Duron Maxed out at 900?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Duron Maxed out at 900?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361

    Duron Maxed out at 900?

    no matter what I do, I can't get more than 900Mhz out of my 750.
    it is maxed out, I upped the voltage and all, but it still freezes.
    with me setup, it boots at 750, then when it gets into windows, CPUCOOL auto loads and it clock the CPU to 900, just so I get a stable bootup. is there any problems with software FSB changes?

    also, I just flashed my KT7A to the 3r bios, and now when temps went from idle:31-38 max:41
    to idle:38 max:48

    anyone know why? I use BIOS, CPUCOOL and ViaHM to monitor my temps. and they all read the same reading.

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 233/460
    384 Meg PC-133 Cas 3
    Quantum 6.4g HDD :*(
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    767
    Don't know what your problem is but thought I would tell you about my Duron 750.

    It is running at 990(7x141) and is very stable and cool. Idles 5.5C above room temp(which is usually around 22C), goes up about one degree with lite surfing and word processing etc. and only gets 15C above room with Sandra Burn In (4.047 runs). Temps might not be accurate but it is definitly cool. Did the Reg 52 Mod which I think is great.

    Just thought I would let you know in case some of this might help (or inspire).

    Bill

    ------------------
    Duron 750@990 (7x148)
    Iwill KK266, PAL6035 ducted to 92mm Panaflow
    256MB Crucial PC133 Cas 2
    IBM 75GXP, 7,200 RPM, 20Gig HD
    Fong-Kai FK603 case & Antex 400W
    Matrox G-450 & Iiyama Pro 17
    AMD 9950 Quaad-core processor
    M2N-SLI Deluxe board
    4 GB OCZ Gold
    WD 500GB SATA2 HD
    Antec True Power 750
    Antec Sonta case
    BFG 8600GT 256MB video
    Samsung 940bx 19" LCD
    Samsung SH-S203B DVD
    On board NIC
    SB Audigy sound
    XP Pro 64 bit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    Have you tried flashing back to the WW BIOS?

    I have the same mobo, and with my Duron 800, I can hit 1GHz on the WW BIOS, but it maxes out a 933 with anything newer.

    My symptoms were that it booted into windows, but within 10secs, it would freeze on me.


    ------------------
    AMD Duron 800@1000 (266MHz FSB)
    Abit KT7a RAID
    DiamondMax Plus 60 - 40Gb 7200rpm
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    my KT7a came stock with the 3c bios
    and I'm running at 890 Mhz now for 100% stability
    at 900 it would dump me back into desktop occasionally.
    at 133 FSB, the CPU won't even boot

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 233/460
    384 Meg PC-133 Cas 3
    Quantum 6.4g HDD :*(
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    767
    If it will not boot at the 133 FSB you may need to modify the L7 and/or L6 bidges as per AnandTech article. http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1440&p=2

    Bill


    ------------------
    Duron 750@990 (7x148)
    Iwill KK266, PAL6035 ducted to 92mm Panaflow
    256MB Crucial PC133 Cas 2
    IBM 75GXP, 7,200 RPM, 20Gig HD
    Fong-Kai FK603 case & Antex 400W
    Matrox G-450 & Iiyama Pro 17
    AMD 9950 Quaad-core processor
    M2N-SLI Deluxe board
    4 GB OCZ Gold
    WD 500GB SATA2 HD
    Antec True Power 750
    Antec Sonta case
    BFG 8600GT 256MB video
    Samsung 940bx 19" LCD
    Samsung SH-S203B DVD
    On board NIC
    SB Audigy sound
    XP Pro 64 bit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    I can boot up at 124 FSB, but the CPU will not run stable (even tho the PCI is 34 Mhz)
    unless I can CONFIRM that the cpu will go higher than 900, I'm not going to bother unlocking the multiplier

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 233/460
    384 Meg PC-133 Cas 3
    Quantum 6.4g HDD :*(
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    actually, disregard that last post
    I just unlocked it with a pecil and running 6X150 = 900 MHZ

    still can't get to 1 ghz tho

    ------------------
    Duron 750@900
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 233/460
    384 Meg PC-133 Cas 3
    Quantum 6.4g HDD :*(
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moncton, NB Canada
    Posts
    328
    The 10c higher idle is normal with the 3R bios. They were using software cooling before which was causing the CPU to be unstable shortly after booting into windows. With the 3R bios there is no software cooling hence the higher temps.

    ------------------
    1.1 Gig Thunderbird
    Abit kt7 raid
    256MB Corsair Cas2
    Radeon LE
    SoundBlaster Live Value
    1.1 Gig Thunderbird
    Abit kt7 raid
    256MB Corsair Cas2
    Radeon LE
    SoundBlaster Live Value

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •