24x10x40 CD-RW
    Mitsubishi 2020u 22"
    and not a dime left to my name

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Likely you are looking at a .25 micron P3 Slot1 CPU with 1/2 speed 512MB "on package" L2 memory cache. These things only made it to 600Mhz and even with good cooling and extra voltage 650 was beyond most. Very few made it to 700Mhz. Just see if you can get a Slotket addaptor and a Celeron 1Ghz or something like that. Probably cost you under $100 and really fly. Maybe a new graphics card while you're at it, but I'm not sure if you have an AGP slot. Otherwise you are stuck with something like a GeForce4 MX420 or slower.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    damn 512mb of cahce....that thing must kick ***.


    yea as i remeber early p3s didn't overclock well....probaly not even worth trying

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ 07030
    Posts
    135
    The processor is a slot 1 100 mhz bus pentium 3 katamai processor... if you need specifics like l2 cache speed information then i dont have that.
    Ebay Handle: creek-chub-maniac (70)
    Heatware Handle: polski-krol (10)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    11,079
    Originally posted by dfgsd
    damn 512mb of cahce....that thing must kick ***.

    R.I.P Rangeral, To one of HWC's best moderators and a great guy

    By the way, what does BTW stand for?

    It is better to be tried by 12, than carried by 6.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    widgetville
    Posts
    373
    -all of the proc info will be silkscreened on the side :


    ex- 550/512/100/2.0v S1

    99201150-0401 Malay
    '98 SL3F7
    Soyo P4S-Ultra Rev1 (RAID)
    P4-1.8A @2.35
    1024 MB DDR-2700
    4 60GB ATA-133 HDD
    SB-Audigy Gamer
    Leadtek GeForce 4 ti4400
    Win-TV
    Sony 16x DVD
    Sony 24x10x40 CD-RW
    Mitsubishi 2020u 22"
    and not a dime left to my name

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    255
    I suppose that is a Slot 1 processor. You can actually cover the A14 pin to have a default FSB of 133 MHz (though I tried it with my PIII 450 and it didn't work)
    I have no idea about your mobo but it may offer some settings on FSB. From there you can tweak it.
    It also helps to post the stepping of your PIII 500.
    And though it has 512 kb L2 cache, it only runs at half the CPU speed. So a PIII 500 would have a 256 MHz L2 cache.
    And FYI, my PIII 450 can go up to 600 without problems (@ 2.20 V).
    One claims to know everything and yet knows nothing

    System 1:
    Athlon XP 1800+@2408MHz(14x172MHz) cooled by Aero 7 Lite
    Jetway N2PAP-400 nForce2 mobo
    256 MB DDR333 Kingston
    Lite-On 48x24x48 (x16) DVDROM/CDRW Combo Drive
    Gainward Ultra-750X Ti4800SE 64MB DDR
    15" monitor
    ACS 45.1 speakers


    System 2:
    Pentium 3 450@600 MHz(4.5*133 MHz)
    PC-Chips M748MR
    64 MB RAM
    48x CDROM Drive
    15" monitor
    Voodoo 3 2000 PCI@188 MHz
    loads of crap



  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ 07030
    Posts
    135
    Alright guys, here are the specifications...

    Processor
    ------------
    Intel Pentium III 500 MHZ
    500/512/100/2.0V S1
    99110267-0016 MALAY
    i '98 SL365

    Motherboard
    ----------------
    Intel SE440BX-3
    Cypress 149 Clock Generator

    Memory
    ---------
    2 X 256 KingMax PC-133 ECC (Is in the mail and I am waiting for it)

    Video Card
    --------------
    Nvidia TNT2

    If you need any other info please let me know as I want this thing to fly! Many thank!
    Ebay Handle: creek-chub-maniac (70)
    Heatware Handle: polski-krol (10)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    255
    I took the liberty on going to www.overclockers.com and to it's database and I've seen a PIII 500 with the same stepping as yours overclocked at 650 MHz with retail heatsink. So there you go, you might just reach 650 (it is on 130 FSB) with retail HSF.
    You can try CPUCool to change your FSB within windows provided the PLL is supported (go to their website and have a look at it)

    Good Luck!

    I'm not really familiar with the motherboard so I can't say for sure on tweaks regarding your mobo. But maybe others can help on this
    One claims to know everything and yet knows nothing

    System 1:
    Athlon XP 1800+@2408MHz(14x172MHz) cooled by Aero 7 Lite
    Jetway N2PAP-400 nForce2 mobo
    256 MB DDR333 Kingston
    Lite-On 48x24x48 (x16) DVDROM/CDRW Combo Drive
    Gainward Ultra-750X Ti4800SE 64MB DDR
    15" monitor
    ACS 45.1 speakers


    System 2:
    Pentium 3 450@600 MHz(4.5*133 MHz)
    PC-Chips M748MR
    64 MB RAM
    48x CDROM Drive
    15" monitor
    Voodoo 3 2000 PCI@188 MHz
    loads of crap



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ 07030
    Posts
    135
    I know the motherboard supports software changing of fsb as I was able to clock it to about 105 fsb before it conked out on me due to my ram being early pc100 memory. Wondering if there is a hardware way of overclocking it... like my covering a few pins or undocumented jumpers... looking at all options available..
    Ebay Handle: creek-chub-maniac (70)
    Heatware Handle: polski-krol (10)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    255
    I'd recommend waiting for the memory. Your PC100 memory is keeping you from getting higher. Intel has loooong locked their multiplier so you can only change the FSB.
    One claims to know everything and yet knows nothing

    System 1:
    Athlon XP 1800+@2408MHz(14x172MHz) cooled by Aero 7 Lite
    Jetway N2PAP-400 nForce2 mobo
    256 MB DDR333 Kingston
    Lite-On 48x24x48 (x16) DVDROM/CDRW Combo Drive
    Gainward Ultra-750X Ti4800SE 64MB DDR
    15" monitor
    ACS 45.1 speakers


    System 2:
    Pentium 3 450@600 MHz(4.5*133 MHz)
    PC-Chips M748MR
    64 MB RAM
    48x CDROM Drive
    15" monitor
    Voodoo 3 2000 PCI@188 MHz
    loads of crap



Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •