Help this Athlon 1.2 GHZ is hot
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help this Athlon 1.2 GHZ is hot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    98

    Help this Athlon 1.2 GHZ is hot

    Hi,

    I have an athlon 1.2 ghz, 266fsb on 256 mbDDR ram, ECS K7AMA Ali Magic Chipset.

    OEM (Huge) fan--applied with silicone grease, system fan.

    Voodoo 5500 carrd.

    My temp--as shown by MBM is 74 for the chip, 45 for the system.

    I have a Golden Orb lying around--don't want to try it out--as removing it is a big pain!!!!!--unless I'm sure that will help.

    Also have a peltier ?75-80W lying around from an old system.

    Any help appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Your system temp is far too high, what is the ambient room air temp? Also OEM heatsinks are very poor.... Golden Orbs are very poor, Peltiers require care and prevention of condesation issues. Until you can reduce the case temp even a quality heatsink will struggle.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    Deff don't use the GOrb unless it has the new style clip, or it will crush your Athie.

    Those temps are very very high.

    I personally wreckon they can't be true and that there is a problem with your sensors - what mobo have you got. 45C is hugely high for the system temp, 74C is very hot for the chip. I think the temps are probably out by roughly +15C. Meaning the case is 30, and the CPU is 59.

    However, there is the slightest possibility that the temps could be that high. Take the case off and see what the temps are then, to be sure.

    ------------------
    AMD Duron 800@1000 (133MHz FSB)
    Abit KT7a RAID
    DiamondMax Plus 60 - 40Gb
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    ------------------
    [This message has been edited by TheThoughtPolice (edited 10-04-1984).]
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Telford, Shropshire, UK
    Posts
    482
    If your temps were that high, I doubt the chip would boot to Windows, let alone load MBM

    ------------------
    I won't bore you with my system specs..
    I won't bore you with my system specs..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    1,776
    I've got sys temps 17 & chip 34 @ 1.85V..

    [okay I know that doen't help you much but I like the sound of it.. )

    ------------------
    The Darkside: OCN Hellspawn - having our way with your daughter's genes
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    I think the voodoo card is the culprit. Those things are some heat-demons. You should really conside cutting a hole and aiming a 80-120mm case fan at that bad boy, and sut a blow-hole at the top. This should keep that bad boy cool.

    Before you go hackin your case, do you have any case fans at all? If not, install some.

    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Aberdeen, UK
    Posts
    32
    Try moving your computer into a different room, i had a 1ghz athlon (@1.2GHz temps:18c sys, 31c cpu) in my bedroom, and when i upgraded i gave it to my dad, its now upstairs in the house (~10 meters away) and the temps are 30 sys 54 cpu!!! and thats even after i took the side of his full size atx case off and aimed a 12 inch office fan at it!


    ------------------
    I think, therefore i overclock.
    Who says electricity and water dont mix?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Southampton UK
    Posts
    97
    Have you checked the system and CPU temps in the Bios when booting up?

    I think MBM is reading wrong and you need to compensate the temps.
    http://mbm.livewiredev.com/

    for more info.

    My 850 @ 900 runs at 40C and my 1.4 Tbird runs at 48C

    Anything less than 50-52 is OK although I have ran the 1.4 at 65-68 for a while with no problems

    ------------------
    regards

    tmac
    regards

    tmac

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    98
    Hi,

    Thanks to every one who replied.

    I guess I have 2/3 culprits:

    1. Temo may be inacc. When it starts--the system temp is 34C--way to high for the UK.

    2.Voodoo card: It's huge, blocks the circulation

    3. Putting a 6 inch fan at the card dropped my system temp to 39c(from 45c) and my CPU temp to 67C.

    Since the CPU temp had probably gone very high, I plan to reapply the silicone grease.

    I may need to keep the side of the case open.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks

    A K Modi

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •