PS2 and Projection TV
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: PS2 and Projection TV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    46

    PS2 and Projection TV

    I run a PS2 system on my 53" Sony rear Projection TV. But I've read up on some of the manuals from games which states that running PS2 games on projection TV is harmful for the TV itself. Could someone explain to me why it is?? THx for any comment!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    Irvine, CA,
    Posts
    1,787
    It will damage your tv! Read this .

    ------------------
    "We're going to get another one next year, again -- back to back to back."

    -Kobe Bryant
    "We're going to get another one next year, again -- back to back to back."

    -Kobe Bryant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    Does anyone know why it would damage a projection TV?

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 1.2@1.44 (272MHz FSB)
    Abit KT7a RAID
    DiamondMax Plus 60 - 40Gb 7200rpm
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    T3 internet
    ------------------
    you what??
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    if you play a single game too long, the HUD of whatever on screen display of that game will eventually "burn" into the tv.

    ------------------
    Visit my website!
    look for me on AIM as GoSh4rks or on ICQ as #46997155

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    46
    Damn it doesn't sound too good!!

    If it burns onto the TV screen then it should mean that I have a still image on the screen for too long and causing the burn. But as I recall games that I play does not have still images all the time. Eg MGS2, DMC, ICO. Correct me if I'm wrong! Thx again!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    1,181
    Health? Radar? Score? Icons on menu bar?
    Anything like this that is on screen constantly will do this.

    ------------------
    Athlon1.4Ghz(1503@143fsb)
    ThermalRight SK6+DeltaFan
    ASUS A7M266 Motherboard
    ASUS 8200 Geforce 3 Pure
    Aureal Vortex2 SuperQuad
    256 PC2100 DDR Cas2.5
    Enermax 350w DualFan PSU
    CPU: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.6Ghz
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 Pro B3 Revision
    Mem: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz
    Video: 2 x MSI HD5850 Twin Frozr II (CrossfireX)
    HDD: Crucial C300 128GB SSD, Seagate Momentus XT 500GB
    Sound: Realtek® ALC892 8-Channel High Definition Audio
    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    TorontoPenis Size: Large
    Posts
    891
    what kind of resolution can you get on a rear-projection screen?

    ------------------


    http://www.xibase.com/vB/index.php

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,778
    Originally posted by Outlaw69:
    what kind of resolution can you get on a rear-projection screen?

    I've seen models in ads supposedly going up to 1000-1100 horizontal lines, but it may be only theorical.

    ------------------
    EquinoXe's old baby:
    Pentium II 350 MHz
    192MB Nec/Infineon PC133 SDRAM
    6GB Fujitsu HDD (Ultra33)
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    Guillemot MaxiSound Fortissimo
    Creative 36X CD-ROM
    Windows 98SE


    [This message has been edited by equinoxe3d (edited 11-29-2001).]

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,990
    AFAIK, the highest HDTV resolution is 1080 lines interlaced called 1080i. The highest non-interlaced resolution is 720 lines called 720p for progressive scan.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    46
    Originally posted by Arris:
    Health? Radar? Score? Icons on menu bar?
    Anything like this that is on screen constantly will do this.

    I understand that! But doesn't that mean all TVs(monitors) should be aware of it?
    If that's the case, why are PS2 game manuals specificly asking projection TV owners to check TV manual before using it for PS2?


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    TorontoPenis Size: Large
    Posts
    891
    I guess your best bet is to avoid games with static images or maybe just turn off the t.v once in a while.

    ------------------


    http://www.xibase.com/vB/index.php

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •