NFS III Hot Pursuit Help Please!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: NFS III Hot Pursuit Help Please!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    38

    NFS III Hot Pursuit Help Please!

    Please help me with an error message.

    (This is for a friend who isn't all the good with computers so asked me to post this question for him)

    My friend loaded NFS 3 and tried to connect to me. As soon as he clicked the connect button he got this error message:

    ABORT MESSAGE
    Exception caught!
    EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION:read attempted@0x7B414550
    CS+0000017F DS=00000187 ES=00000187 FS=0000296F GS=00000000
    EDI=00BA041C ESI=00CB08F0 EAX=00000001 EBX=00CB08F0 ECX=CB764790 EDX=81928E70
    Eip=7B414550 Ebp=00CB07DC Esp=00B8F898 SS=00000187

    OK CANCEL

    He's tried reinstalling the game twice but no luck. Even ran the patch but got the same results.

    He can play the game with no problems but can't connect at all.

    He can access the net and his fax is working fine so I don't think its a modem problem.

    Celeron 700MHZ
    Win98SE
    DSL
    40GHD
    256 RAM

    Tks in advance.

    ------------------
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Morelia, Mexico
    Posts
    1,717
    If he's using an external DSL modem, and a NIC, he should check for installed protocols. That's in control panel->Net.

    If the nic is used only for internet he should just leave TCP/IP protocol.

    ------------------
    Keyboard not detected, press F1 to continue...
    If you were in a world full of crazy people, who would be the crazy person?
    OTCentral

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    38
    Thanks for the advice.

    We actually got it working (sort of).

    The problem was that everytime he removed it and reinstalled it he also ran the patch. I got him to NOT run the patch and we were able to connect. (Got me).

    Now sometimes after a race or during the 2nd or 3rd race both of our computers just lock up. Have to hard boot to get them running again.

    Anyone have any suggestions on what we can do? I'm hosting the game.

    Celeron 500
    256 Ram
    Viper 770 Video Card
    25GHD
    Soundblaster Live
    Cable Modem
    32X & 48X CD

    Above is the other machine I'm hooking up to.

    Could it have something to do with the settings of my video card?

    If so does someone know how to set the friggin' thing up? I don't know what I'm doing and don't know what most of the setting mean so I can't change what I don't understand. Sync something, Anti- something.....etc.

    Thanks in advance.

    ------------------
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Anthony, KS, USA
    Posts
    468
    Hey Coffinhunter,
    If I were you I would update the video and audio drivers of both your's and your friend's computers. The video drivers for your's should be right here http://www.diamondmm.com/default.asp...gacy_Graphics2
    You might have to hunt for your friends. A great driver sight is www.drivershq.com you can find just about anything there.


    ------------------
    ~~~~Technology is the key to ???~~~~
    AMD 2000+ - AOpen AK-77(Pro-A) - 512Mb PC2700 DDR-RAM - ATI Sapphire 9800Pro
    120Gb WD 7200RPM - 30Gb WD 7200RPM - AOpen 16x Slot-Load DVD-ROM - AOpen 48x12x48 CD-RW
    2 160W Speakers (15" Woofers, 12" horns, and 3 2" super tweeters on each) - Infocus Projector about 6' screen. - Windows XP Media Center Edition

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    38
    Thanks newsboy,

    But.....now I have two different answers and don't know which one is best.

    On another post about my graphics card I was told to toast my Diamond Drivers and get my drivers from Nivida.

    Do you or anyone else have any suggestions on which is the better route to go?

    Tks.

    ------------------
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.
    If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •