Middle mouse button not recognised in games
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Middle mouse button not recognised in games

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Half the way between a PC screen and the scary real life...
    Posts
    886

    Middle mouse button not recognised in games

    Hi,
    Reinstalled Win98 recently, and much to my surprise, the middle mouse button (plain Logitech serial mouse) doesn't work in games anymore.

    I tried deleting the mouse from the System menu in the Control Panel. It found a new mouse, correctly identified, but still a no go.

    Installed the latest Mouseware from Logitech, nope...

    I can assign keyboard keys to the middle button, but in that case, it ony works when I release the button... try the alternate fire in UT in those conditions, lots of fun I can tell thee...

    I know the button works, but if assigned at "Middle button" in the properties, games don't see it...

    Any suggestion?

    Already posted this in "Peripherals" with little success.
    Main rig: Athlon64 x2 4200+ | Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN | 4x512MB PC3200 | 120GB Seagate | Samsung DVDRW SH-S203D | VX550W PSU | WinXP Home SP3 / Ubuntu 7.10
    Headache generator: K6-2 500 | FIC VA503+ | 2x64MB PC133 | Voodoo 3 2000 PCI | SB32 ISA PnP | 15,2MB IBM | Xubuntu 8.04 / DeLiLinux 0.7.2
    Lappy: Compaq EVO N115 | Mobile Duron 1GHz | 384MB PC133 | VIA KM133 | Xubuntu 8.04
    A big thanks to MS's Vista for making me look into Linux distros!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    Good question. The exact same thing has happened to me recently, with a Logitech cordless. Not only the middle button is non-functional in games, but also the wheel is non-functional in games. (There goes the quick changing weapons.) I think the latest Mouseware is just plain old crap.

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  3. #3
    MitchSchaft Guest
    there's a registry patch for it, guys. do some research and you'll find it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Deutschland
    Posts
    936
    Yes, I know there's a patch that's supposed to do the same thing as manually killing the EM_EXEC process. However, it's also supposed to be included in any Logitech drivers less than a year or two old. Also, manually killing EM_EXEC doesn't solve the problem, either.

    ------------------
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild
    Moraelin -- the proud member of the Idiots' Guild

  5. #5
    MitchSchaft Guest
    I didn't say anything about manually killing em_exec. I said find the registry hack. I did and now my mousewheel works in games.

    [This message has been edited by MitchSchaft (edited 11-12-2001).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,779
    I think killing em_exec just disable MouseWare, thus cancelling the middle button function and making it available in games .

    BTW all registry patches are available at Logitech's website. Secrom, there's one especially for serial mice They are listed for Win95/98/NT4:
    get them here



    ------------------
    EquinoXe's old baby:
    Pentium II 350 MHz
    192MB Nec/Infineon PC133 SDRAM
    6GB Fujitsu HDD (Ultra33)
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    Guillemot MaxiSound Fortissimo
    Creative 36X CD-ROM
    Windows 98SE

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  7. #7
    Anitdaisu Guest
    does teh same thing apply for win2k and XPPP

  8. #8
    MitchSchaft Guest
    I used one on my win2k box and it worked. Don't remember where I got it from, though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Half the way between a PC screen and the scary real life...
    Posts
    886
    Originally posted by equinoxe3d:

    BTW all registry patches are available at Logitech's website. Secrom, there's one especially for serial mice They are listed for Win95/98/NT4:
    get them here
    Oh... errrr... yeah, there it is... ahem...
    Main rig: Athlon64 x2 4200+ | Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN | 4x512MB PC3200 | 120GB Seagate | Samsung DVDRW SH-S203D | VX550W PSU | WinXP Home SP3 / Ubuntu 7.10
    Headache generator: K6-2 500 | FIC VA503+ | 2x64MB PC133 | Voodoo 3 2000 PCI | SB32 ISA PnP | 15,2MB IBM | Xubuntu 8.04 / DeLiLinux 0.7.2
    Lappy: Compaq EVO N115 | Mobile Duron 1GHz | 384MB PC133 | VIA KM133 | Xubuntu 8.04
    A big thanks to MS's Vista for making me look into Linux distros!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Half the way between a PC screen and the scary real life...
    Posts
    886
    Tried their register tweak, it didn't do anything.
    Tried Win98 standard drivers, still nothing...
    Really fed up with this stuff...

    Do I have to reinstall the games too or what?

    [This message has been edited by Secrom (edited 11-13-2001).]
    Main rig: Athlon64 x2 4200+ | Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN | 4x512MB PC3200 | 120GB Seagate | Samsung DVDRW SH-S203D | VX550W PSU | WinXP Home SP3 / Ubuntu 7.10
    Headache generator: K6-2 500 | FIC VA503+ | 2x64MB PC133 | Voodoo 3 2000 PCI | SB32 ISA PnP | 15,2MB IBM | Xubuntu 8.04 / DeLiLinux 0.7.2
    Lappy: Compaq EVO N115 | Mobile Duron 1GHz | 384MB PC133 | VIA KM133 | Xubuntu 8.04
    A big thanks to MS's Vista for making me look into Linux distros!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Half the way between a PC screen and the scary real life...
    Posts
    886
    Really short of ideas here:
    I dunno what their registry patch is supposed to do, but even playing around with the keys has had all but an effect.
    Tried all kind of drivers (Native Logitech Serial Mouse in Win98, older MouseWare version 7, latest ones 9.4 something).

    I'm not gonna go through a reinstall just because that stoopid operative system can't find this mouse?!? It always worked before for %£@# sake!!!

    [This message has been edited by Secrom (edited 11-17-2001).]
    Main rig: Athlon64 x2 4200+ | Asrock 939N68PV-GLAN | 4x512MB PC3200 | 120GB Seagate | Samsung DVDRW SH-S203D | VX550W PSU | WinXP Home SP3 / Ubuntu 7.10
    Headache generator: K6-2 500 | FIC VA503+ | 2x64MB PC133 | Voodoo 3 2000 PCI | SB32 ISA PnP | 15,2MB IBM | Xubuntu 8.04 / DeLiLinux 0.7.2
    Lappy: Compaq EVO N115 | Mobile Duron 1GHz | 384MB PC133 | VIA KM133 | Xubuntu 8.04
    A big thanks to MS's Vista for making me look into Linux distros!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •