fps in CS on G2 MX400 PCI???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: fps in CS on G2 MX400 PCI???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    266

    fps in CS on G2 MX400 PCI???

    I have an old computer that I want to play Counter-Strike on it. It is a Compaq AMD K6-2 475 MHz and without an AGP slot. I am thinking an upgrade to G2 MX400, 32 MB, PCI and hopefully achieves 30 fps at resultion = 1024 in CS. Can someone advise whether the V-card can make it?

    The K6-2 475 MHz performs like a P-II 350 MHz.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    Anything based on Voodoo from V3 3000 on would probably give you better performance (if not higher FPS then defenitly more stable ones)

    I am saying this cause V3 is dirt cheap where I live (20$ second hand) and you can later go for the full upgrade

    Also V3 or V4/V5 would definitly be less of a strain on CPU then GF2 MX PCI which BTW performs on par with TNT2 128 bit and not GF2 MX AGP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    564
    Yea my old computer was a k6-2 450mhz with a voodoo3 2000 and I got decent framerates with it, especially when using the WickedGL mini drivers. I remember when I found those things I was so happy because they gave me like 20fps haha. Anyways it's definitely possible to play CS on that machine.
    If pro is the opposite of con, what's the opposite of progress?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Posts
    266
    Thanks for the prompt replies.

    I have other computers: one with P-II 350 MHz and two with XP1600. They all have a same V-card model intsalled: G2 GTS-V. When playing CS on LAN, I can not tell a difference between them: all are quite good to me.

    What bothers me is that MX400 uses SDRAM. I know that is a performance killer for Nvidia cards. Plus I have a concern about PCI bus being slow. I can get the card for $35 + $5 shipping. I am buying it purely for playing CS. My bottom line is no lag whatsoever at 1024, or it goes straight into a garbage can.

    I was hoping someone who has a MX400 PCI (or MX200) to give me a feeling how it performs in CS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    my k6-2 450 ran cs pretty good with a tnt2,but i ran at 800x600...so hopefully the mx pci should be adaquate, for most players at least although i might has a few problems at 1028, perhaps a voodoo 3 would be your best bet. they seemed to work better with k6-2s than most cards.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    cleve.
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs up yes and it works great!

    i have a pcchips m598ver7 with a amdk6III+450 @600 and intigrated SIS AGP vid and have only pci slots. i use a gf mx2 400 it has 32meg of ddr so the 400 do use ddr.
    i never played that game but i get great FR in Q1,Q2,andQ3, and am a top player online.
    the card is a creative annillator2mx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    cleve.
    Posts
    2

    P.S.

    never tried the vodoo but did try a radion AIW worked but used to much proccesing power and had screwy drivers the geforce used little proccesing power well over fifty FPS. in that resolution on Q.
    the 21 and 23 were the best for that card over the 29 even the 28 wasnt to bad compared to the 29s.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    I reckon that'd be fine. I ran a K6-2 450 with a TNT2, and CS was fine in 800x600 ~ about 30fps what what I'd get.

    The MX is a generation above the TNT2, so I reckon you'd be getting 30fps @ 1024x768.

    The Voodoo3's are pretty sweet too, as they worked so well with K6-2s. I'd say you'd be up at 30 with a V3 3000. I've currently got a K62 500 with a V3 3500 knocking about, and it'll barely drop below 30fps in CS.
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
    Posts
    1,077
    Yes, the Creative Geforce 2MX uses DDR RAM, but unfortunately that makes it one of the worst Geforce 2MX cards. The Geforce 2MX (orginal) or 2 MX400 support a memory 128bit address bus which means either 128bit SDRAM or 64bit DDR RAM.

    As DDR RAM isn't twice as efficient as SDRAM then SDRAM versions of the Geforce 2MX 400's are faster than the DDR version. This is seen in the benchmarks.

    The Geforce DDR, 2 GTS 3's, 4Ti (+ some 4MX's) all support 256 bit memory address bus. Hence 128Bit DDR is the best option

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •