New System, Random crashes, please help :/
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: New System, Random crashes, please help :/

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47

    New System, Random crashes, please help :/

    Hey guys, just got the system hooked up, and I keep locking up, crashing and a few times I have got a blue screen giving me a Physical Memory dump error. I would appreciate any suggestions. Only thing I know to do is reformat and start over again.

    I just hooked up
    EPOX EP-8KHA+
    AMD 1700+
    KINGMAX DDR333 PC-2700 256MB
    Deskstar 60GXP
    SK-6
    Audigy Xgamer
    16X DVD-ROM

    Existing system included:
    My case from 3dcool.com
    GF 2 GTS 32mb
    Plextor 8/4/32
    Linksys NIC
    along with an external modem

    tru

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    Forgot to mention my OS: win2k pro

    -tru

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Pa USA
    Posts
    155
    Sounds like a sweet setup. Let me know how that ram overclocks i'm thinking of getting some.

    Is that a brand new HD? and is the system overclocked?
    If your transfering the drive from another system they can give all kinds of errors but i never saw that one.
    I'd likely say if it's not overclocked and not a new hard drive you'll need to reinstall.
    I feel for ya, win2k is almost as much of a pain in the *** to install as a 100% Red Hat install.

    ------------------
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    BFE, SC, USA
    Posts
    1,083
    Originally posted by 1moreMHZ:
    win2k is almost as much of a pain in the *** to install as a 100% Red Hat install.
    Win2K is a piece of cake. It installs itself.

    Sounds like a hardware problem. Are you using failsafe settings in the bios? I might suspect the ram. You could use DOCMEM to test the ram.



    ------------------
    "Millions walk the Earth unseen."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    yes the HD was fresh, I checked the bios and turned the onboard sound from auto to disable. I have not twinked anything in my bios other than that, my cpu is idling at 44c and 22c in case, I assume a bit hotter while im stressing it, not sure if that is a concern. Also where do i get this DOCMEM program?

    -tru

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    Just got done running DOCMEM, ran 58 loops and pasted all of them, any other suggestions? :/


    -tru

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    290
    What kinda PSU are u using? Are you overclocking at all?

    ------------------
    Did you know that 79% of WOMEN prefer MEN with MORE RAM? The other 21% of women say they prefer men with better MEMORY.
    Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 3800+ (2.4Ghz/1.45V) Soltek SL-K8TPro-939 / Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro Mushkin Black L2 V2 TCCD 512MBx2 @ 440Mhz (2-3-3-6)
    ATI X850 Pro (572/1226) / Zalman VF700-Cu
    40GB WD 7200rpm 2mb / 300GB Seagate 7200rpm 8mb Creative Audigy 2 ZS / Logitech Z-5500 Westinghouse LVM-37W1 37" 1080p LCD

    Research show that 71% of women would like men who have better MEMORY, the other 29% say they prefere men with more RAM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Pa USA
    Posts
    155
    Win2K is a piece of cake. It installs itself.
    Not the last time I installed it. but i've never had the retail version. it may be alittle different. I got the Win2k Beta release's of pro and personal and it sucked to install. Took no less than 2hrs to install. and you had to make 4 boot disks.



    ------------------
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you
    Noooooooooo
    There all gonna laugh at you

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    PSU is 3dcool.com I am not sure who makes their PSU. I am not OCing yet, was going to wait til i get the system stable This is a link to the PSU i have, I am really not sure what manufacture they use : http://www.3dcool.com/?module=product&sku=300WattATX

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Try loading your bios defaults and go from there. With my system for some reason I get major instability when I play with all my memory timmings. I can crank everything except the system performance option when I raise the fsb. I think this option is the Tas to Ras settings just jammed together in one setting. All I know is the setting says: Normal, Fast, Faster, and Fastest, but the only diference I get is stability. At Normal or Fastest memory bandwidth is almost unchanged. But at fastest I have a unstable system ans at normal its a rock.. Also had some stablity probs untill I ditched the 300w PSU and got a new enermax 450w. Just my $0.02.. Give it a shot...

    ------------------
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    Xp-1600@1.677mhz@1.85v
    Soltek 75DRV2/OCZ Goliath
    256mb OCZ 2700 DDR
    Maxtor ATA100 7200rpm
    RadeonVE 32mbDDR-210/215
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    I am starting to think it might have to do with my onboard sound and audigy soundcard, so going to try and reformat, I was also going to try adn update my bios, but epox apparnetly doesnt have a site that is up.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Also change some of the IRQ settings in the BIOS. My Epox 8KHAS+ set my Geforce2 GTS, Audigy, and USB to the same IRQ. It worked, but could have been an issue. I moved them around anyways (and disabled the unused COM ports to free up two more IRQs).

    Blue Sceens can be from memory problems. Try setting back the memory timings a bit.

    It also could be a power supply.

    You have an SK-6, but what are your temps. It might now be seated correctly. Did you install the latest VIA chipset, nVidia, and Audigy drivers. Have you tried underclocking it.

    Did you disable the onboard sound and game port? Did you flash the BIOS to the latest (11-2-01)?

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    44c=cpu
    22c=case

    this is idling

    I have updated all drivers except bios, for some reason epox website has been down

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    That sounds a bit high for your CPU temp. With the case temp of 22'C (which is pretty good), you should be running under 40'C under full load.

    I have an old FOP32-1 that I spread the fins out on to fit a low RPM 80mm fan. This ia all aluminum and whisper quiet and ?I run about 42'C at 1.4Ghz and 45'C at 1.5Ghz. I also use Arctic Silver II for thermal grease between the heatsink and CPU.

    It could be the heatsink is installed incorrectly. This could cause it to get hot spots on the CPU if the heatsink is not 100% flat on the CPU. This will cause high temps and could cause your problems.

    You could try upping the voltage on the CPU too. This is normally done when overclocking, but I have had to do this on a non-overclocked AMD K6-2 450 to get it 100% stable.

    ------------------
    AthlonXP 1600+ @1.5Ghz
    FOP32-1 Mod w/80mm (30db)
    Epox 8KHA+ KT266A
    256MB Crucial DDR266
    GeForce2 GTS (210/410)
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    Antec SX-630 Case (mod'd)
    TTGI TT-350-SS 370w PS
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Posts
    47
    Probably right about incorrectly installing my heatsink, the SK-6 comes with a Gelvet and a thermal pad, they are very vague on this part of the installation, any suggestions would be appreciated. I think I will also order some artic silver, looks like a nice product http://www.thermalright.com/installation.htm

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •