MSI k7t266 and pc2700 DDR
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MSI k7t266 and pc2700 DDR

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    8

    MSI k7t266 and pc2700 DDR

    Hello,

    I am new and got lots of questions?
    The first one is;
    I have a k7t266pro mobo from MSI with 256 PC2100 DDR (no name), can I use pc 2700 DDR on this mobo and would I benifit on it by using this ( for oc'ing?).

    I also have a T bird 1400, GF MX200 32MB (crap), 30 GB Maxtor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    530
    I am not for sure on your board but on my KT266A board I am usin the PC2700 DDR ram and it works just fine

    The best PC2700 DDR ram you can buy is Samsung, or at least I think it is. You can get a 256mb stick for $58 at www.ocsystem.com
    AMD XP 2500+ Barton @ 2.1GHz(205x10.5 @ 1.65)
    1gb Geil PC3200
    Abit NF-7S v2.0
    SLK-900U w/ 92mm Vantec Tornado screamer
    Saphire Radeon 9800Pro 128mb
    Compro TV Tuner
    CaseTek Super ATX Tower case with Q-Window
    PowMax 400W Blue Power supply
    ---------------------------------
    Dont Click!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    The higher the better. It is all the same ram it can just be run faster. You can set the memory timings in BIOS more aggressively and likely still overclock it quite a bit. Memory tweeks can boost system performance by as much as 5-10% in some applications.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    367
    I pulled the generic DDR266 PC2100 from my K7T266 Pro 2 and stuffed in a stick of Kingston ValueRam DDR333 PC2700....
    Smiling happily @ 160 fsb with my XP1700+ @1760.
    dirt rules

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    39

    No WAY. R U serious?

    I got an MSI K7T266 PRO 2RU and I hope I can overclock my Athlon XP1900+ with 768MB of Kingmax DDR 333.
    If anyone can help, I'd really appreciate it.
    Cheers.
    Heatsink is THermaltake Volcano 6 Cu

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    367

    dead serious ;)

    My K7T266 Pro 2 is stable up to 160 fsb. Only PCI card is a NIC, and I have a MSI GeForce 3 Ti200 in the AGP slot.
    Running Windows XP Home on a Maxtor Diamond Max 7200 30 gb HD. 56X CDrom and HP CD writer.
    Ram is Kingston ValueRam DDR333 PC2700 256 mb stick in the slot closest to the CPU. All ram timings are 2-5-2 1 cmd.

    I boot up @ stock FSB.....then use CPUCool or Fuzzy Logic to walk the FSB up to 160. Vcore is set at max, 1.85 but it only goes to 1.8.DDR voltage is set to default as higher volts seemed to cause BSOD.
    XP1700 chip is unlocked by soldering the bridges but i just run it at 11x 160 for a good ,stable overclock.
    dirt rules

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •