Is Baldurs gate 2: Shadows a GOOD game?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Is Baldurs gate 2: Shadows a GOOD game?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    330

    Is Baldurs gate 2: Shadows a GOOD game?

    Ill like some suggestion BEFORE buying it.
    I'll LOVE the RPG stile games.. Like..
    FF7 and lower... cause FF8 didnt like it...

    Is BG2 the game where u buy shilds and swords and cast spells and all of that?

    Thanx

    ------------------
    ICQ: 19077519
    Here is my Sys:
    Athon 900@900 A7V133
    1 128 Kingston Pc-133 1 64 Generic PC-133
    Win2k Sp2
    Sb live!
    Pc-Works 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Riva TNT 1 =O(
    Dell 15": 1024*768 @ 85 Herts
    30 GB Maxtor ata/100 7200 RMP
    2 Nics
    Dxr3 Creative DVD 8x
    Hp 9300 CD-RW 10*4*32
    ICQ: 19077519
    Athlon 900@910 A7V133 - 512 Crucial Cas2 - WinXP
    Sb live! 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Gforce 2 Ultra Viewsonic 17"
    30GB WD Ata/100 7200RMP - Dxr3 DVD 8x - Lite-on 16x

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,779
    These series of games (Baldur's Gate) are based on Advanced Dungeons & Dragons rules, so knowing them will help, but I think you would be able to get your way in the game even if you haven't palyed AD&D, since everything is well explained. I would have suggested you to download the demo, but it's 650MB (you read right), so...


    You can do a broad range of things in these games, but I would suggest you to start with the original Baldur's Gate, if it's less costly, it should help you to get started and if you like it, you could proceed to the others (Forgotten Realms: Icewind Dale, which is similar in gameplay, but not with the same story/characters, and BGII: Shadows of Amn). IMO if you like single player RPGs, you must own Baldur's Gate

    ------------------
    Pentium II 350 MHz
    160mb NEC PC100 SDRAM
    Voodoo3 3000 AGP
    Guillemot MaxiSound Fortissimo
    Windows 98SE

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    TorontoPenis Size: Large
    Posts
    891
    I own Baldurs Gate...Baldurs Gate2...and Baldurs Gate2: Throne of Bhaal.

    And to answer your question.... Hell yeah...best damn RPG ever made for the computer.

    ------------------
    Come visit Xibase Forums
    I'm not only a member, I'm also a moderator

    http://66.70.165.122/UBB6/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Duluth, Mn USA
    Posts
    83
    I agree..it is a very addicting game....If you can play bhaal forever without having to access the amn disks, I'd be happy to sell ya my charter addition of baldurs gate 2...being I have played it and don't need it anymore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Campo Bom, RS, Brazil
    Posts
    111
    In a 1-10 scale I would give it, let's see... 12! . It's much more RPG than FF or Diablo series, coz you can really change the storyline and features of your character. I played anything but BG2 for 3 months straight.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    330
    Is there a problem is I havent play ANY of the BG series?
    The RPG that I had play are.. ALL the FF series, Diablo1,2 (Didnt like diablo1).
    What is your advice to me, Buy BG2 or better play BG1???

    ------------------
    ICQ: 19077519
    Here is my Sys:
    Athon 900@900 A7V133
    1 128 Kingston Pc-133 1 64 Generic PC-133
    Win2k Sp2
    Sb live!
    Pc-Works 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Riva TNT 1 =O(
    Dell 15": 1024*768 @ 85 Herts
    30 GB Maxtor ata/100 7200 RMP
    2 Nics
    Dxr3 Creative DVD 8x
    Hp 9300 CD-RW 10*4*32
    ICQ: 19077519
    Athlon 900@910 A7V133 - 512 Crucial Cas2 - WinXP
    Sb live! 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Gforce 2 Ultra Viewsonic 17"
    30GB WD Ata/100 7200RMP - Dxr3 DVD 8x - Lite-on 16x

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    TorontoPenis Size: Large
    Posts
    891
    You can start off with BG2..but I'd recommend starting off with the original Baldurs Gate. It's a good warm up to the *** kicking you will be taking in the second game. The final expansion you will be godlike and probably still get your *** handed to you quite a few times.

    ------------------
    Come visit Xibase Forums
    I'm not only a member, I'm also a moderator

    http://www.xibase.com/vB/index.php

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    330
    Thanx... 4 all your replies...

    ------------------
    ICQ: 19077519
    Here is my Sys:
    Athon 900@900 A7V133
    1 128 Kingston Pc-133 1 64 Generic PC-133
    Win2k Sp2
    Sb live!
    Pc-Works 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Riva TNT 1 =O(
    Dell 15": 1024*768 @ 85 Herts
    30 GB Maxtor ata/100 7200 RMP
    2 Nics
    Dxr3 Creative DVD 8x
    Hp 9300 CD-RW 10*4*32
    ICQ: 19077519
    Athlon 900@910 A7V133 - 512 Crucial Cas2 - WinXP
    Sb live! 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Gforce 2 Ultra Viewsonic 17"
    30GB WD Ata/100 7200RMP - Dxr3 DVD 8x - Lite-on 16x

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    TorontoPenis Size: Large
    Posts
    891
    A few more words of advice. Quick Save the game all the time, because you can die pretty quick and you don't wanna be doing a couple hours of adventuring all over again.

    ------------------
    Come visit Xibase Forums
    I'm not only a member, I'm also a moderator

    http://www.xibase.com/vB/index.php

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    330
    A few more words of advice. Quick Save the game all the time, because you can die pretty quick and you don't wanna be doing a couple hours of adventuring all over again.
    ------------------


    Thanx, any other advice? Today at night I'll go and buy it... =O)

    ------------------
    ICQ: 19077519
    Here is my Sys:
    Athon 900@900 A7V133
    1 128 Kingston Pc-133 1 64 Generic PC-133
    Win2k Sp2
    Sb live!
    Pc-Works 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Riva TNT 1 =O(
    Dell 15": 1024*768 @ 85 Herts
    30 GB Maxtor ata/100 7200 RMP
    2 Nics
    Dxr3 Creative DVD 8x
    Hp 9300 CD-RW 10*4*32
    ICQ: 19077519
    Athlon 900@910 A7V133 - 512 Crucial Cas2 - WinXP
    Sb live! 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Gforce 2 Ultra Viewsonic 17"
    30GB WD Ata/100 7200RMP - Dxr3 DVD 8x - Lite-on 16x

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    TorontoPenis Size: Large
    Posts
    891
    I'll probably being asking you for advice, I only played about 40 hours worth of BG2 and I am only on the third chapter.

    ------------------
    Come visit Xibase Forums
    I'm not only a member, I'm also a moderator

    http://www.xibase.com/vB/index.php

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Alhambra, CA, USA
    Posts
    140
    Yes, I agree, it's the best single player RPG I've ever played. Now, if the multiplayer game is less of a pain to set up and run....

    by the way, ever since mplayer got bought out by gamespy, I haven't be able to join any multiplayer games. Does anyone else have problems with multiplayer games? any ideas on what could be wrong? I get "unable to join session" (or something like that) every time.

    ------------------
    Hard decisions: Intel or AMD, 100 or 133, Netscape or IE, Baldur's Gate II or Counter-Strike, computers or women
    Hard decisions: Intel or AMD, nVidia or ATI, Windows or Linux, Neverwinter Nights or Counter-Strike, computer or woman.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    whitby/ cobourg, ont, canada
    Posts
    1,263
    umm do you have the lastest patch for bg2?? that could be why, also the game could be full or somthing like that. if oyu are trying to play on gamespy go in the help chat and they will tell you everything you need to know about connecting and stuff like that
    duron 800@900 - asus a7v - 640mb pc133 - radeon 8500le 128mb - sb live - 16x dvd-rom - 48x24x48 burner

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Guatemala City
    Posts
    330
    The BEST RPG that i have played in my LIFE!!! =)

    ------------------
    ICQ: 19077519
    Here is my Sys:
    Athon 900@900 A7V133
    1 128 Kingston Pc-133 1 64 Generic PC-133
    Win2k Sp2
    Sb live!
    Pc-Works 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Riva TNT 1 =O(
    Dell 15": 1024*768 @ 85 Herts
    30 GB Maxtor ata/100 7200 RMP
    2 Nics
    Dxr3 Creative DVD 8x
    Hp 9300 CD-RW 10*4*32
    ICQ: 19077519
    Athlon 900@910 A7V133 - 512 Crucial Cas2 - WinXP
    Sb live! 4 point Surround Fps 1000
    Gforce 2 Ultra Viewsonic 17"
    30GB WD Ata/100 7200RMP - Dxr3 DVD 8x - Lite-on 16x

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •