Corsair 256MB PC-150 Cas2... Is this crap ???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Corsair 256MB PC-150 Cas2... Is this crap ???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736

    Corsair 256MB PC-150 Cas2... Is this crap ???

    Does anyone actually have this RAM & is it any good for OC'ing ?



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.,Xp
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Lakewood, CO
    Posts
    3,604
    I don't have any, but I've heard it referred to as the best for OCing.

    ------------------
    "What are you, my therapist!?! TAKE A WALK!!!

    Interested in more great conversation? Visit JJR512's Board

    We'd love to have you on our Genome@Home Team.
    Athlon 64 2800+
    1xWD 1200BB, 1xMaxtor 200GB SATA
    Asus K8N-E
    2x512MB Corsair XMS3200
    Klipsch Pro Media 2.1
    Radeon 9800 Pro, Dell 1801FP - WinTV Theater
    Sony CRX320E Combo Drive, Pioneer A04
    Microsoft Natural Keyboard Pro - Microsoft IntelliMouse Optical
    Win XP Pro SP2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    I have that stick! It's awesome I was able to hit 157MHz FSB and CAS2 on my BE6-II and I think it was my AGP holding me back (only 2/3 divider and like 110MHz AGP bus). Haven't tried for how high I can take my K7T Turbo, but that should let me go higher, 1/2 AGP divider. This stuff is fast! I would say this is the best and fastest memory solution you can get without spending the extra price premium. I got mine for $25 shipped on eBay a few months ago.

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ voltage mod (2,15v)
    deal fell through...lookin for yet ANOTHER chip
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL2
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  4. #4
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    Originally posted by DoctorFoxx:
    Does anyone actually have this RAM & is it any good for OC'ing ?



    My personal opinion is that it is crappy I could only hit 148MHz cas2 or cas3. It would not go higher and it was supposed to be rated at cas2 150MHz.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    I see. Yeah if MUSHKIN was rated cas2 @ 150 MHz I can trust it to do so.

    If I bought this CORSAIR and it wouldnt hit it's rating I'd be dissapointed. Actually...I usually expect MUSHKIN to exceed it's rating.

    ...Anyways...alot of people have told me this is good ram, guess all I can do is try it.



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.,Xp
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  6. #6
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    Originally posted by DoctorFoxx:
    I see. Yeah if MUSHKIN was rated cas2 @ 150 MHz I can trust it to do so.

    If I bought this CORSAIR and it wouldnt hit it's rating I'd be dissapointed. Actually...I usually expect MUSHKIN to exceed it's rating.

    ...Anyways...alot of people have told me this is good ram, guess all I can do is try it.



    Yeah sure I think it has a 50% success ratio about!


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    That bad eh?

    Here's the deal:

    My friend is BORROWING my MUSHY Rev.2 which I want back. Since he wont buck up for some MUSH, I need to get him some RAM that we can both live with so he'll stop pestering me and I get my MUSH back !

    So that's why I was heavily considering it, it's not for me and I think he's only at 143 MHz FSB anyways...



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.,Xp
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  8. #8
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    Originally posted by DoctorFoxx:
    That bad eh?

    Here's the deal:

    My friend is BORROWING my MUSHY Rev.2 which I want back. Since he wont buck up for some MUSH, I need to get him some RAM that we can both live with so he'll stop pestering me and I get my MUSH back !

    So that's why I was heavily considering it, it's not for me and I think he's only at 143 MHz FSB anyways...




    If you are only at 143fsb then might as well get some crucial cas2 ram. I know the cas3 stuff I had would do like 140fsb cas2 and this cas2 stuff should do better I would think. I could hit 167MHz cas3 with the micron PC133 cas3 ram. The corsair ram is expensive and was way overpriced for its performence.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by ol' man:

    The corsair ram is expensive and was way overpriced for its performence.
    $25 shipped off eBay PC150 CAS2 256mb over 2 months ago

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ voltage mod (2,15v)
    deal fell through...lookin for yet ANOTHER chip
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL2
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    Originally posted by ol' man:
    I could hit 167MHz cas3 with the micron PC133 cas3 ram. The corsair ram is expensive and was way overpriced for its performence.

    I consider Micron Cas3 Pc-133 low-end crap and can't figure out for the life of me how you can get 167MHz out of it.




    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.,Xp
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    1,776
    Why not Kingmax PC150? That stuff will often do CAS2 at 150 also.

    I've currently got two sticks of Infineon-chip PC133 CAS2 which are both doing 150 CAS2. It's top stuff.

    ------------------
    The Darkside: OCN Hellspawn - having our way with your daughter's genes
    .

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by a13antichrist:
    Why not Kingmax PC150? That stuff will often do CAS2 at 150 also.

    I've currently got two sticks of Infineon-chip PC133 CAS2 which are both doing 150 CAS2. It's top stuff.

    Kingmax and Corsair use the same chips for their PC150...or was taht Kingston...

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ voltage mod (2,15v)
    deal fell through...lookin for yet ANOTHER chip
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL2
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


  13. #13
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    Originally posted by DoctorFoxx:

    I consider Micron Cas3 Pc-133 low-end crap and can't figure out for the life of me how you can get 167MHz out of it.





    Yeah you would wouldn't ya. You can beleive it or not I don't give a shi#. I had two sticks of this stuff and they both did 140fsb cas2 and 167fsb cas3. Buy the Corsair. Some do well and some don't. You a gambling man

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    1,776
    Originally posted by DuronClocker:
    Kingmax and Corsair use the same chips for their PC150...or was taht Kingston...

    Almost definitely Kingston as Kingmax is that TinyBGA stuff..

    ------------------
    The Darkside: OCN Hellspawn - having our way with your daughter's genes
    .

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Bloomingdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    5,206
    Originally posted by a13antichrist:
    Almost definitely Kingston as Kingmax is that TinyBGA stuff..

    Yeah you're right...forgot bout taht stuff

    ------------------
    MSI K7T Turbo-R w/ voltage mod (2,15v)
    deal fell through...lookin for yet ANOTHER chip
    256MB Corsair PC150 CL2
    12x DVD, 12x CDRW
    Water-cooled 118w Peltier
    Intel Pentium 4 2.53B C1 @2.85GHz (stock volts), watercooled @ 27*C load
    MSI 865PE Neo2-P (i865PE + ICH5), 1GB PC3200 DDR RAM
    ATi Radeon X700Pro 256MB AGP8x
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB SATA, Maxtor DiamondMax 9 Plus 80GB
    NEC DVD-RW (ND-3520A), Lite-On 52/32/52x CD-RW (LTR-52327S)
    Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2

    My Heatware | My Beerology | My eBay rating


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •