The importance of
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: The importance of

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    The Tundra Plains
    Posts
    234

    The importance of

    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRr to all


    How will it affect anything if I get a 230W case instead of a 250watt case/powerunit combo. Better yet .. what is the advantage of a 300watt case/powerunit combo?
    keep howlin' at the moon

    P4 2.6C/ Gigabyte GA-8KNXP/ 512MB DDR400 Kingston PC3200 CL3/ 2 x Maxtor 60GB 7,200 ATA133/ ATi Radeon 8500 64MB Retail/ LG CD-R 24x-10x-40x / LG CD ROM 52x/ Chieftec Case + window/ Enermax 431 watt PSU/ Viewsonic G790 19"/ Windows 98 SE
    3DMark 2001 score is 300 points worse than with my Athlon XP1700+ (9054 vs.9354 @290/290MHz + FSB 142MHz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,390
    I guess its just that you can power more things therefore have more things in ur computer, and your computer will run reliably coz it ll always have enough power at its disposal. Also if you are a OC'er then it could advantge u as well.
    I wouldnt know though as I m running everything in my sig. plus a CD-RW on a generic 230watt PSU.
    I dont know... I just dont.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,443
    If you have an AMD system over 1GHz, you should have at least 300 watts. If you don't have enough power, you will have many problems, mostly instability where the system will crash when under heavy load, or just booting up.

    The power supply to get is dependent on your system. How fast the CPU is, how many cards and drives you plan to have... So what will your system contain?
    Turbo Gamer 21" Black Aluminum Case w/ 350watt Enermax Power Supply.
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ 1.83GHz @ 2.09GHz 1.65v (167*12.5)
    ATi Radeon 8500LE 128MB DDR
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP KT400 w/sound+LAN+Firewire+RAID
    2 x Samsung DDR SDRAM 256MB PC2700
    Seagate Barracuda IV 80GB 7200rpm ATA-100
    LiteOn Black CDWriter 42x24x42
    LiteOn Black DVD-rom 16x
    Panasonic Black 1.44MB 3.5"
    Windows XP Professional
    Creative Inspire 5200 5.1 Black Speakers
    80mm LED Case Fans x 5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Morelia, Mexico
    Posts
    1,717
    This is something that i've been asking myself without a logical explanation.

    If we have a computer that consumes let's say....150W, and we plug a 300W psu and then a 200W, does a 300W consumes more electricity than a 200W??


    [This message has been edited by Luis G (edited 01-13-2002).]
    If you were in a world full of crazy people, who would be the crazy person?
    OTCentral

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,990
    This is a good question. I think that standard switching power supplies that are used in computers will only consume as much power as need to drive the equipment. Mathematically this would be the power supplied divided by the efficiency of the PSU. The reason for this is that switching PSUs do not have any capacitive storage built into them.

    In contrast, I have a 250W per channel amp for the subwoofers in my home stereo and this thing has enormous capacitors. When I turn the power switch off it takes more than two minutes to fully discharge.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Guantanamo Bay,Cuba
    Posts
    51
    Luis G the 300w and 200w rated psu's will use roughly the same electricity,they've different ratings ie: 300w can supply more power than 230w psu

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Morelia, Mexico
    Posts
    1,717
    THX
    If you were in a world full of crazy people, who would be the crazy person?
    OTCentral

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •