3D Hardware
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3D Hardware

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    9

    3D Hardware

    Hi
    Tonight I downloaded the Game "Kayak Extreme" from the new Real Arcade, anyways in order to play the game you have to meet certain requirements, I meet all of them except the 3D Hardware one, how do I fix this so I can play the game

    Thanks
    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    127
    Well, first, what are your system specs?

    3D hardware refers to your video card. What card is in it now? Do you even have a video card, or is it built into the motherboard?

    Give a little more info and we can give you a better response.

    Mike

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon 1 GHz
    ASUS A7V KT133
    256 RAM
    DVD-ROM drive
    48X CD-ROM
    HP CD-Writer+ 7500
    8.43 GB Hard drive
    13.66 GB Hard drive
    30.00 GB Hard drive
    Radeon 32meg DDR
    Creative SB Live! X-Gamer
    LinkSys 10/100 NIC
    www.michaelwessinger.com
    AMD Athlon 3000 (Barton) & ASUS A7N8X Dlx 512 RAM
    DVD, Yamaha LightSpeed CDRW
    80 GB SATA, 13.6, & 30 GB IDE Hard drives
    Radeon 9200 Pro
    Samsung 19" Monitor 955DF

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    You need a better video card, it sounds like.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    9
    How do I know for sure what my video card is? Where do I look

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Sarawak, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,807
    Right click on "My Computer" on your desktop and select Properties. Go to Device Manager and expand your Display Adapters. That way will tell U what display card U have in your comp.

    If you still cannot find it, better get yourself a book on "Computers for Dummies".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    131
    of right click on the desktop - select properties - then select settings, you should be able to see your monitor type followed by the video adapter name under 'display'.

    hope this helps.

    you need to be able to fit an agp graphics card if your video is integrated onto the motherboard..

    post your specs if you can

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    9
    Ok, I got what my video card is: It is a
    RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2X (English)

    Hope you can tell me what is wrong

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Sarawak, Malaysia
    Posts
    4,807
    You can check on the game sites or the developer's readme on the hardware requirement to play the games. Normally, they will do a lot of testing with different 3d card before rolling out the games. Check with the games readme files or manuals if your 3d card is supported in the game. If your card is listed, then you will need to install tehe latest driver and DirectX.
    If your card is not suppported, there is no way you will be able to play the game with the full effect in the games. You willl experience some missing texture or your game crash to teh desktop. The 3d card that is advisable to get nowadays is the GeForce2.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,775
    Originally posted by kayakman:
    Ok, I got what my video card is: It is a
    RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2X (English)

    Hope you can tell me what is wrong
    My guess is that you are using the ATI Enhanced driver set, because I had exactly the same thing displayed as you, except with (Francais) instead of (English), but that was when I was using my ATI 3D Charger 2MB

    I think you may not have enough memory on your card (only 2 or 4MB)to run the game, and some games doesn't consider you have a 3D accelerator with that memory size.

    Go to Start -> Run, then type "dxdiag" and go to the display tab. It should be written how much memory do you have.


    [This message has been edited by equinoxe3d (edited 05-26-2001).]

    Core i7 2600K @ 4GHz | Noctua NH-C12P SE14 | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 CL9 | Gigabyte GTX 670 OC 2GB | 256GB Crucial m4 | 2TB WD Green | Samsung DVD±RW | Seasonic X 460w Fanless | Fractal Design Define Mini | Windows 7 Ultimate | Dell 2209WA @ 75Hz

    Join the HwC Folding@Home team!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •