What's the best mouse for gaming?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: What's the best mouse for gaming?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA, USA
    Posts
    3,463

    What's the best mouse for gaming?

    I have a Logitech Mouseman PS2 3-button mouse right now, but I'm looking to upgrade to a nice 4-button/mousewheel; I was looking primarily at Microsoft Intellimouse Optical and Explorer- the Explorer looks more ergonamic, but the intellimouse is $20 cheaper. The buttons are arrayed differently, too- which one would be better for gaming?? Will trying to reach the upper button on the explorer cramp my hand? What about the Razer boomslanger? I took this puppy for a test-drive at Best Buy and it was like liquid comfort... It didn't have 5 buttons, though, and that's what I really am looking for.

    I most frequent the Quake III mod WFA, and I wanted to map grapple, crouch, jump, fire and alt-fire. Not sure what the mouse-wheel up-down will be for, since I have weapons set nice on the keyboard and don't want to overload my right hand
    Pentium IV 2.4C Northwood- M0 stepping @ 3.2GHz HT
    Air Cooled w/ SP-94 heatpipe & 92mm Vantex Tornado at 45C
    4x256=1gb dual-channel 2-3-3-6 OCZ PC800DRAM @ 890MHz 3-4-4-8
    MSI Neo2-PLS w/I865PE & SATA @ 4x267=1068MHz
    BFG GeForceFX 5900@485/967MHz = 6284 3DMark2003s; dual-head 21" CRT & 19" LCD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    I'm HWC's resident Logitech cheerleader... so in accordance with my appointed duties, I offer for your perusal a pic of a fine suggestion for an optical, 4-button gaming mouse:





    [This message has been edited by Baloneyflaps (edited 09-03-2000).]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Machias, Me, US
    Posts
    307
    Any mouse @ 60Hz or higher.
    Please support the diminishing Doom2 revolution by participating in the Internet Deathmatch community. csDoom:
    http://csdoom.sourceforge.net/eng.html
    -Need to Play: Doom2.wad v1.9 + csDoom

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,968
    Are you getting paid by Logitech Flaps? I have the Optical mouse and it works great; whichever mouse you pick will be a good choice over what you have now.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer excellent IMO and I want for nothing more (except perhaps the lack of a tail)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    Hey, it's a tradition now... I can't stop!

    BTW, the Logitech's let you turn the sample rate up to 200hz...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    Thanx guys What are the refresh rates on the microsoft mice?
    Pentium IV 2.4C Northwood- M0 stepping @ 3.2GHz HT
    Air Cooled w/ SP-94 heatpipe & 92mm Vantex Tornado at 45C
    4x256=1gb dual-channel 2-3-3-6 OCZ PC800DRAM @ 890MHz 3-4-4-8
    MSI Neo2-PLS w/I865PE & SATA @ 4x267=1068MHz
    BFG GeForceFX 5900@485/967MHz = 6284 3DMark2003s; dual-head 21" CRT & 19" LCD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,255
    I have the Intellimouse Explorer, it's great.

    I remember that when I had my old Intellimouse (standard ball model), UT used to crash when I set it to 200Hz, but would run fine at 80Hz.

    ------------------
    Never mind the dog, beware of the owner.

    HWC FORCE3D ICQ AL= 57497564
    OCN ICQ AL= 67864797
    HWC FORCE3D ICQ AL= 57497564
    OCN ICQ AL= 67864797

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,176
    Yep my Intellimouse Explorer gets a big thumbs up.

    It was smooth out of the box, but when I downloaded the latest drivers things got even smoooooooooother.

    I think the refresh rate has been upped.

    ------------------
    P3600e@800 with Alpha PEP66
    BF6 Mobo
    CreativeGTS
    Vortex2 sound
    Iiyama VisionMaster Pro450
    Xp1800
    Soltek DRV5
    Corsair PC2700 cas2
    GF4 Ti4400
    Santa Cruz
    Barracuda IV
    Hollywood+
    Iiyama Pro450

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muncie, IN, USA
    Posts
    1,220
    I use the Logitec Trackball Marble. I never have to worrie about running off of the mousepad.
    Inwin Q500 FT
    IWILL KK266
    640 mb PC-100
    Duron 1 Ghz
    Gforce 4 MX 420
    Mini Super Orb
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    Philips 24/12/40
    Philips 107S 17" Monitor
    Logitech Z-340s
    Win XP Pro

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    this is the only area where I find the great Bill cannot be outdone, I've never used anything to touch an MS mouse. The Intelieye optical one is my favourite, though I don't have the cash for one myself I've used my friends in UT and it ROCKS.

    Also, note that I have had the same MS Mouse 2.0 for 2 years and it shows no signs of wearing out, in the same time my Father has gone through 4 cheaper mice, equating to roughly twice the cost of my MS. I even have an old MS Mouse 1 in my loft which still works after 12 years (5 of which used for AutoCAD every day!).

    ------------------
    Look out!!
    My train of thought is a runaway!!
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    714
    Intellimouse Explorer USB. Just plug it in and there you go. The feeling of the mouse and sensitivity of the buttons takes a few days or hours to get used to, but once you are "in" you can't do without the mouse. I love my Intellimouse Explorer! It is the best mouse around.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    I also use a Logitech Trackman Marble +... I can't say there is a better mouse out there.

    I've also tried this same mouse without an armrest on my chair and sometimes it can get really tiring.



    [This message has been edited by Toolbox (edited 09-03-2000).]
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  14. #14
    When i got Q3A there was a ad for a mouse called Razer. Any of you heard of it. They said it is specially for gamming. It has a website also, but i lost it. oh well

    ------------------
    Mess with the best
    Die like the rest
    --Hackers
    -Acid Rain
    Mess with the best
    Die like the rest
    --Hackers
    -Acid Rain

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    I love my Logitech opitcal trackball. It stays in one place and NEVER moves.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •