O/C'ed Computers?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: O/C'ed Computers?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brewster, WA USA
    Posts
    357

    O/C'ed Computers?

    I am often asked by my friends, just what is it you do with all that power in that computer of yours. I guess I am possing the same question to all of you. My usual answer is, "I plan on launching the next Space Shuttle."

    ------------------
    "Close to the edge, down by the River"
    "Nothing really maters and so what if it does"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    I like playing games at high res and I also render 3D animations.


    But for 90% of the time I use my computer, I could definitely be just fine with a third of the horsepower I use.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Brewster, WA USA
    Posts
    357
    I would have to say most of it goes to photo manipulation, other wise I have it because I can!!

    ------------------
    "Close to the edge, down by the River"
    "Nothing really maters and so what if it does"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Memphis Tennessee
    Posts
    4,930
    I launched Taskmanager and watched the Performance tab while doing normal stuff and was suprized at how little I stressed the machine.

    Seldom load more than 150 meg of ram and the cpu spikes are generally at 25%. Sure the cpu jumps to 100% while starting anything. . . .

    Maybe I should load some photos to manipulate. . . Otherwise I am using 4 browser windows, maybe 6 other applications going on. Bummed myself out. . . don't even feel like upgrading . . . .

    [This message has been edited by Leoslocks (edited 02-17-2002).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Lakewood, CO
    Posts
    3,604
    Genome@home (see sig).

    ------------------
    "What are you, my therapist!?! TAKE A WALK!!!

    Interested in more great conversation? Visit JJR512's Board

    We'd love to have you on our Genome@Home Team.
    Athlon 64 2800+
    1xWD 1200BB, 1xMaxtor 200GB SATA
    Asus K8N-E
    2x512MB Corsair XMS3200
    Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
    Radeon 9800 Pro, Dell 1801FP - WinTV Theater
    Sony CRX320E Combo Drive, Pioneer A04
    Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro - Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical
    Win XP Pro SP2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    8,071
    I hardly have a powerhouse, but compiling homemade quake maps usually takes a few minutes, so every little bit helps.

    That, and my Athlon helps keep my appartment toasty at night.

    ------------------
    "Going with the flow" may just take you to the sewer.
    Give what you cannot keep to gain what you cannot lose.

  7. #7
    Justintime Guest
    gaming, ripping DVDs and compressing, ripping cds to Mp3 etc, bit of photoshop and paintshop pro.

    ------------------
    Jr

    BINK'S HWC MEMBER PHOTO GALLERY

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    The benefits from overclocking for me is that my games run better and I can convert stuff faster. The reason I overclocked is because it is something for (almost) nothing

    ------------------
    Gin - The driver's choice

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Ames, IA, USA
    Posts
    159
    United Devices cancer research, DivX encoding, MP3 Encoding. FTP server, DCC server. 3D/2D Games, duh. Statistic analysis software. Duh, there is a lot of things i do on my CPU, and i bet my power helps me.
    /me thinks the question about excess power and what to do with it is quite weird to even ask, especially in this forum
    http://members.ud.com/services/teams...D-37BA71581EEB

    ------------------
    Real_Men_Do_Not_Use_Space
    Athlon XP 1700+ AXDA1700DUT3C @2004 Mhz (166x12), TT Volcano 7+, Arctic Silver 3
    Abit KX7-333R
    512 Mushkin PC2700 + 512 OCSystem PC3200 CL2
    Sapphire Radeon 9800 non-pro flashed to pro 128MB 430/370
    Creative Audigy
    Western Digital Caviar 2000JB 200GB
    Western Digital Caviar 1000BB 100GB
    IBM Deathstar 60GXP 60GB
    3DMark 2003

    Real_Men_Do_Not_Use_Space

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA, USA
    Posts
    3,463
    divx compression is about the only thing I do that I need this much power for, and, frankly, I don't care that much about divx compression to blow $500 on an upgrade like I did. I certainly didn't need to overclock my Duron 650, or tear it out and throw in a watercooled Athlon 1G@1.3G Part of the reason was that mystical "1000MHz" that was just out of my reach with the Duron but just mean oh so much! (best POST with the Duron was at 978 but fastest stable was 850MHz)

    When people as what I do on my PC that I need a watercooled 1.3GHz, I tell them "I don't *need* to watercool my PC, I just love to tinker! I enjoy stuff like that "

    ------------------
    Asus A7V
    AXIA T-Bird 1GHz @ 1.30GHz
    Pentium IV 2.4C Northwood- M0 stepping @ 3.2GHz HT
    Air Cooled w/ SP-94 heatpipe & 92mm Vantex Tornado at 45C
    4x256=1gb dual-channel 2-3-3-6 OCZ PC800DRAM @ 890MHz 3-4-4-8
    MSI Neo2-PLS w/I865PE & SATA @ 4x267=1068MHz
    BFG GeForceFX 5900@485/967MHz = 6284 3DMark2003s; dual-head 21" CRT & 19" LCD

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Mostly 3D games. I don't overclock my AthlonXP because I get no performance gain because of my GeForce2 GTS (overclocked to 210/410). My Duron 600 on the other hand got a hugh jump in perfromance that was noticable in just about any application. I went from 6x100 to 8x112 (896Mhz) and tweeked it to the max (even have the memory running 149Mhz cas2, t1...).

    I have overclocked my AthlonXP to 1.5 and 1.53Ghz just fine, but the extra heat for no performance was not worth it. I just overclock to run some benchmarks every now and then.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •