Freezing
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Freezing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    franklin,wi,usa
    Posts
    8

    Freezing

    Im getting random freezing on my 1700 amd with 780 memory adn runnign win xp pro. this is during everquest gaming. just got a new gf4 ti4200 and have tried all drivers. im thinking a power supply or music conflict or maybe a bad motherboard..o ya..mboard is that cheapo k7sa one i think. thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,165
    What videocard were you using before the Geforce4?

    ------------------
    sorry folk the joke has gone far long enought, time we get down to business hehehe, oh Im still joking!
    now that my specs are respectable, I might as well list them again:

    2500+ Barton @ 2346mhz, Swiftech MC462a/80mm Sanyo Denki fan
    Abit NF7-S v 2.0
    2x256 Ocz PC3500 DDR
    128 mb ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    Lian-Li PC-68 case
    Enermax 431 watt PS
    blah blah blah
    blah blah blah

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    Your freezing may be due to a driver conflict. When installing new video cards, you must remove all instances of the old card from the computer. The simplest way to do this is go into Device Manager--> Display Adapters and remove all references to any card (even your new one). Once you have done that, remove all software that came with your old and new video card by utilising any 'uninstall' utilities that were installed with the drivers by the card manufacturer.

    Reboot, and allow XP to redetect your new Gf4. Install all drivers and software, as well as any respective updates as you normally would. If there was a driver conflict, it shouldn't pose a problem any more. If, however, the problem still persists, it could be due to outdated AGP drivers which you should download from http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=2 . The latest 4in1 drivers are version 4.38.

    Hope this helps.

    ------------------
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    Sorry, I'm unfamiliar with your motherboard chipset. If the chipset is made by VIA, then you would proceed to download the 4in1 drivers (link above). If it is made by another company, check their website for a respective update.

    ------------------
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,265
    Originally posted by Kozakowski:
    Sorry, I'm unfamiliar with your motherboard chipset. If the chipset is made by VIA, then you would proceed to download the 4in1 drivers (link above). If it is made by another company, check their website for a respective update.

    It's probably ECS K7s5a in which case it's SIS 735 chipset

    drivers are at http://www.ecs.com.tw/download/download.htm

    under your mobo's name


    ------------------
    XP1600+ @ XP1800+(1.75V/43C under load)
    Vulcano7
    ABIT KG7-RAID
    512MB DDR
    Hercules 8500LE 275/275 (AP64DH BIOS)
    40GB Quantum 7200rpm
    80GB Maxtor 5400rpm
    Hercules Fortissimo II
    400W Maxpower

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    franklin,wi,usa
    Posts
    8
    actually the game began freezing long ago....not just when the new 3 d card was put in... hmm ill try some of those ideas..thanx

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •