Is 180 Watt PSU enough for a Duron 750 Mhz ?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is 180 Watt PSU enough for a Duron 750 Mhz ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061

    Is 180 Watt PSU enough for a Duron 750 Mhz ?

    I want to build a small and nice computer in the living room for playing mp3s only...
    Im wondering if this PSU is enough for a Micro-ATX ASUS A7V133-VM Socket A 200/266
    on-board graphic and sound.
    http://www.aopen.com/products/housing/h340d.htm
    This is the minidesktop Im wondering about !!!
    The desktop is suppose to be beneath the ONKYO Stereo Amplifier...

    The

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=206
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=204
    P2 350Mhz,192MB(DELL)
    P-100Mhz,48MB(COMPAQ)
    P-90Mhz,40MB(COMMODORE)
    486Dx2/66Mhz,36MB(COMPAQ)
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    I've seen alot of Celeron II's running with PS that low. Duron still put out more heat than the CII's so I would venture it will probably run but I would expect some wierd errors and crashes to surface.

    I say Give it a try.

    ------------------
    KilrB's PC
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Ok, hmmm whatabout these two babys...
    Intel Celeron II 800MHz 128Kb 100MHz bulk FCPGA
    along with
    MICROSTAR MS-6368 SOCKET 370, LAN, MICRO-ATX BULK
    ON-BOARD Graphic, Sound and LAN http://www.msi.com.tw/products/mainb...?model=MS-6368



    ------------------
    Duron 750@900Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=206
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=204
    P2 350Mhz,192MB(DELL)
    P-100Mhz,48MB(COMPAQ)
    P-90Mhz,40MB(COMMODORE)
    486Dx2/66Mhz,36MB(COMPAQ)
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Well of course Im going to paint that desktop case two a black one so it does melt together with the Stereo Amplifier, Video and TV etc.

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=206
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=204
    P2 350Mhz,192MB(DELL)
    P-100Mhz,48MB(COMPAQ)
    P-90Mhz,40MB(COMMODORE)
    486Dx2/66Mhz,36MB(COMPAQ)
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    407
    Neat unit. should fit well with a stereo system.

    180w seems a little low although it does say it will support P4. A well designed power supply might just make it.

    If you are going to only play MP3s do you really need an A7V133 or can you use cheaper board that might be less demanding on the PSU.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Originally posted by Apple8:


    If you are going to only play MP3s do you really need an A7V133 or can you use cheaper board that might be less demanding on the PSU.

    Ok, hmmm whatabout these two babys...
    Intel Celeron II 800MHz 128Kb 100MHz bulk FCPGA
    along with
    MICROSTAR MS-6368 SOCKET 370, LAN, MICRO-ATX BULK
    ON-BOARD Graphic, Sound and LAN http://www.msi.com.tw/products/mainb...?model=MS-6368

    Na, Im going for this, Intel Celeron II not AMD cus off the heat issue and Watt Issue.


    ------------------
    Duron 750@900Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=206
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=204
    P2 350Mhz,192MB(DELL)
    P-100Mhz,48MB(COMPAQ)
    P-90Mhz,40MB(COMMODORE)
    486Dx2/66Mhz,36MB(COMPAQ)
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    407
    Why not go for one of their recommended boards that you know will fit and is compatable to the PSU.
    http://www.aopen.com/products/housing/h300item.htm

    These boards seem to have what you will need.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Yeahh, U have a point there, but its getting cheaper with a MSI Ive mentioned cus its a LAN on-board.

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=206
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=204
    P2 350Mhz,192MB(DELL)
    P-100Mhz,48MB(COMPAQ)
    P-90Mhz,40MB(COMMODORE)
    486Dx2/66Mhz,36MB(COMPAQ)
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    407
    Yes I guess so, there is quite a bit of difference in price between the two boards.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Plymouth, England
    Posts
    1,399
    Most of the Micro ATX cases I've see only have 145W PSUs. It's not like you're going to be cramming much into that box anyway, especially with onboard sound and video. And besides, why would they even make a PSU that couldn't power the most basic integrated system? On second thoughts, don't answer that! But a Duron 800 should be more than happy in there.
    If you've got your money for nothing, who cares if the chicks are free!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Yeahhh but I go for Celeron II 800Mhz 100Mhz fsb for the option to use a AGP/PCI graphic card with TV-out...
    Duron is taken more power, but is faster also I know, but I dont need so much speed, Im really into coolnes and this baby is going to have a Papst 8412NGL 80x80x25 19.4cfm 1500rpm +/- 10% 12dBA 4pin
    on the PSU..
    And on the H/S Im thinking of the Papst 612FL 60x60x15 19cfm 2650rpm +/- 10% 16dBA 3pin
    So this baby can keep it quit when Im watching TV with my girlfriend

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=206
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz
    http://www.ocgurus.com/listings/quer...sp?PuterID=204
    P2 350Mhz,192MB(DELL)
    P-100Mhz,48MB(COMPAQ)
    P-90Mhz,40MB(COMMODORE)
    486Dx2/66Mhz,36MB(COMPAQ)
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •