HALO will kick Tribes 2 and Max Payne's @ss
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: HALO will kick Tribes 2 and Max Payne's @ss

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    24

    HALO will kick Tribes 2 and Max Payne's @ss

    I just read last night that HALO was coming out on the 15th. I was so excited, I was in a state of euphoria. My back was tingling with excitement. About two years ago, E3 demoed this product, of course I wasn't there, but I read about it. I got all the information I could possibly get about this program, and just feasted on it. I was a freak about the game. As fan sites went up, I kept track of all of them, looking for the slightest hint of news. As the weeks and months went by, nothing came. Eventually, I forgot about HALO.

    Just yesterday night, about 11:45, I logged onto Gamespot and saw that glorious banner, "HALO, Combat Evolved". I just about wet my pants. I read the review and the previews literally 3 times each. I downloaded all the screenies I could and just kept on staring at them. Unfortunately though, they weren't that good of quality. Finally, after the euphoria ceased, I had to hit the sack. As I slept, I dremped of aliens and futuristic looking Marines with guns and jeeps with mounted gattling guns... It was so cool. HALO is finally here.

    This game is uncharted territory, somewhere no man has gone before. It will be simply amazing to see all the splendid beauty of this masterful game. I cannot wait. Unfortunately, it's coming out for the XBox first, which means, of course, that us PC users will have to wait until 2002(according to http://www.bungie.org) to get in on the goods.

    I think that this game is going to absolutely rock. This will be so revolutionizing to the gaming world. I predict that this game will be the best game every made.

    I don't know, just my 2 cents I guess...

    AC

    ------------------
    1 Gigahertz AMD Athlon T-Bird
    MSI K7T Turbo Via KT133a Motherboard
    512mb PC-133 Memory
    ELSA Gladiac GeForce2 32mb DDR
    Sound Blaster Live! Soundcard
    Iomega 12x10x32 CD Burner
    1 Gigahertz AMD Athlon T-Bird
    MSI K7T Turbo Via KT133a Motherboard
    512mb PC-133 Memory
    ELSA Gladiac GeForce2 32mb DDR
    Sound Blaster Live! Soundcard
    Iomega 12x10x32 CD Burner

  2. #2
    Anitdaisu Guest
    I'm anticipating the game myself. I'm glad that they finally decided to make a pc version definitely.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    They're making a PC version? I thought Microsoft canned the PC project and wanted it soley for the SucksBox?

    ------------------
    Tbird XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 55cfm 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133 SDRAM
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    24
    Nope - check out www.bungie.com . Look at the sentence that is repeated about 12 times, middle right hand side.

    AC

    ------------------
    1 Gigahertz AMD Athlon T-Bird
    MSI K7T Turbo Via KT133a Motherboard
    512mb PC-133 Memory
    ELSA Gladiac GeForce2 32mb DDR
    Sound Blaster Live! Soundcard
    Iomega 12x10x32 CD Burner
    1 Gigahertz AMD Athlon T-Bird
    MSI K7T Turbo Via KT133a Motherboard
    512mb PC-133 Memory
    ELSA Gladiac GeForce2 32mb DDR
    Sound Blaster Live! Soundcard
    Iomega 12x10x32 CD Burner

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    I saw Halo running on XBox and was not impressed. You'd think with all the power of the XBox, the game would move at a constant 60fps, but it ran at 30. In fact, I haven't seen any games that run at a constant 60fps (I've seen Project Gotham and Abe's Odysee also) on the XBox and the graphics don't seem any better than what the Dreamcast is capable of. The only game that is truly revolutionary graphics-wise is Gran Turismo 3. We still haven't moved past the level that the Dreamcast set two years ago (except with GT3).

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    24
    I think I read somewhere that there's actually a frame cap at 30, but I could be mistaken...

    AC

    ------------------
    1 Gigahertz AMD Athlon T-Bird
    MSI K7T Turbo Via KT133a Motherboard
    512mb PC-133 Memory
    ELSA Gladiac GeForce2 32mb DDR
    Sound Blaster Live! Soundcard
    Iomega 12x10x32 CD Burner
    1 Gigahertz AMD Athlon T-Bird
    MSI K7T Turbo Via KT133a Motherboard
    512mb PC-133 Memory
    ELSA Gladiac GeForce2 32mb DDR
    Sound Blaster Live! Soundcard
    Iomega 12x10x32 CD Burner

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    140
    I've played HALO for the Xbox at Babbages and I was not all that impressed with the framerate. The graphics were alright, but the framerate did not seem as fast as it should.
    AMD XP 2000+ @ XP 2100+(1.75GHz)
    512 Samsung original PC2700
    Shuttle AK35GTR
    Gainward GeForce 4 Ti4200
    Logitech Z-560s

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    LI | NY
    Posts
    2,340
    I heard that the FPS for TV/movies is < 30fps anyway... so can someone explain why 70fps is even visible to the naked eye for video games?

    BTW, pdemitra3883, welcome to the board. I liked Demitra back when he was playing for the Sens (noticed him cause he was wearing some crazy number like #81)... who would've thought he would become such a bonafide scorer eh? Go Caps

    ------------------
    http://www.rh71.com (high bandwidth preferable)

    [This message has been edited by rh71 (edited 11-16-2001).]

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    I heard that the FPS for TV/movies is < 30fps anyway
    That's because of interlacing. The images are actually rendered at twice the framerate, but are split due to interlacing.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    HALO also will kick Worms World Party and Mechwarrior 3's @ss.

    Or so I hear.



    ------------------
    what?

  11. #11
    Anitdaisu Guest
    I know my dad will dig Halo. He's very into military style games

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    1,399
    Ahaa, but will it beat Deus Ex?

    Doesn't really matter, it's not like I have to have one over the other, and it does seem to be turning into a sweet game.

    About the refresh rate thingy, yeah you will only get a max of 30 picture frames a second, interlaced for a 60Hz picture refresh on the TV, just as wrathchild_67 said. The unfortunate thing for those UK guys and gals who get the XBox will be that that limit will be at 25fps instead of 30. Still, consoles have always been up against that wall, I don't see many complaining about GT3 looking shoddy on the PS2!
    If you've got your money for nothing, who cares if the chicks are free!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,779
    There is a norm called 480p that doubles the scanlines of a regular interlaced signal. It is supported by some DVD players, but the GameCube also supports it with a special component cable and output. It allows for full 60fps motion and clearer picture, since the two interlacing scans are done in the same time, in 1/60th of a second (hence 60 scans per second) and in full resolution since the picture isn't splitted in two by the usual dual 1/30th interlacing scans.

    I don't know if it is supported by the XBox or PS/2 but it might be possible since both can use composite ports.

    ------------------
    EquinoXe's old baby:
    Pentium II 350 MHz
    192MB Nec/Infineon PC133 SDRAM
    6GB Fujitsu HDD (Ultra33)
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    Guillemot MaxiSound Fortissimo
    Creative 36X CD-ROM
    Windows 98SE


    [This message has been edited by equinoxe3d (edited 11-17-2001).]

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Is the Gamecube actually for sale now? I saw games available at Best Buy for the GC, but no mention or display for the system. Seems like M$ has snuffed out GC hype temporarily. Gamecube- little, blue, different (if anyone remembers the product this slightly altered slogan is from, I'll give you a cookie). And let's not forget- better and cheaper.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,779
    I've seen the GameCube on sale in a few stores. They're selling it pretty cheap:
    the retail price for the system was $300 CDN (around $185 in US funds), and games prices were varying between 40-45$ US. The store I saw it has two colors, blue and black.

    BTW as a correction for my other post, I think 480p applies to HDTVs only

    ------------------
    EquinoXe's old baby:
    Pentium II 350 MHz
    192MB Nec/Infineon PC133 SDRAM
    6GB Fujitsu HDD (Ultra33)
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    Guillemot MaxiSound Fortissimo
    Creative 36X CD-ROM
    Windows 98SE

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •