Learning my lesson.....
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Learning my lesson.....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951

    Learning my lesson.....

    Well, since my router was just sitting there being a firewall, file/print server, and router I decided to let it do some distributed computing. Folding since that's what I've been doing. Well it was a 400MHz K62 that I OCed to 560(112x5) 2.8v using a VolcanoII. It was keeping temps in upper 30s even under full load. Well all was great until Yesterday I noticed it wasn't doing anything. I opened it up and guess what the fan wasn't spinning on the processor. I shut it down, and touched the heatsink. I have a blister to prove how hot it was. Needless to say, that processor is fried. The only other s7 chip I had lying around is a lowly p-133, so it went in till I can get a replacement. Well. It's sloooow when acting as file/print server. I have it OCed to 166(2x83) @ 3.2v. Anyway, the question is how do I get more than 3.2v out of an Epox MVP3G2? I don't care if I fry this one. It'll only be in use about a week. (guess I didn't learn my lesson) Any help is mucho appreciated.
    Thanx
    NBD

    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    RIP 'ol brother

    ------------------
    I AM CANADIAN

    Duron 900 @ 1100
    1.75v (8x133)
    Abit Kt7a
    192 mb ram
    ATI Radeon 32mb ddr
    win2k sp2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    The P133 was a 3.45v design, no? Hehe...volt mod it. Look for a chip that could be the voltage regulator to the processor, and I'll figure something out (for real if you really want me trying, I will)

    P133 should be able to get a little higher than 166. I have mine running in its OEM Gateway2000 board at 200mhz with standard Vcore, which I believe to be 3.45v.... So way to go! Good job getting it running overclocked while being undervolted!

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    AthlonXP 1600+ @ 1800+ 1.55v 41'C
    256MB Corsair PC150
    Radeon 64DDR SE @ 315/245 w/ ramsinks + default coresink + vmem mod...workin on core mod
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    I didn't even know that it was undervolted. I couldn't remember what the default vcore was, but I knew it was >3, so I set it at the higest(documented) on the board. I just figured someone may know how to manipulated the dip switches to get a little more. It posts at 190, but freezes hard while loading the kernel. It won't even post at 200 with this voltage. If default vcore is 3.45v it looks like I could run this one @200 with default or 3.5. In terms of OC that's a huge 50%. It has a stick of Generic PC-133 in it, so it would be very cool to get 2x100 out of it. Or 2x112 if I'm very lucky.

    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    879
    Deal with the lack of speed for the week you have the board.

    When you lack the knowledge, deal with it.

    ------------------
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    T-Bird @1200mhz
    512mb Mushkin pc133
    Asus V7700 Pure
    Funny looking mouse with a worn off Microsoft Logo (Thanks Diablo 2)
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    EpoX 8RDA+
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    1gb Corsair XMS pc3200
    Visontek GeForce 4 Ti4200
    WD LE 80gb 7200rpm HDD
    Sony 48x24x48x IDE CDRW
    Soundblaster Live! Audigy
    Logitech Cordless MX Duo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    2,643
    you could just deal with that speed for a week, or you could do what your doing, and play around with the chip, and maybe even learn something new

    ------------------
    I AM CANADIAN

    Duron 900 @ 1100
    1.75v (8x133)
    Abit Kt7a
    192 mb ram
    ATI Radeon 32mb ddr
    win2k sp2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    OK, was playing with it this morning, and tried playing with dip switche setings. According to the PCHEALTH STATUS screen in BIOS 4&5 on is 3.5v. So, running at 200MHZ(2x100) with a Pentium-133. It's a VERY noticeable increase. It actually feels faster than the 233 PII at work. It is using old simms on 66MHZ buss though where this one is using sdram on 100MHz buss. I'd try to benchmark it, but it's only running a modified version of Coyote Linux.

    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •