Network Gaming and DSL routing
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Network Gaming and DSL routing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    2

    Network Gaming and DSL routing

    I am thinking of making a small Ethernet home network and sharing a DSL between the two (or more) computers using a DSL/cable router. My question involves IP gaming with the shared connection.....I know they can play over the LAN and one computer can play using direct IP. Can both (or more) of the LAN computers join an IP game.....say that someone off the network started? If you have a static IP, does the router assign a new IP to the networked computers? Does each individual computer have a new IP given by the router? I am all very familiar with direct IP gaming, but the whole home network is very new to me. Thanks for the info.

    Trav

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    sf,ca, usa
    Posts
    2,109
    I use the Netgear DSL Router/Hub. The static IP is assigned to the hub which also acts as a hardware firewall. The IP addresses for the computers which it's connected to are set to auto assign. The router will then assign a new IP internal IP to each computer.

    You can have both computers join an outside server at the same time.

    ------------------
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ventura, CA.
    Posts
    48
    Sin, are you using the Netgear RT314? I am thinking about buying one of these and doing the same thing you have done.

    Is it simple to set up? Does the firewall cause any problems connecting to online game servers?

    -Lazy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    sf,ca, usa
    Posts
    2,109
    It's very simple to use. Set all computers as auto IP. Then from one of the comps, open a web browser and type in the router's IP. It should open up a config page where you'll enter the numbers your ISP gave you.

    I haven't any problem with connecting to a game server.

    ------------------
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    141
    I have the linksys 4-port router and it kickz some serious azz! It is REAL user friendly and does not give up any performance at the same time. I have 2...soon to be three...computers running off of it right now. With another hub you could actually hook up to 250 pcs to the one router.

    It gives you a lot of control as to what ports you want to route to what computer also. I have not had a problem or found something that I can not do with it yet.

    ------------------
    PAINTBALL RULEZ!
    PAINTBALL RULEZ!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for the info. Any pros/cons for any of the homenetworking systems? How about any of the Home RF or WiFi networks? Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,990
    Things to watch out for are :

    - You might have to configure access to a port for the game server's connection.

    - You might have difficulty if two of your machines attempt to connect to the same server for the same game. To the outside world your computers will appear to have the same IP address and this can cause problems with some servers. However, some can handle multiple connections from the same address. It just depends on the server.


    ------------------
    Friends don't let friends buy P4s.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    near eugene,oregon
    Posts
    72
    I'm Setting up a Dial-up network. Any ideas on a good proxie server so my son can play online games on yahoo?
    thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •