Thunderbird 1400 Owners... Lowest Voltage Possible™
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Thunderbird 1400 Owners... Lowest Voltage Possible™

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269

    Thunderbird 1400 Owners... Lowest Voltage Possible™

    What the lowest voltage you can run your Thunderbird's at regardless of clock speed. I have a Swiftech with an 80MM Delta on but am going to change it with a low RPM, low CFM fan and want to keep heat at an absolute minimum.

    With the Swiftech and Delta, I can run 1600+ MHz with the processor at 39şC at idle. Since I really can't tell a difference between 1600 and 1000, I'd now like to take my processor down a notch.

    I tried lowering it to 1.5 Volts lastnight but had problems getting it started again.

    Thanks for all of your insight.

    ------------------
    "It Is Now Safe To Turn Off Your Computer"
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    1,771
    Toolbox,

    Are you trying to get your noise down? Is that why you want to lower your wattage down as low as possible so you can turn down your fan voltage? Have you ever thought about a water cooling setup? They are typically much quieter.

    ------------------
    Mike
    Mechanical Engineer
    Dell Computer Corporation
    Storage Systems Group
    Mike
    Mechanical Engineer
    Dell Computer Corporation
    Server Development

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,165
    In this thread, Hoyle mentions that he's running his @ 1200mhz at 1.425
    http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/011846.html


    ------------------
    A7V + 1.4ghz AYHJA Y @1540mhz,Swiftech MC462a, 512mb (generic) pc133 @146mhz(2-2-2), IBM 75GXP, ASUS Geforce2 GTS, SB-Live5.1,12x10x32 Plexwriter,16x40x Pioneer DVD, NIC, Cable, Win98SE
    now that my specs are respectable, I might as well list them again:

    2500+ Barton @ 2346mhz, Swiftech MC462a/80mm Sanyo Denki fan
    Abit NF7-S v 2.0
    2x256 Ocz PC3500 DDR
    128 mb ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
    Lian-Li PC-68 case
    Enermax 431 watt PS
    blah blah blah
    blah blah blah

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,979
    I'll have a look after, I'm watercooled mind, thought I'd get higher today as pc been off all day and water temp was 15C, still no higher tho, may still change the voltage mod- 2.05V just now, I'll have a look probly tomorrow and see how low I can get on the voltage

    ------------------
    Next time you wave, use all your fingers.

    CALV

    This sig In memory of my kid sister, Mandy. Died 14-8-02 aged 30.
    Murdered for nothing at all by Louise Berry

    CALV

  5. #5
    Justintime Guest
    i can do 1.4@ 1.41V stable, 1800@1.85V
    course shes a special chippie
    min i done was 850@1.0V

    ------------------
    Jr

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    Justintime, that's insane!! Wish I had one of your special chippies...

    ------------------
    Tbird 1GHz
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 55cfm 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133 SDRAM
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    850 at 1.0v. Man you barely need a heatsink on that thing. Must have run pretty cool. I remember my Duron 600 at 1.4v ran at 24'C idle and 26'C under full load. That was with a FOP32-1 using the thermal pad. It needed 1.35 at 500Mhz hich ran at 23'C idle and 24'C load.

    Temps went up quick as I hit 750 at 1.5 and 800 at 1.6v. Then it did 850 at 1.65 and 900 at 1.7. I know it does 950 at 1.75v but have not taken it higher. I've run it at 900Mhz for a very long time. Now at 8x112 for 896Mhz). I am looking at getting an AthlonXP1600 and would love to be able to drop the voltage a bit to keep it cooler.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,979
    aint done the test yet- been busy, Justin HOW did u get 1800??? whats "special" about this chip and why dont I have one


    ------------------
    Next time you wave, use all your fingers.

    CALV

    This sig In memory of my kid sister, Mandy. Died 14-8-02 aged 30.
    Murdered for nothing at all by Louise Berry

    CALV

  9. #9
    Justintime Guest
    man! i bin through this like a million times was tested off a batch of many, for the purpose of overclocking, lol. da bastard ran 29C full load with a 4000rpm fan hehe and a coolermaster sink. at 1.4Ghz its tops out at 35C, currently hits close to 52C full load with a CAK 38 and 1.85V@1800Mhz, had it up to 1866 or so when it was really cold, but sandra crashed at around 23 benches and P95 crashed out in a few secs lol

    ------------------
    Jr

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I'm be happy if the 1600 reaches 1.6Ghz. My cooler is home made, but I'm hoping on some good temps.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Okay, I now have a pretty good idea about what voltage I can run my chip at... thanks for all the input. I'm going to try 1000 MHz at 1.40 Volts... if it's stable, I can stay there when doing everyday tasks.

    Thanks again
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    Originally posted by Todd a:
    I'm be happy if the 1600 reaches 1.6Ghz. My cooler is home made, but I'm hoping on some good temps.

    Could you elaborate on your homemade cooler? Pretty please??

    ------------------
    Tbird XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    I Love SucksBox
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I took a GlobalWin FOP32-1 and removed the thermal pad. I lapped the base to a nice shine (it was supprizingly flat). I spread the fines out (bending gently with a screwdriver). I added some adhesive felt along the outside edge to silence vibrations. I cut a small piece out the the outside fins to make room for the clip. I then mounted a Top Motor (not the best but it should work fine) 80mm, 34cfm, 30db fan on top with sip ties. I also got some Arctic SilverII to go with it all.

    I have not tested it on a CPU, but I have plugged it in. The airflow coming out of this thing is about 4 times that of a stock FOP32-1. The thing actually felt cold in my hand. I think it will work very nicely and still run very quiet.

    This is a link to one of my photo pages. The top two are the important ones. The others are a modded Voodoo3 2000 with ram sinks a 50mm fan on the front and a 486 heatsink/fan on the back. The last feware an old case that I am playing with. I moved the PS outside on the back and added a window on the side with a blow hole and drastically improved the airflow for the front fan, cuting out the grill (or the small cluster on tiny holes that was supposed to be a grill) and cutting out the bottom of the front bezzel.
    http://www.geocities.com/todd_e_abbo...opagerock.html

    A review just hit for a cooler using the same idea (I made mine months ago and this one is not avaluable yet ). Here is the link to the article (all aluminum heatsink round-up) and a picture of the heatsink itself (which they liked).
    http://www.ipkonfig.com/Reviews/Heat...on/index.shtml





    I personnally like mine better. The FOP32-1 has a thicker base and more fins and I removed less material around the clip, plus I made it!

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Sorry about the size of the pictures. They were smaller in the article. And keeping with the thread, I have had a Duron 600Mhz overclocked to 900Mhz for a long time. I used 1.725v to keep it stable. Well I desided to test my Duron and started dropping the voltage. I made it 100% stable to 1.625v. Not to bad for an overclocked Duron. I think this is mostly do to my new (3 month old) power supply. I had a genaric 250w and burned it out. Then I dropped in an HEC 250w (supposadly AMD approved, but I could not find it on AMD's lists). Well I got a new case (Antex SX630 which rocks) and upgraded the PS to a TTGI TT-350SS 370w power supply. This thing is rated for the a?thlon1.4 and AthlonXP 1900+ and rocks. Now I can mysteriously drop my voltage .10v. I tried to drop it to 1.70 with the HEC about 6 months ago when I first got it. Just a .025v drop caused instability.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •