Dual Cellys Mobo as a dual gameserver !?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dual Cellys Mobo as a dual gameserver !?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061

    Dual Cellys Mobo as a dual gameserver !?

    Hi can I use for instance a Dual ABitB6 mobo with Cellys 2 x 466 (or above), with 1 or 2 HDDs, 2 nics as 2 game servers ?
    For instance 1 TFC(TeamFortressC) and 1 CS (Counterstrike) !?
    I got 4 differents ip adresses from my internet provider, and I get up 2 10 Mbit steady fiber connection 2 the Internet in a couple of months :-D

    ------------------
    *** The worst investment u can do is a buy a new computer, buy some stocks isntead ***
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    714
    First, how do you plan to tell HalfLife on which NIC IP to host which game? Second, if you can be sure not to let both run on the same CPU. How much RAM do you have? For 2 servers on one computer with a max of 24 people each (48 together) you will need at least 192MB, probably more like 256MB. I played on a P3 800 with 512MB RAM and max 32 people on a OCS-3 line and during heavy fragging the server stumbled a bit. If you are using Advanced Server remember that the MINIMUM to run the Operating System is 256MB of RAM. Lastly, Celerons don't make the best servers because of the limited L2 cache and slow FSB. Better go for 1 Thunderbird or PentiumIII with a higher clockspeed. If you plan on Linux I can't tell you the sys req. If you know how to tell the server on which IP to host, please post it here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    K, Hmmm... the problem is that I wanted to save up some space !!!
    I cant have the Server in the bedroom 24 hours a day, since the HDDs make to much noice :-C
    I must have it in bookshelf with glassdoors...Can I use a minitower with Athlon, cellys, Duron etc.


    ------------------
    *** The worst investment u can do is a buy a new computer, buy some stocks isntead ***
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    714
    Yes you can. However, if you are worried about the HDDs making noise, there are something that you can buy for cheap that will cover the physical HDD and reduce the noise substancially.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Yeahh Ive heard of them HDDs silencers, but If u r using a 7200 then they almost gets to hot in the silencers. :-C
    And by the way why do u want 32 players at the same ? In tfc its boring as hell...
    12-20 players is maximum in tfc, then it starts to get boring, In tfc I could say the same...
    Im not playing in a server mopre than 24 :-D



    ------------------
    *** The worst investment u can do is a buy a new computer, buy some stocks isntead ***
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    714
    First, I plan on getting silencers for my 15k rpm drive. There are covers that are specifically designed for them, so heat will not be a problem.

    I play TFC with a minimum of 24 people. Most of the time we play a clan match with 12-16 people each team. My ping is 100ms> because I have a good cable company. Playing with less than 24 people is boring for me. I like sniping and building sentrys. Most people only DREAM to be able to play on 24+ servers because 56k modems can't very well handle that amount of traffic. Hehe...nothing better than a clan match in tfc with roger wilco and a good 16vs16 game!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    K, Well some maps (large) as BADLANDS etc. I can agree with u 2 some point, but not in for instance 2fort map(little).

    Its just bang all the time u get headach, u r respawn all the time :-C

    I play clan matches 8-10 in each team...

    But all it just come down to is that different pepz like differents things :-D
    Some like it BIG (like americans lol)
    and someone else like it small (like Scandinavians lol)



    ------------------
    *** The worst investment u can do is a buy a new computer, buy some stocks isntead ***
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •