Quake III servers using protocol 48?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Quake III servers using protocol 48?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235

    Quake III servers using protocol 48?

    Today I tried to play Q3A online again, but when using the in-game server-browser I got the message "No connection to master server", and when using Gamespy and trying to connect to servers, I got the message " Servers are using protocol 48".
    ???
    I'm using version 1.27. Do I have to up/downgrade?
    Thanks!

    ------------------
    It never rains but it pours...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    sf,ca, usa
    Posts
    2,109
    Last time I say some protocal error, I upgraded and the problem went away.

    ------------------
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235
    Thanks!
    What version does the majority use for playing online?
    Thanks again!

    ------------------
    It never rains but it pours...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta (Canada)
    Posts
    234
    Probably 127. I've found the 127h beta patch the best but the 127g has to be installed first.
    ftp://ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/quake3/win32/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    1,235
    Well, I checked it and found out I have 1.25 right now, which was a 18 MB download. The 1.27g download is even bigger!
    Is there a smaller setup which upgrades from 1.25 to 1.27g somewhere on the web?
    Thank you!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta (Canada)
    Posts
    234
    Nothing smaller that I know of unless you want to by the Team Arena cd. 127 comes with it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •