Ghost software Question, please help...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ghost software Question, please help...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    170

    Ghost software Question, please help...

    How can I undo the Ghost copying or is there a possibility way for me to do so? I supposed to ghost copy from a data drive to the blank one. But I accidently did it the other way around. My job is on a thin line and I really do need all the helps that I can get.
    Guys and gails, I neeeeeeeeeeeed your help!

    Thanks you all.

    ------------------
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Taylorsville, Utah, USA
    Posts
    2,169
    So instead of copying the data to the blank disc you accidentaly copied the blank disc over the good data, right? If that is the case it may be possible to find some hard drive recovery software and give it a try, you may be able to get a lot of the data back.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    170
    Alright, I will try to look for something like that tomorrow.
    Wish me luck though.

    ------------------
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    If you are using Norton Ghost It states that if you Ghost over a drive contents data will be lost. I doubt you will be able to recover the data because you have over written it not lost it due to a drive going bad.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    170
    OK, if this is a case then I will cry till Tuesday and beg my boss for a second chance.



    ------------------
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Dusting_Boy

    I'm not god, so I could be wrong but I think recovery of data from a reformat is possible as the data is not overwritten until you start to reinstall new software so can be recovered. As I said I could be wrong but if it is your Job that's on the line then ring up by telephone and talk to a person at one of the many data recovery adds that are usually in the back ov PC mags or micro mart type publications they may know more than I.

    In future I recomend ghosting to another 3rd drive once a week or whatever you require, and then unplugging the power to it. You would then not be able to wipe in easily or get a virus on it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    170
    Yes, I will do that and Blade thanks for your compliment.

    ------------------
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102
    Want to be a supportive? Then why don't you try to give it a click:www.xibase.com/
    http://pub21.ezboard.com/btheredpill59102

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •