accessing cheat code
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: accessing cheat code

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    KANE ,PA.
    Posts
    58

    accessing cheat code

    i'm haveing trouble accessing the cheat code console for half life. i type it in like so; C:\Half-Life\hl.exe-console. but all i get is cannot find file or one of its componets. make shur path and file name are correct. any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Currently infront of my PC
    Posts
    2,277
    You have to goto to the scortcut on your desktop or startmenu and add the -console from there, or you have to type in the full path like : c:\sierra\half~1\hl -console. The sierra\halflife is the default when installing.
    EPOX EP9NPA+
    AMD 64 3000+
    2x 512mb Samsung DDR 400
    80gb Western Digital
    Benq DvD Writer
    LG Combo
    19" Mag Innovision CRT
    GeForce 6600GT
    Windows XP Pro SP1

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    KANE ,PA.
    Posts
    58
    I added the -console in the short cut, no luck. i went to the half life folder to see if the file exsists and i could'nt find any. i typed the full path- C:\sierra\Half-Life\hl.exe-console, and still nothing. i'll keep trying. i finished all the levels, i thought it would be pretty cool to go back on some and cheat!! thanks any ways

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Lillehammer, Norway
    Posts
    685
    Half-Life Console Detailed Help.

    You couldn't find hl.exe ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    6,916
    I think you're missing the space between hl.exe and -console. Try copying the following line exactly into the shortcut:

    C:\sierra\Half-Life\hl.exe -console
    Safe computing is a habit, not a toolkit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    461
    Originally posted by Tuttle:
    I think you're missing the space between hl.exe and -console. Try copying the following line exactly into the shortcut:

    C:\sierra\Half-Life\hl.exe -console
    Good call Turtle!! That's the way to go! The space is very important.

    AMD 1.4GHz (266 FSB)
    512 MB PC2100 DDR
    ABIT KG7
    45GB ATA100 Maxtor
    3D Prophet GTS 64
    Creative Labs 128
    Dell 20" Trinitron

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    KANE ,PA.
    Posts
    58
    i got it!!! it was the space before the -console. thanks alot for your help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    5,967
    Yes, never underestimate the power of a space!
    Asus P9X79-Deluxe, Intel i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz, 16gb DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Memory, Coolermaster Storm Trooper case, Corsair AX850 psu, Geforce 680 SLI, Corsair Model H100 w/c, Samsung 840 Pro 512gB SSD, Asus Blu-ray Writer 12x, Windows7 Pro x64

    MSI GS Series GS60 Ghost-003 Gaming Notebook 15.6", Intel Core i7-4700HQ 2.40GHz (3.2 GHz), 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB, 4.36 lbs., Windows 8.1 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •