will a 300 watt Antec PS be enough for these goods? (details inside)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: will a 300 watt Antec PS be enough for these goods? (details inside)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    130

    will a 300 watt Antec PS be enough for these goods? (details inside)

    my roomie just picked up a system with the following components. unfortunatley it didn't come with a PS. I was thinking an Antec 300 watt PS would suffice. just wanted to check with you PS gurus first.

    thanks all!


    Classic Athlon 850Mhz (slot-a)
    Abit K7A motherboard
    1x IBM 40GB GXP HD
    512mb PC 133 SDRAM
    Radeon 64mb DDR

    1 Pioneer DVD-104S
    1 Plexwriter 12/10/32a
    SB Live value
    2x 92mm case fans
    2x 80mm case fans
    1 slot fan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    447
    Antec psu's are usually very high quality and AMD approved to boot, so I think it should be fine.

    If it's not, you'll notice...

    ------------------
    We came from the stars so they say, now it's time to go back. If I was conceived today, I would not get beyond eight cells, and yet here I am. In a way they were right, I don't have the heart for this world.

    The question is, why am I having so much trouble dying?
    We came from the stars so they say, now it's time to go back. If I was conceived today, I would not get beyond eight cells, and yet here I am. In a way they were right, I don't have the heart for this world.

    The question is, why am I having so much trouble dying?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    217
    Shouldn't be any problem using it. antec makes some real quality components. As long as you aren't burning cd's while watching the Matrix for the hundredth time and installing Quake 3 and listening to some jams all at the same time you should even be hitting close to 300 Watt usage. Good Luck

    ------------------
    AMD Thunderbird 1GHZ
    Asus A7V
    256MB of no name memory
    40GB of no name hard drive
    16MB TNT2 (soon 2 B GF3)
    SB Live 5.1
    Case: Mid Tower Enlight 7237
    Blah Blah Blah
    "You can't hurt The Colonal, because The Colonal likes it rough!"
    Get Listed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    217
    sorry, meant to say shouldn't even be hitting 300watts.

    ------------------
    AMD Thunderbird 1GHZ
    Asus A7V
    256MB of no name memory
    40GB of no name hard drive
    16MB TNT2 (soon 2 B GF3)
    SB Live 5.1
    Case: Mid Tower Enlight 7237
    Blah Blah Blah
    "You can't hurt The Colonal, because The Colonal likes it rough!"
    Get Listed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    27,205
    The Antec components has a very good reputation but
    You may want to consider an Enermax PSU if it costs less in your area,
    Since both are of equivalent level of quality.

    I have Antec's that came with the cases.

    ------------------
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

    [This message has been edited by Shinma (edited 07-05-2001).]
    "I know nothing."
    Cheers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    130
    thanks for the replies guys.

    Shinma:

    Yeah, been looking at the Enermax PS as well. the Enermax seems to be a favorite in this board.

    Antecs are cheaper in my area. although, the Antec 350watt PS which is only about 10$ more on Pricewatch than the 300 watt version, could be another option.

    thanks again.

    [This message has been edited by gorka (edited 07-05-2001).]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    The Antec should work fine for you. I'm running one in my Antec SX1030 case with the following hardware:

    (3) - 7200rpm Maxtor HDD's (2 in a RAID array)
    (1) - Creative 52x CD-Rom
    (1) - HP 9110i Burner
    (1) - IDE Internal Zip drive
    (4) - 80mm Case fans
    (1) - 60mm Delta fan
    Prophet GeForce2 MX
    Abit KT7-RAID w/Duron@920
    Creative Ensoniq Soundcard
    Creative ISA ModemBlaster
    Visioneer USB Scanner
    Kodak 3500 USB docking station

    As you can see, I'm using a few watts! No problems at all. I do however second Shinma on the Enermax. If I did not already have the Antec PS with the Antec case, I would have purchased the Enermax 431 unit, but it's quite a bit more expensive! You may also want to look at the Antec 400w model, it's priced reasonable as well.

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    (2)Maxtor Diamondmax+ 7200rpm ATA100 30GB@RAID 0
    Hercules Prophet II MX 200/200
    HP9110i Burner
    Delta 50x CD-Rom

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    It'll be fine i'm running about the same with a $39 CompUSA 300 watt ATX power supply and never had a problem with anything.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •