Will Quake 3 Arena run on this computer?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Will Quake 3 Arena run on this computer?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    574

    Will Quake 3 Arena run on this computer?

    * AMD K6-2 500MHz CPU
    * 96MB PC100 SDRAM
    * Diamond Multimedia Stealth III S540 Video Card
    (S3 Savage4 16MB AGP-2X)
    * Creative Sound Blaster PCI128 Sound Card

    First of all; how will this system perform as is, and what about if I add a 3DFX Voodoo II 12MB PCI Card?

    PLEASE NOTE: The Stealth III video card cannot have a Voodoo II piggybacked onto it, So I would use this S3 Savage3D 8MB AGP-2X I have, but I'd guess it wouldn't make a difference.

    Thanks in advance.
    WS6
    Account No Longer Used

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    1,864
    Q3A is very nVidia friendly. I wouldn't worry about installing a Voodoo card just for Q3A.
    "It was a good lay........"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    574
    I wanted the Voodoo II for other things as well.......

    But this doesn't answer my question...
    Will quake 3 run on this PC at 400x300 or higher with a decent frame rate
    Account No Longer Used

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    6,038
    You should get decent framerates at 640x480; q3 uses s3's compressed textures format. Try downloading the demo and see how it runs.
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Zotac 970 GTX 4gB SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz, 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Wales,Uk
    Posts
    529
    You should be able to run it fine at 640x480 and most effects up, i don't know much about your graphics card though, that may hold you back, instead of getting a voodoo 2, you could get a v3 2K, and sell your other graphics cards, then you would get good performance out of Q3.

    ------------------
    Athlon 700@800,Abit Ka7, 128mb PC100, 12mb Voodoo 2, 17" Sony Monitor, SB Live.
    Check Out: www.selective-auto.co.uk
    XP @ 2.3Ghz (210xx11)
    NF7-S v2
    1GB PC3500
    Rad 9800pro @ XT
    CM101B
    Hitachi 17" 16ms TFT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    574
    Where can I download the Q3A demo?
    Account No Longer Used

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Joliet,IL
    Posts
    1,426
    Why does this sound like a vandammage topic?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Panam
    Posts
    448
    see your card in this list n' how it will perform: http://www.q3center.com/technology/

    download the demo from here: http://www.gamepro.com/gpw/downloads...NNEL=Downloads

    benchmarks: http://www.q3center.com/benchmarks/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,255
    @ cbrsurfr

    ------------------
    Never mind the dog, beware of the owner.
    HWC FORCE3D ICQ AL= 57497564
    OCN ICQ AL= 67864797

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    807

    Maybe i'll change name to "FPSQuestioner" or something like that.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Posts
    574
    Q3A ran suprisingly well!!

    I dont believe in 32bit color for games, who needs more than 16bit (65 thousand) colors for games anyway.

    800x600x16 all effects/quality on high: runs well (definatly more than 20FPS).

    I am currently running it at 640x480x16 and loving it.
    Account No Longer Used

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •