Kingmax pc2700 owners, post your max overclock!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Kingmax pc2700 owners, post your max overclock!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459

    Kingmax pc2700 owners, post your max overclock!

    I just got my replacement 8KHA+ from Newegg and have been pushing my Kingmax pc2700. Regardless of what people say, I think the Y+ marked BIOS definitely overclocks better than the N+ marked 8KHA+'s (I'm talking about the marking on the physical BIOS chip). My old 8KHA+ was an N+ version and I could only get my Kingmax to 172MHz with the most aggressive memory settings. With my new mobo I've been able to get my memory to 180Mhz at CAS2-2-5-2-1. I think I've maxed it out at 190MHz CAS3- 3.2v. I'd like other Kingmax pc2700 owners to post their scores to get an average overclock rating. Please download or update your version of Sandra to 2002 so the results are comparable.









    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Man that put the P4 memory scores to shame. Good job. My Crucial sucks and craps out at about 143Mhz cas2 2-5-2-1. I have made it to 147, but not 100% stable. I guess that is not too bad for PC2100 Cas 2.5.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ 1.65v 42'C
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm 30db
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266 cas2
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  3. #3
    Justintime Guest
    Thats sweet!

    ------------------
    Jr
    Nick's site
    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    C'mon I know there are more than a few people on here who have this stuff. I broke 2800/2700 at 190 with slightly more aggressive settings. I'd like to see someone with an Athlon XP post their scores because I'm sure the scores would be at or past 3GB/s. I sold my XP 1700 because it just would not unlock. My trusty 1400 is doing just fine in its place though until I can get a Thoroughbred (if AMD even plans to release them??).

    Todd, your Crucial craps out at 147 even with the max vmem voltage? Most people who have Micron sticks can get theirs to 166 with a little juice.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Plymouth, New Zealand
    Posts
    360



    Thats very conservative RAM timings and running at 191x2=382Mhz

    ------------------
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 1.6Ghz @ 1.84
    ASUS P4S333
    ATI Radeon 8500
    256MB Kingmax PC2700
    Dual Seagate 20GB 7200RPM
    Viewsonic E70 Monitor
    HP 8/4/32
    Windows XP
    Razor Boomslang 1000dpi

    [This message has been edited by Aragorn100 (edited 03-05-2002).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    I haven't been able to push my kingmax to the limit. When I ordered it I also ordered an IBM 120GXP. The 120gxp craps out at any fsb over 145.

    ------------------
    KR7A-Raid
    T-Bird 1.4@ 11X149=1643mhz
    256mb Crucial DDR
    MSI Geforce 3
    235/555
    Alpha Pal 8045
    Enermax 431watt
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Originally posted by tysidor:
    I haven't been able to push my kingmax to the limit. When I ordered it I also ordered an IBM 120GXP. The 120gxp craps out at any fsb over 145.
    Buy a Promise Ultra100(or 133) TX2 IDE expansion controller. It's made to run in 64bit PCI slots (66Mhz), so it can handle anything you throw at it and your drives will run safely in spec too.

    If you want the ultimate overclockable system, you need an IDE controller that can handle those high PCI bus frequencies, a cheapo NIC based on the Realtek 8139/810x chipset (they perform great and overclock even better), and a good soundcard. None of my components (except my Geforce3 when overclocked) stop working at any of the fsb settings I've tried that my DDR can handle.


    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Originally posted by wrathchild_67:
    ...a cheapo NIC based on the Realtek 8139/810x chipset (they perform great and overclock even better)...
    Yep, I second that. Tried and tested my 8139 at 180MHz and it was fine.

    Still not 200MHz though, is it wrathchild_67?

    MuFu.



    ------------------
    Athlon XP@2000+
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB@152Mhz
    Radeon 8500LE@310/620MHz
    60GXP 60GB
    75GXP 30GB
    SBLive! 5.1
    PlexWriter 10/10/40A
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    LG Flatron 795FT+
    WinXP
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    tysidor, are you sure it's your 120GXP crapping out at 145FSB? I find that very strange. The reported overclockability of the 120's is excellent. I actually just bought one for a friend upstairs (uni hall) and it's running quite happily at 160MHz. I've seen them reviewed and tested to 175MHz; about the same as the 75GXPs are capable of. The 60GXP's are pretty ****e though. Mine limits me to about 155MHz.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    Athlon XP@2000+
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB@152Mhz
    Radeon 8500LE@310/620MHz
    60GXP 60GB
    75GXP 30GB
    SBLive! 5.1
    PlexWriter 10/10/40A
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    LG Flatron 795FT+
    WinXP
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Still not 200MHz though, is it wrathchild_67?
    Nope, but 190@CAS2 4-way interleaving disabled is pretty damn close in terms of performance. There's no way I'd get to CAS2 at 200. Maybe if I did a vmem mod...

    I've noticed that 4-way interleaving and even running at CAS2 don't offer much more throughput at these fsb's with old Athlons. Now that XP 1700's are so cheap, I may just get one and keep that until Hammer is released.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8,466
    Yeah, it is damn impressive. Good work!

    I've also noticed that those two options don't yield much performance increase with DDR. Probably because latency is less of an issue with the higher mem clock. Just look at *ambus.

    MuFu.

    ------------------
    Athlon XP@2000+
    Cooler Master HHC-001@7V
    KG7-R
    Crucial 512MB@152Mhz
    Radeon 8500LE@310/620MHz
    60GXP 60GB
    75GXP 30GB
    SBLive! 5.1
    PlexWriter 10/10/40A
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    LG Flatron 795FT+
    WinXP

    [This message has been edited by Mutha Funker (edited 03-05-2002).]
    Opteron 144@2.8GHz (stock HS/fan), Asus A8N-SLI SE (passive NB), 1.5GB RAM (2:3:2:5, 2T), WD Raptor 740GD 74GB, Maxtor DM10 300GB, Asus EN7600GT SILENT@???, M-Audio Revo 7.1, Nebula DigiTV, Dell 2005FPW, Enermax 431W Active.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    wrathchild_67----Yea, I am sure it is my 120gxp. I was running with two 60gxp's upto 149fsb successfully. I also thought it was weird that it was stuck at 145 so I threw my other 60gxp back in which still had WinXP on it and everything was fine.

    I might look into that specific controller you mentioned. I would love to push this KR7 and Kingmax as high as it can go.

    Any idea's how high 3Com 3c905c-txm cards or Linksys Nic's can handle? Those are the two cards I have sitting around. On the other hand I am sure it wouldn't be that hard to come up with a cheap realtek somewhere.

    By the way very impressive overclock. Thanks for the advice.

    ------------------
    KR7A-Raid
    T-Bird 1.4@ 11X149=1643mhz
    256mb Crucial DDR
    MSI Geforce 3
    235/555
    Alpha Pal 8045
    Enermax 431watt
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    Hey MuFu, I'm inching closer and closer to 200MHz:







    I think this is as far as I can get with what I have... Damn I really wish I had an unlocked XP!


    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.

    [This message has been edited by wrathchild_67 (edited 03-06-2002).]
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •