New gaming machine???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New gaming machine???

  1. #1
    fIxx3r is offline a weapon of ass destructi
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    240

    New gaming machine???

    I am soon going to buy some new hardware to uppgrade me gaming rig...

    Here's what i want to buy:
    AMD XP 2000+ CPU
    Zalman CNPS 5100 Cu
    Abit KR7A 133R mobo
    512 MB PC 2100 DDR RAM
    ASUS V8460 GeForce4 Ti 4600 Graphics Card

    I have a coupple of questions:
    - Does the mobo have four holes around the socket?
    - Is the RAM i have chosen right or can i use PC 2700 RAM, will there be much difference in performance?
    - I am thinking of getting a SB Adigy Platinum, anyone have this? Tell me about it!
    - I will be using WinXP Pro, any conficts incompatabillity issues?
    - The garphics Card is EXPENSIVE! is this the right choice???

    Would be nice if you guys would tell me what u think.... suggestions etc.

    I'm going to buy soma ATA 133 disks soon...
    Just gotta have some more $ (or Norwegian Kr...)


    Cheers!


    ------------------
    >>> On Error Resume Next

    l i q u i d s u n d e r g r o u n d . c o m
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    AMD Athlon 64 3200 @ 2,3 Ghz
    MSI K8N Neo Platinum
    Sapphire Radeon X800 Pro VIVO with 16 pipelines
    SB Audigy Platinum
    WD Raptor 74 GB SATA 10.000 rpm
    ++


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    56
    That is a kick *** machine! . The vga card is gonna be worth the cash. Very very nice.

    ------------------
    "STRONGER THAN ALL"
    "STRONGER THAN ALL"

  3. #3
    fIxx3r is offline a weapon of ass destructi
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    240
    yeah.. i know...
    The only thing bothering me is that i have to wait a whole month to get the graphics card!!!!!!

    But can any of u answer my questions?
    I wanna be 100% sure that i buy HW that live in harmony if u know what i mean...


    ------------------
    >>> On Error Resume Next

    [This message has been edited by fIxx3r (edited 02-20-2002).]

    l i q u i d s u n d e r g r o u n d . c o m
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    AMD Athlon 64 3200 @ 2,3 Ghz
    MSI K8N Neo Platinum
    Sapphire Radeon X800 Pro VIVO with 16 pipelines
    SB Audigy Platinum
    WD Raptor 74 GB SATA 10.000 rpm
    ++


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,165
    You never know until you build it...but those are all good quality parts so you should be ok.

    To answer your questions:

    - I don't know if the mobo has four holes. The pdf on Abit's site is down so I couldn't check. Most mobos do -- if they're following AMD specs. So I'd say 90% chance it does.

    - You've chosen the right RAM. You CAN use the PC2700, but you'll still need to set it at 133 unless your overclocking. If you are overclocking, PC2700 should overclock higher than pc-2100.

    - I don;t have the audigy card but it's gotten good reviews

    -- WinXP. You may need to download the latest XP drivers for your hardware. But you should be fine. Some old games won't run on XP.

    -- Ti4600. This should be the best performing vid card in the world (for about 4 months). It's price/performance isn't that good though. Better value on the Ti4200 cards. But if you got money to burn there's nothing wrong with the 4600.

    I think it's a very nice system. Nothing wrong with it at all.

    ------------------
    A7V + 1.4ghz tbird,Swiftech MC462a, 512mb (generic) pc133(2-2-2), IBM 75GXP, ASUS Geforce2 GTS, SB-Live5.1,12x10x32 Plexwriter,16x40x Pioneer DVD, NIC, floppy (yay), Cable, Win98SE
    now that my specs are respectable, I might as well list them again:

    2500+ Barton @ 2346mhz, Swiftech MC462a/80mm Sanyo Denki fan
    Abit NF7-S v 2.0
    2x256 Ocz PC3500 DDR
    128 mb ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    Lian-Li PC-68 case
    Enermax 431 watt PS
    blah blah blah
    blah blah blah

  5. #5
    fIxx3r is offline a weapon of ass destructi
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    240
    thanx! I ran xp a while ago... but lost too much fps in UT...
    I dunno if i'm gonna OC it... to be honest i don't have that much knowledge in oc'ing.

    another question:
    - Is there much difference from ata100 to ata133?

    i would be glad if any of you who has the same hardware or have read about it posted some links....

    Cheers!

    ------------------
    >>> On Error Resume Next

    l i q u i d s u n d e r g r o u n d . c o m
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    AMD Athlon 64 3200 @ 2,3 Ghz
    MSI K8N Neo Platinum
    Sapphire Radeon X800 Pro VIVO with 16 pipelines
    SB Audigy Platinum
    WD Raptor 74 GB SATA 10.000 rpm
    ++


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Posts
    202
    There is no difference between ATA100 and ATA133, except for the name. Between ATA16 and ATA33 you see a large jump, but between ATA33 and ATA66 you see practically nothing. The gap is infinitesly smaller between ATA66 and ATA100. Maxtor has wored on ATA133 just cause it sounds good.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •