Will Max play like poo on my Matrox G400
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Will Max play like poo on my Matrox G400

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    1,399

    Will Max play like poo on my Matrox G400

    OK, the drool in my keyboard is now overflowing into my lap and I'm in danger of dehydration if I continue reading this forum any more! I want Max Payne, but can anyone tell me if it's going to be really crappy to play on my system:

    PIII 450@558 on BX chipset
    256Mb PC133
    Matrox G400 MAX
    IBM 60GXP
    TB Santa Cruz

    It's fine for UT/Deus Ex/NFSIV etc. at 1024x768, can I expect similar performance at this res from Max Payne? Or should I wait until Xmas when I upgrade to a GF3/Athlon/DDR system and buy it then to get the full effect? Basically, does the game only get 9+/10 becasue it looks sweet with all the bullet-time effects and that, or will gameplay and stories suffice to keep me happy on my lowly rig?

    Bennyboy
    If you've got your money for nothing, who cares if the chicks are free!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bronx,NY USA
    Posts
    43
    my advice for you is get the game right master it at a low res right then when you get your new comp you'll be alright then lol

    now to your question is should run great with that set up you have there

    ------------------
    1000 MHZ AMD Thunderbird
    ASUS A7V
    256MB MICRON PC 133
    64MB Radeon DDR 4X
    30.0 GB WD 7200 RPM ATA 100 (WinMe)
    1.44 MB Teac FD
    DVD 16X Pioneer
    Aopen CDRW 12X10X32
    US. Robotics 56k
    SB Live Value!
    Netgear 10/100 NIC (DSL)
    19" ViewSonic
    Microsoft Optical Mouse (keyboard)
    Yamaha YST-MS50

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    205
    First, let me tell you that it works excellent on my low end system:
    PII 400@412
    384 Mb RAM
    GeForce DDR
    DVD Drive
    Turtle Beach Montego II
    IBM 14 GB HD

    Ok, now to the supported cards.
    I include a list of both supported and not supported video cards from the Readme file:
    Supported 3D Accelerators
    Max Payne requires a DirectX 8 compatible 3D accelerator in order to run. The following table lists 3D accelerators (3D Chipsets) supported by Max Payne and the tested driver versions:

    3D Accelerator Windows 9x/ME Windows 2000
    3dfx Voodoo4/5 1.04.00 1.04.00

    3dfx Voodoo3 1.07.00 1.03.00

    ATI RADEON 4.13.01.7075 5.13.01.3112

    ATI RADEON VE 4.13.01.7075 5.13.01.3112

    ATI Mobility M6-P 4.13.7132 5.13.01.3221

    ATI RAGE FURY MAXX 4.12.7942 Not Supported

    ATI RAGE 128 / 128 PRO 4.13.7078 5.13.01.192

    Intel i815 (integrated) v6.3.1 v6.3.1

    Matrox G400/G450 v6.51 v5.52

    NVIDIA GeForce3, GeForce2 GTS/Pro, GeForce2 MX, GeForce256/DDR v12.41 v12.41

    NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Ultra, TNT2, TNT2 m64, TNT, Vanta v12.41 v12.41

    S3 Savage4 Reference 8.20.33 Reference 8.40.02

    SiS 315/315Pro Any Any

    SiS 640/740 (integrated) Any Any

    ST KYRO, KYRO II v1.2.2 v1.2.2

    VIA / S3 ProSavage4 (Integrated) 4.12.01.1038 N/A


    Notes: There may be certain issues with specific settings with the above accelerators. Please refer to the Troubleshooting section for more details. Most above 3D accelerators will not run satisfactorily on maximum detail level settings.

    The following unsupported 3D Accelerators may work with Max Payne, but all game visuals may not be correct and performance may be unsatisfactory:

    3dfx Voodoo2
    3dfx Voodoo Banshee
    Intel i810
    Matrox G200
    The following unsupported 3D accelerators do not work with Max Payne:

    3dfx Voodoo, Voodoo Rush
    3Dlabs Permedia, Permedia2
    ATI RAGE II/II+/IIc, RAGE PRO
    Cirrus Logic Laguna3D (CL5465)
    Intel i740
    Matrox Millennium II, Mystique
    NVIDIA RIVA 128/128ZX
    PowerVR Neon 250i
    S3 Savage 2000, Savage3D, Trio64 3D, Virge/DX/GX/VX
    Rendition Verite V1000/V2200
    Some older integrated / laptop display adapters (Neomagic, Trident)
    I play it in 1024 * 768 * 16, trilinear + some extra effeets added. I never though I would get so good graphics on my old system...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Qc, Canada
    Posts
    182
    If it's fine for Deus Ex, i'd say you'll be more than ok. Max Payne runs great in 1024x768x32 with full details on my crappy machine (PII400/256SDRAM/GForce2/WinXP) while Deus Ex was barely playable.

    Only problem I have is my cd drive won't read the disc, even with the patch (i think it's a common problem) so i have to play with my CDR drive.

    I say GET THE GAME! it kicks ***! worst case senario you'll have to wait a few months to play...
    P4 2.0A (Northwood) on ASUS P4B266
    512MB DDR-SDRAM
    Geforce2 GTS 32MB
    SB Live! Platimun 5.1
    Maxtor 40GB + 30GB + 30GB 7200RPM
    Windows XP Pro
    16X Pioneer / 12X PlexWriter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    1,399
    Thanks guys, looks like it's GO GO GO for purchase then .

    Nice to see that it runs capably on older systems, kinda adds fuel to the fire of the old 'why do I need a GF3 when games are designed to please the majority' debate. I still want a GF3, but I'm happy that I don't get excluded from the gaming community because I don't have one. Life is good again.

    Bugger, work is going to take a serious backseat in the immediate future. I work from home, it's times like this when I realise what a bad decision it is to share a working/gaming environment. Oh well .

    Thanks again,

    Bennyboy.
    If you've got your money for nothing, who cares if the chicks are free!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    1,399
    Good call silent_bob, you're right, the worst I can do is look at the pretty box on my shelf for a few months!

    As for Deus Ex running 'fine', it's a very subjective thing, 60fps is nice, but I don't need it to hide behind pillars and snipe walking guards, resolution and colour depth are what I decided to go for instead (not that I exactly had a choice about the frame rate with this old card ). Hand to hand combat in complex scenes is admittedly choppy, I suppose it depends how you like to play.

    Sorry to hear about the CD issues, hope I don't run into them too . Hope you get it sorted soon.

    Have fun folks,

    Bennyboy.
    If you've got your money for nothing, who cares if the chicks are free!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •