KingMax DDR333 Memory™
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: KingMax DDR333 Memory™

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269

    KingMax DDR333 Memory™

    Is KingMax any good with their DDR333 Memory? I've heard so much about Samsung, Corsair and Nanya that I honestly don't know what type of RAM to get. Can anyone help?

    Going to use it on a P4S533 and Northwood 1.8A. Don't plan on overclocking but in case I do, I want the RAM to be capable.

    ------------------
    "It Is Now Safe To Turn Off Your Computer"
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Posts
    392
    I just read a article in Computer Power User magazine, May issue.
    JEDEC (the organization that sets DDR standards) has not approved on the PC2700 DDR Ram yet.
    The article said that PC2700 chips out now are most likely overclocked PC2100 or something else.
    Kyle Bennett from hardocp.com wrote the article.


    ------------------
    http://www.rkymnt5.com/computer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    VIC, Australia
    Posts
    500
    I have 2 sticks of Kingmax 256mb 2700 DDR RAM. Its great! there are a couple of reviews on it, its like the fastest memory available I think. Can you say 190 MHz (380 DDR) at CAS 2?

    ------------------
    AMD Athlon XP 1800+, Abit KR7A-R, 512MB PC2700 DDR CAS2, 2x IBM 30.6GXP running RAID 0, Asus GeForce2 MX, Hercules GameTheater XP, SMC 1210TX Nic...
    AMD Athlon XP 1800+, Abit KR7A-R, 512MB PC2700 DDR CAS2, 2x IBM 30.6GXP running RAID 0, Asus GeForce2 MX, Hercules GameTheater XP, SMC 1210TX Nic...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by Jamesy:
    I have 2 sticks of Kingmax 256mb 2700 DDR RAM. Its great! there are a couple of reviews on it, its like the fastest memory available I think. Can you say 190 MHz (380 DDR) at CAS 2?

    One can hardly doubt that's not overclocked PC2100

    *Edited for spelling...yes that's right I had 8 mistakes in 8 words. It's late

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ 2.35v/4.05v mods
    Certified as "Turbo2-R" by me
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1700+ @ 1.55v
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL3 - hopefully MushkinREV3 soon
    Diamond TNT2 Viper V770 @ 160/220

    [This message has been edited by DuronClocker (edited 04-29-2002).]
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    I have owned both the Kingmax and the Corsair 333 memory. I am able to run the Corsair with aggressive settings way higher then I could with the Kingmax. My stick of Kingmax could hit around 174 with max settings on a KR7A, and my Corsair has been as high as 188 without problems. I have also got to admit that the Corsair memory with the heatspreaders looks alot cooler.

    If you go with the Corsair make sure and get the better PC2700 stick. It is a single sided stick and has the following model # CMX256A-2700C2

    That model # is supposed to be able to run much faster then their other PC2700 which uses Micron memory and is double sided. I was told this by Corsair customer service.

    Hope this helps.

    ------------------
    KR7A-Raid
    T-Bird 1.4@ 9.5X173=1647mhz
    Corsair XMS 2700
    MSI Geforce 3
    230/550
    Alpha Pal 8045
    Enermax 550watt
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    With the availability of parts here in the Philippines, I've decided to use RDRAM and an Abit TH7-II Motherboard.

    Thanks for the help.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Chattanooga,TN
    Posts
    149
    Samsung say's that they have a 2700 chip, I have one of these, here is a copy and paste from NewEgg:

    Samsung Original DDR333 PC-2700 256mb CAS2.5 - OEM VersionDDR 333MHz True PC 2700 chip (Not over clock from PC-2100 chip) New release for Best Performance-Lifetime warranty Model#: M368L3223CTL-CB3 -OEM Special FedEx Saver Shipping $7.00
    - Product Link -See It! (image count 1 ) -Price Alert (N82E16820147101)
    (avg rating out of 22 voters)
    $82.00

    They claim a 2700 chip not overclocked 2100.

    I originaly had a 256 stick of 2100 and I added a stick of this 2700, they didnt go well togather, it would cause sys. shut downs, I have pulled the 2100 stick and I'll be adding another Samsung 2700 soon, I havent had any problems with the Samsung but I wouldnt mix them (2100 with 2700) I am using a Asus P4s333-M mobo, I would go with Samsung Again. I hope this helps. PEACE

    ------------------
    Serve God and him ONLY.
    AsusP4S333-M,Pentium 4 2.0 Ghz @2.0,512 DDR2700, Nvidia GF3Ti200,Seagate40gigHD, 56X CD rom,4x4x32CDRW,
    Serve God and him ONLY.
    Asus P4B-533
    Pentium 4 2.4Ghz@3.0Ghz P4Spark 7
    768 DDR2700
    Nvidia Gainward G4 4600 128 DDR
    Seagate40gigHD
    SCSI HDD 15K
    16X DVD
    500 watt UPS.
    19 inch Dell monitor
    32 C hehehe

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •