Bad Move
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Bad Move

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Wayne Pa. USA
    Posts
    436

    Bad Move

    Like a dope I bought a P3 933mhz 133fsb processer for my computer not realizing that my computer doesn't support a 133 bus -it is an option in the bios but the manual says 100 is the max -Will this thing run ok with the fsb set for 100 - I think i can get it running like 800mhz -I'm looking for a new board but there aren't many out there for this processor -hope I dont sound stupid im still learning -thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    225
    Intel has a locked multiplier on thier processors, so your processor should be locked at 7.0 (7x133=933)...if you try running at 100MHz FSB you should be running at 700MHz...it should work. Can't hurt to try it. I haven't seen any processors fry by under-clocking them...only over-clocking them.

    What mobo do you currently have? Your best bet is to get a mobo that supports 133MHz FSB...they're a dime a dozen on-line.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Falköping, Sweden
    Posts
    364
    If you're lucky, you can get the thing running att 133 MHz fsb with your current mobo. Take the BX boards for example: most of them didn't support 133 MHz fsb officially, but many ran their CPUs at 133MHz fsb anyway (I did...PIII 550@733). Worked just fine.

    Tell us about the mobo, that will help a lot.
    "In the end, the one with the biggest gun wins."
    - General Custard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Wayne Pa. USA
    Posts
    436
    I tried running at 7 x 133 and the computer keeps locking up -it's a soyo sy-6ba+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    225
    Man, that's an ooooold board. It's a 440BX chipset, but it has not had an updated bios since August 2000. Your best bet is to get a newer mobo that does officially support the 133MHz FSB. Slot 1 mobos are coming harder and harder to find brand new. You are probably going to have to find a good one used. You do have a slot 1 processor, right? It's not a socket 370 on a slot 1 converter is it? If it is a socket 370...there's lot's of them to still be found new.

    Good luck.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Wayne Pa. USA
    Posts
    436
    I've found some new Abit sh-6's is that a good board?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    225

    Lightbulb

    I'm probably not the best to ask on the Abit....I've been an Asus fan for years. I haven't ever ran a Abit board. Maybe we can get the moderator to move this thread to "Motherboards" and you'll get a better answer.

  8. #8
    " I tried running at 7 x 133 and the computer keeps locking up -it's a soyo sy-6ba+ "

    There may be some other factors why your PC locks up when you try for a 133 FSB

    * Memory my be PC-100, and not PC-133
    * Check your AGP bus to make sure it's at 1/2 of fsb, and not 2/3
    * maybe your CPU volts is incorrect
    * make sure your BIOS is up to date.... check soyo

    I own an Abit BX-133 (440BX chipset), even with a P3-750 (7.5*100) I am almost able to reach 133 fsb

    I was able to reach 130 fsb (975mhz), but wouldn't post at 133...wierd

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •