DVD scare
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DVD scare

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    141

    DVD scare

    so after upgrading and OCinf i decided to see if my hollywood decoder still worked at teh higher PCI speed, sure enough it crashed, but to make a long story short, it was CPU Cool, it would play the movie then it would screw up a few seconds in

    ------------------
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    well unless its giving you significantly better picture quality, personally I'd dump the DVD hardware decoder, you don't need hardware DVD to get smooth playback on a machine as powerful as yours and the GeForce line all have built in DVD assist anyway.

    interesting to know though, CPUCooL doesn't like Hardware De-coders (not yours anyway).
    does it still do it if you hit the "start game" function? that is supposed to kill all of CPU cool's cooling and polling functions so it might help.

    ------------------
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows 98
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Nanaimo,B.C. Canada
    Posts
    2,162
    With that speed processor you could probably lose the card altogether and go with software based DVD.

    DANG JR types faster than I do.

    [This message has been edited by wonderinguy34 (edited 06-23-2001).]
    Win 7
    Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
    I5 2500k @4ghz
    8Gb DDR3 2133Mhz
    Crucial M4 128Gb SataIII SSd
    Sapphire Radeon 6870
    Samsung 931bf 19" LCD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    I agree with them, your system is more than capable of software decoding.

    Also, your image quality will be better without the card.

    ------------------
    Real experts use keyboards for windows and mice for quake.
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    141
    i would get rid of the card but its got advantages, i think the picture is better, and its got the TV out, my vid card dose too but i dont like it all to well, its a piss *** desighn that dosent allow you to show the whole screen, so i stick with the DVD decoder.

    with CPU cool you cna avoid the problem by clicking on the "change additional: and then the fix sound problems" it works

    ------------------
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    I've got a Hollywood+ myself and the quality and smoothness IS superior to that I get from PowerDVD (I've got an 800E@1032). The only bad thing about it is that it degrades overall image quality from the main gfx card slightly (due to the pass-through).

    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!
    Carpe noctem!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    141
    yeah i dont use teh pass through, if i wana watch on the PC i will use software but that retarted pass through thing is jsut now worth it

    ------------------
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •