Thoroughbred 950??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Thoroughbred 950??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    84

    Thoroughbred 950??

    I got an Athlon 950 a few months ago and instead of having a ceremic housing, it has a copper-toned graphite housing like the new thoroughbreds. I am wondering if this unit counts as an XP or Thoroughbred housing...
    It looks like a combination of the 3~ http://www.anandtech.com/cpu/showdoc.html?i=1635&p=3
    So now I'm wondering what the normal voltage is for my CPU...


    ------------------
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon Tbird 950@950
    Abit KT7A
    ThermalTake Volcano 6Cu+
    Quantum 40gb 7200rpm ATA100
    Enlight 7237 Mid Tower, Crucial 256 PC133
    LeadTek GeForce 2MX
    SB Live! Value
    Last edited by hanzo918; June 19th, 2002 at 05:17 PM.
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon XP Barton 2500+@2.2Ghz
    Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
    Buffalo 1Gb PC3200 Dual channel
    ThermalRight SP-97 w/ 92mm Panaflo
    IBM DeathStar 40gb 7200rpm
    Quantum Fireball 40gb 7200rpm
    WD 200gb 7200rpm
    Black Enlight 7237
    ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w
    Gainward GeForce4 Ti4200
    SB Audigy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Anand also tells how to identify the new Thuroughbreads by the size of the core and by the actual model number printed on it.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ 1.65v 42'C
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm 30db
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266 cas2
    GeForce4 Ti4200 (300/551)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    84
    But does anyone know why a athlon 950 would have an thoroughbred housing?

    ------------------
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon Tbird 950@950
    Abit KT7A
    ThermalTake Volcano 6Cu+
    Quantum 40gb 7200rpm ATA100
    Enlight 7237 Mid Tower
    Crucial 256 PC133
    LeadTek GeForce 2MX
    SB Live! Value
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon XP Barton 2500+@2.2Ghz
    Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
    Buffalo 1Gb PC3200 Dual channel
    ThermalRight SP-97 w/ 92mm Panaflo
    IBM DeathStar 40gb 7200rpm
    Quantum Fireball 40gb 7200rpm
    WD 200gb 7200rpm
    Black Enlight 7237
    ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w
    Gainward GeForce4 Ti4200
    SB Audigy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    us
    Posts
    1,411
    seems wierd. maybe it is fake?...that'd be wierd. becasue they stopepd making 950s before they even came out with that new material

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    They likely are still making the 950's. The only thing is they used to be made at Austin, but that plant is already being switched over to the manufacturing of flash memory. They likely had to shift production elsewhere. This means they will use whatever substrates are being used in Dresdin. The material does not make much differance, but the machines to connect the core to the substrates is. They have to use what they have avaluable.

    The odd thing is this thing should have copper interconnectors as that is what all of Dresdin uses. That means you likely have a standard Thunderbird core with copper intereconnectors. That means it should overclcok REALLY good. These cores generally hit 1.4-1.6Ghz. The only problem is you can not tell from the shape of the core. If it has aluminum interconnectors like the Athlons below 1Ghz are all supposed to have then you will not be able to get much beyond 1.0-1.1Ghz.

    It also could be an Athlon XP core, but the shape again whould be differant as shown in the link you gave.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ 1.65v 42'C
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm 30db
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266 cas2
    GeForce4 Ti4200 (300/551)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    84
    Well I'm very interested in this lil piece of unit
    And I'm sure some of u would like to know what's up as well. =P
    I'll find out this weekend when I attempt to overclock w/ my new HHC-001 lapped...
    I'll be throwing on a copper shim, using Arctic Silver 3, and the HHC-001... Hopefully it'll give me some good results. =)
    *Crosses fingers*
    Oh, should I attempt to changed the FSB first or the multiplier first after unlocking the unit??

    ------------------
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon Tbird 950@950
    Abit KT7A
    ThermalTake Volcano 6Cu+
    Quantum 40gb 7200rpm ATA100
    Enlight 7237 Mid Tower
    Crucial 256 PC133
    LeadTek GeForce 2MX
    SB Live! Value
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon XP Barton 2500+@2.2Ghz
    Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
    Buffalo 1Gb PC3200 Dual channel
    ThermalRight SP-97 w/ 92mm Panaflo
    IBM DeathStar 40gb 7200rpm
    Quantum Fireball 40gb 7200rpm
    WD 200gb 7200rpm
    Black Enlight 7237
    ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w
    Gainward GeForce4 Ti4200
    SB Audigy

  7. #7
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    Originally posted by hanzo918:
    Well I'm very interested in this lil piece of unit
    And I'm sure some of u would like to know what's up as well. =P
    I'll find out this weekend when I attempt to overclock w/ my new HHC-001 lapped...
    I'll be throwing on a copper shim, using Arctic Silver 3, and the HHC-001... Hopefully it'll give me some good results. =)
    *Crosses fingers*
    Oh, should I attempt to changed the FSB first or the multiplier first after unlocking the unit??

    I think you shouold take a pic!



    ------------------
    1.2Ghz cel-t @ 1.6GHz/1.65v

    Off Topic Central

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    yes i would really like to see this too

    ------------------
    I AM CANADIAN

    Duron 900 @ 1120
    1.75v (8x140)
    Abit Kt7a
    192 mb ram
    ATI Radeon 32mb ddr (185/185)
    win2k sp2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Start with upping the multiplier. This will only overclock the CPU, which is what we are interested in.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ 1.65v 42'C
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm 30db
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266 cas2
    GeForce4 Ti4200 (300/551)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    84
    Ummm sure I'll try to borrow a digital camera for the weekend and take pix of mai progress I guess. =)

    And since the core might be a standard Tbird core, the voltage should be running at regular Tbird voltage?

    My standard KT7A voltage is 1.75, I jus lowered it to 1.70 and it's still running fine...

    ------------------
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon Tbird 950@950
    Abit KT7A
    ThermalTake Volcano 6Cu+
    Quantum 40gb 7200rpm ATA100
    Enlight 7237 Mid Tower
    Crucial 256 PC133
    LeadTek GeForce 2MX
    SB Live! Value
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon XP Barton 2500+@2.2Ghz
    Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
    Buffalo 1Gb PC3200 Dual channel
    ThermalRight SP-97 w/ 92mm Panaflo
    IBM DeathStar 40gb 7200rpm
    Quantum Fireball 40gb 7200rpm
    WD 200gb 7200rpm
    Black Enlight 7237
    ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w
    Gainward GeForce4 Ti4200
    SB Audigy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    A good deal of the Athlons in the world will run with a lower than default voltage. I, myself, have an overclocked Athlon XP at less than default core. The voltage is at 1.75V by default so the few stubborn Athlons would make it out of the factory, I would guess.

    ------------------
    Gin - The driver's choice

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    84
    K
    Computer underway now...
    I took out the CPU
    It looks like a XP and not a doughbread
    And it has copper bridges
    However, unlike the XP, it has 4 gates (like Tbirds), not 5...

    Jus got my HHC-001 lapped... =D Nice mirror finish, I can see maiself!!

    ------------------
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon Tbird 950@950
    Abit KT7A
    ThermalTake Volcano 6Cu+
    Quantum 40gb 7200rpm ATA100
    Enlight 7237 Mid Tower
    Crucial 256 PC133
    LeadTek GeForce 2MX
    SB Live! Value
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon XP Barton 2500+@2.2Ghz
    Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
    Buffalo 1Gb PC3200 Dual channel
    ThermalRight SP-97 w/ 92mm Panaflo
    IBM DeathStar 40gb 7200rpm
    Quantum Fireball 40gb 7200rpm
    WD 200gb 7200rpm
    Black Enlight 7237
    ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w
    Gainward GeForce4 Ti4200
    SB Audigy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    What about that digital camera?

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+
    Abit KR7A-Raid
    512 Crucial DDR PC2100
    Radeon 8500
    Hercules GTXP
    WD 40Gig 7200
    3DMark 2k1
    Barton 2500+ @ 230*10.5
    Abit NF7

    Watercooled w/ #Rotor block

    2x256 Corsair XMS PC3200
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    Hercules GTXP
    120GB Seagate Barracuda
    Antec 1080B w/Antec 430W


  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    84
    Digi cam?
    Jus got it a few hrs ago from a cousin
    And now it's out of batteries... o_O


    ------------------
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon Tbird 950@950
    Abit KT7A
    ThermalTake Volcano 6Cu+
    Quantum 40gb 7200rpm ATA100
    Enlight 7237 Mid Tower
    Crucial 256 PC133
    LeadTek GeForce 2MX
    SB Live! Value
    ~The lost man w/ Athlon XP Barton 2500+@2.2Ghz
    Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
    Buffalo 1Gb PC3200 Dual channel
    ThermalRight SP-97 w/ 92mm Panaflo
    IBM DeathStar 40gb 7200rpm
    Quantum Fireball 40gb 7200rpm
    WD 200gb 7200rpm
    Black Enlight 7237
    ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w
    Gainward GeForce4 Ti4200
    SB Audigy

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Hmmm....4 bridges sounds like a Tbird core

    But if it is copper like Todd a suggested, you should be one of the only people in the world to have a Tbird 950 @ 1.6GHz on air cooling

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1800+ 1.55v 41'C
    256MB Corsair PC150
    Radeon 64DDR SE @ 315/245 w/ ramsinks + default coresink + vmem mod...workin on core mod
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •