XP 1700+ w/ Asus A7V133 Rev 1.04
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: XP 1700+ w/ Asus A7V133 Rev 1.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924

    XP 1700+ w/ Asus A7V133 Rev 1.04

    Hi there,

    I installed my new XP 1700 CPU onto an Asus A7V133, the same motherboard that ran my old 1GHz Tbird.

    Sources on the Internet, including TomsHardware, state that the XP CPUs will only work on revision 1.05 of the A7V133. Well, if that's the case, then my revision 1.04 board is something special

    As I thought, the revision does not matter, as long as you have the 1.07 BIOS recently release by Asus.

    My current temps are (With Arctic Silver II): 42C at normal load (IE, ICQ, Sandra, ZoneAlarm) with voltage set at 1.73.

    I am planning on lowering the voltage to 1.7 at least, which should help keep the temperatures even cooler.

    CPU Burn-in results with Sandra x20: 45C

    Those are decent temps I guess. I'll try lowering the voltage first, but for now I'm off to play some games!

    So for those of you with rev1.04 of this board, yes, you can safely expand into the XP line of CPUs.

    ------------------
    Tbird 1GHz
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 55cfm 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133 SDRAM
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    265
    What does it say on bootup, XP 1700 or MP 1.47 Ghz? They seem to work on the Abit KT7A (RAID) rev. 1.0 - 1.2 mobos too!

    ------------------
    Abit KT7A-R Bios 4A
    AMD T-Bird 1.2@1.4
    Water Cooled
    256 Mb Crucial Cas2
    IBM 30 Gb 7200 RPM, ATA100
    Asus V-7700 GeForce 2 GTS 32 Mb (215/360) Det. 22.50 DX8
    Abit AN7 | XP-M 2400+ | 1024 Mb Corsair XMS-3200 | Radeon 9800 Pro |

    3DMark01=22925 | 3DMark03=7262

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    It says 1700. All motherboards that support XPs require the 'performance' to be displayed, not GHz.

    If I overclock to 1.53GHz, it will display 1800, and at or above 1.6GHz 1900 and so on.

    ------------------
    Tbird 1GHz
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 55cfm 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133 SDRAM
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    265
    Ok, the KT7A mobos rev 1.0 - 1.2 display the XP CPU´s as MP with the core speed not PR speed. That´s why I asked...



    ------------------
    Abit KT7A-R Bios 4A
    AMD T-Bird 1.2@1.4
    Water Cooled
    256 Mb Crucial Cas2
    IBM 30 Gb 7200 RPM, ATA100
    Asus V-7700 GeForce 2 GTS 32 Mb (215/360) Det. 22.50 DX8
    Abit AN7 | XP-M 2400+ | 1024 Mb Corsair XMS-3200 | Radeon 9800 Pro |

    3DMark01=22925 | 3DMark03=7262

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    Really? That's the first I've heard. I guess those models won't be officially supported by AMD. The company stated for motherboards to be recommended by AMD, they must display the performance rating, not the avtually MHz.

    Hey, if it works, it works

    PS...I'm currently running at 1.7V and the temps had fallen by one degree C to 41C.

    ------------------
    Tbird XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 55cfm 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133 SDRAM
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    To "officially" support the AthlonXP, AMD is requiring the use of the model number and total L1+L2 cache listed. They also do not want to see the actual Mhz listed. Some boards are not 100% up to spec on all this, so are not listed as "supported". Also, just because it runs does not mean everything is running perfect. SSE might not be supported and other things like that.

    I have an Abit KT7 so I'm screwed. If I could get my BIOS to flash (the FlashMenu program fails every time I try, but it did work the first time) then I could run the AthlonXP 1600+ I plan on getting at 10.5x112Mhz (1.18Ghz). I think I'm going to get a new motherboard and DDR memory too. I'm probably going to give up on Abit and Asus releasing their KT266A board and get an Epox (probably much cheaper anyways).

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    MIAMI, FL, USA
    Posts
    258
    Post any problems you have with the a7v133 and Athlon XP if you run into any. Hope you don't because I am going that route really soon. Any overclocking yet? If yes, which method did you unlock your cpu? Please post the voltage and temp with oc.

    ------------------
    Asus A7V133
    Duron 700 @ 1020 @ 1.85 volts (136 * 7.5)
    WD 15 gig 7200 rpm
    RAID 0 2X WD 30 gig 7200 rpm
    Voodoo 3 @ 200
    256 MB SDRAM Mushkin PC 133
    Sblive value
    Creative DVD 12X
    Imation 12X8X40 CD-RW
    Creative Flash 56 PCI
    Iomega Zip 100
    Panamedia 15
    SRock 939Dual-SATA2 Rev 1.05 OCW Beta 2
    Opteron 165 Denmark at 300*9 @ 1.55 volt
    Memory clock 133
    NB - 800
    SB - 800
    1 GB Samsung DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 1T
    Nvidia FX5900 core 445 memory 891
    Dual fan Aerocool GT-1000 idle 34 C / full 52 C
    Antec 350 Watt X 2
    RAID 0 - 2 * 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM
    MAXTOR 7200 RPM 80 GIG
    SEAGATE 7200 RPM 80 GIG
    Plextor 708A
    Plextor 716A
    Win XP Pro SP2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    British.Columbia
    Posts
    924
    Everything works fine. I don't understand why people are reporting rev. 1.05 as the only supported A7V133.

    I have not tried overclocking yet, and don't think I will in the next few days. I won't be closing the L1's until the process is ironed out a bit, althought I may start playing around with the FSB.

    Currently I'm running at 1.7v, but hope start lowering the voltage soon.

    As for now, this CPU is fast enough

    ------------------
    Tbird XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    I Love SucksBox
    XP 1700
    WBK38 w/Sanyo Denko 92MM fan
    Asus A7V133 rev7
    256PC133
    Quantum 7200 ATA-100 20GB
    Fujitsu 5400 ATA-66 10GB
    SB Live MP3+ 5.1
    Creative Annihilator 2 GeForce2 GTS 32MB
    CTX 21"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •