P4 2.2GHz OC'ed to 3.6GHz
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: P4 2.2GHz OC'ed to 3.6GHz

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    852

    P4 2.2GHz OC'ed to 3.6GHz

    Check THIS out!

    Sorry for language, but there's a english summary at the end of the page.

    No, it's not mine P4...

    ------------------
    Unreal Tournament
    The Swedish-Pain-Patrol
    [S2P]Mbeach
    ugh!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Pa USA
    Posts
    155
    Yeah, and you could just go over to this thread in the CPU forum where every one arguing happily obout it. http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/012260.html


    ------------------
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    They actually have made it to 3.7Ghz, but I put little into this. they use heavily modified systems and liquid nitrogen on hand picked CPUs to get the system stable enough to run CPUID. That is about it. They did the same thing to the old P4 core and made it to 2.8Ghz or more and even had an Athlon 1.4Ghz (thunderbird core) running at 2.4+Ghz. In my opinion, Intel might not make it to the 3Ghz target by the end of the year like they wanted too.

    Most CPUs will top out at about 30% below the extreme cooling level. That means the currant core will likely do about 2.6Ghz. They will likely get new steppings out that might make it to 2.8Ghz, but I think they will fail to get 3Ghz. The AthlonXP can make it as high as 2.2Ghz with super cooling, but will likely not see it past 1.67Ghz.

    The other thing to note is they will not switch to .09 micron until about 2-3Q 2003. AMD has a few oppertunities here. They will hit a minimum of 2.07Ghz at .13 micron and if they do release the Barton core with SOI at .13 micron they will likely hit 2.4 to 2.5Ghz. IBM says 40% boost, but 20% is more likely. That would give them a model 3200-3400. They might not release the Barton core though if things are looking good for the ClawHammer (which is supposed to be out about the end of the year at model 3400).

    Now a system that is 100% stable and opperable at a good speed is better. Tom's did get a hand picked P4 that did do 3Ghz with air cooling (Alpha 8045), but he said the majority need water cooling to reach this level. Most review sites managed 2.6-2.7Ghz with standard air cooling. This IS a nice overclock, but nothing super stellar.

    The other thing I thaught was interesting is that to get the overclcoks at Tom's required the use of a DDR board. The RDRAM could not take the higher bus speeds without crippling the memory to 3/4 speed (PC600). So even though he reached 3Ghz, it was with lower score than you could normally get. Now when Intel oficially launches the 533Mhz bus, RDRAM PC1066 might be more avaluable. then you could get an i850 board up to 533Mhz bus and overclock you P4 2.0A to 2.67Ghz by bumping the voltage and switching to 533Mhz bus. That would be a nice overclock.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Justintime Guest
    Gone are the days when a 50MHz Oc was impressive

    ------------------
    Jr
    Bink's HWC gallery http://hwcmembersgallery.cjb.net/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    lol

    I remember my first overclock: P2 266-> (drumroll please)


    300mhz! 33mhz for FREE!

    Woot!

    What was bad about that was that it wasn't even perfectly stable at 300! I suspect the mobo may have had a part in that, but still...



    ------------------
    what?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Thats nothing. My first overclock was 450Mhz to 448Mhz. I couldn't make it to 500Mhz with my K6-2 450, so I upped the bus speed to 112Mhz and lowered the multiplier to 4x. I had a -2Mhz "overclock".

    Then I overclocked my Voodoo3 2000 from 143 to 166Mhz. Wow! 23Mhz!!

    Of coarse my next overclock was my Duron 600Mhz at 900Mhz (actually I ran it at 950Mhz for about a month). Its been at 900Mhz for a long time. Great deal. the Duron was only avaluable at 600, 650, and 700Mhz when I got it.

    My AthlonXP 1600 goes from 1.4Ghz to 1.53Ghz. I think I took a step back here somehow. I also run a GeForce2 GTS from 200/333 to 210/410. Overclocking is great.

    I might have the radiator finished this week for my experiment in water cooling (all home built). I will just need to get a pump after that. So far it looks like I have spent $17. The pump will likelycost about $60. I also need a clap for the waterblock, but I will build that out of scap. Maybe then I can get to 1.6Ghz at 152Mhz bus or be forced to unlock it. The CPU should be able to handle it since it does 1.53Ghz at stock voltage and 1.4Ghz at 1.65v. My Epox only lets me go +/- .1v. Of coarse if I fill in the bridges for voltage, I can then goto 1.95v, but I definately want my water cooling for that (and likely have to re-do the waterblock in copper instead of aluminum). I will not do peltier cooling though.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Pa USA
    Posts
    155
    I bet if i could get my Amd into space it'd overclock to 3gig. But i cant find a mouse and keyboard cord long enough.

    ------------------
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •