Computer wont turn on.
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Computer wont turn on.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Riverside, CA, USA
    Posts
    6

    Computer wont turn on.

    Hello,
    I was using my computer one day, went to shut down and turned the computer off. The next day when I came back I pushed the power button and NOTHING! No fan, no HD no lights, nothing. So checked to make sure the Power Supply was on, the voltage was right, the power strip works, the Power supply works (when I turn the power supply the lights on the keyboard flash once), and that I have the Power switch on the right header. If anyone can help me out I would appreciate it. I'm open to any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    And How Should I Know That
    Posts
    626
    On most cases there are two power supply buttons, a soft off button on the front and a power off button on the back. Check that both are in the on position.

    Other than that, have you had any power outages lately, or spikes that may have fried your board?
    REALITY.SYS corrupted: Reboot universe? (Y/N/Q)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    sf,ca, usa
    Posts
    2,109
    Sudden spikes could've killed your motherboard and PS. Since you're seeing you keyboard flash, I'll assume that there's juice flowing but not enough.

    Do the easiest thing first. Bring another PS close to your box and plug it into the motherboard connector. If it fires up then you know what the problem. If it doesn't then it's the poor motherboard.
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Riverside, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    I have tried all of that, but nothing worked. Thanks for your replies.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Lakewood, CO
    Posts
    3,604
    I think there is something wrong with this site. The links must be messed up. I thought I was going into the feedback forum, but aparently, I am in the support forum. Strang huh?
    Athlon 64 2800+
    1xWD 1200BB, 1xMaxtor 200GB SATA
    Asus K8N-E
    2x512MB Corsair XMS3200
    Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
    Radeon 9800 Pro, Dell 1801FP - WinTV Theater
    Sony CRX320E Combo Drive, Pioneer A04
    Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro - Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical
    Win XP Pro SP2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Riverside, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    I narrowed it down to either my Mother board, RAM or Processor, by testing my Power supply and the Buttons on the case. If anyone has any suggestions I'm still open to them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    sf,ca, usa
    Posts
    2,109
    If you got spare ones or can borrow one, test each of those things out. Start with the easiest like mem, cpu, then motherboard.

    ------------------
    Visit my site at www.xibase.com
    Intel Duron 866 mhz
    Abit KT7 Raid
    TNT Ultra 64 mb
    64 mb Ram
    WD 4.3 gb HD
    Logitech Explorer
    19" Sony TFT display
    56K Cable Modem
    Abit Floppy
    Iomega Keyboard
    [b] Meet the ladies
    12X CDROM
    14.4 DVD

    Windows 95 ME

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY, USA
    Posts
    13
    If you have an old PC, the power supply
    might be the culprit. Even with the newer
    cases, sometime you get a defective power
    supply.

    ------------------
    Happy people do not need a reason, just that they are so...
    Happy people do not need a reason, just that they are so...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    41
    I had a simular problem before. I solved it by re-mouting external power cabels, switching on the main On button and then pushing the Power button. Easy as that. Test this if you alredy havent.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Riverside, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks to everyone who replied. I had my motherboard tested and it was fried. Well I guess I need a new one.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    139
    I had a similar problem--it turned out the motherboard was bad. I plugged in a good motherboard and it became a bad one too. I then cut some possibly useful connectors off of the power supply and threw it into the trash. Fortunately it was an old computer and motherboard but still annoying. Hope it doesn't turn out that way for you.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •