*** WOW !!! *** My dealer has Palominos ( ATHLON MP) Now what....
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: *** WOW !!! *** My dealer has Palominos ( ATHLON MP) Now what....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736

    *** WOW !!! *** My dealer has Palominos ( ATHLON MP) Now what....

    What Mobo takes these ATHLON MP's and is this the way to go ?

    (Tyan & I dont know)

    http://www.cluboverclocker.com/revie...1200/index.htm



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.

    [This message has been edited by DoctorFoxx (edited 07-07-2001).]
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moncton, NB Canada
    Posts
    328
    I believe the MSI k7tpro does. Check anands articles. I think I read it on there.

    ------------------
    600 duron@1000mhz(10x100FSB)
    Abit kt7 raid
    256MB Corsair Cas2
    Asus TNT2 (untill the LE comes)
    SoundBlaster Live Value
    1.1 Gig Thunderbird
    Abit kt7 raid
    256MB Corsair Cas2
    Radeon LE
    SoundBlaster Live Value

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    More will start supporting it soon, but a roumor I heard a long time ago said the Abit KT7 series support them with the ZT BIOS or later.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    Reminds me of when DDR came out. This time I wait for the right mobo.

    Check out how small the core is.



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    2,860
    acutally,

    I believe the Palimino core is slightly larger than the Tbird core. It is however shaped much more square.

    I'd personally hold off until the destop versoin is released, after all it's the same chip as the MP but will carry the cheaper prices.

    Another thing is, I've heard the MPs havn't been able to get above 1.4 Ghz. But again, that's just something I saw someone else post.

    I think waiting a month or 2 or even 3 will be worth it in terms of saving some money and probably seeing some "more" mature platforms and/or steppings.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    those L1 bridges look crossed to me, are these kiddies factory unlocked?

    I'll wait for the desktop version anyway, I so want a Paly, but I don't have the cash and I'd like to see a little more speed than 1.2.

    ------------------
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows 98
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    "Mature" is a good word to describe it Luds,

    I will wait til its through puberty.

    Anyone know what the total cache is ?



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx Am.D.,Dd.R.
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •