What Size of PSU?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: What Size of PSU?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5

    What Size of PSU?

    Hi there everyone hope you can help.
    What power of PSU whould I need for this system?

    PIII 1 Gb Processor
    ABIT VP6 Dual Processor Motherboard
    GeForce 2 MX AGP
    SoundBlaster
    30 Gig HardDrive
    256Mb Memory
    CD ROM
    Modem

    and all the usual fans.

    Thanks in Advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    I think that a quality 350w would be fine. Such as the following...


    Pick is a link


    Enermax EG365P-VE Fan Control 350Watt ATX Power Supply




    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    502
    a quality 300 watt PS would do with your setup, but I'd go with a 350watt already, just so you have enough power for future peripherals.

    The Enermax is good. The new Antec 350 watt PS, is probably just as good. Both are P4 ready as well. The Antec is a few dollars cheaper on Pricewatch, and more or less the same specs as the Enermax.






    ------------------
    ...everyone should taste a little bitterness in their lives....
    ...everyone should taste a little bitterness in their lives....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    502
    sorry, that would be the...


    Antec PP-352X : ATX 350Watt Pentium 4 Compliant



    [This message has been edited by Chairman Mao (edited 06-17-2001).]
    ...everyone should taste a little bitterness in their lives....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Unless you are running lots of hard drives or do not care about the price then just about any genaric 300w (or possibly 250) power supply will do. The PIII does not draw the power of the Athlons and is not as picky about the quality of the power feeds. Hell is you open up a 1Ghz Dell system it probably only has something like a 200w cheap'O or less.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    250W would be just fine. Don't waste your money on an expensive 350W supply you don't need.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    203
    Yup i agree, no need for expensive power supplies. Just get a decent 300W.

    ------------------
    Iwill KK266
    TBird 850@1008 (6.5x155)
    Crucial PC133 256MB cas2
    Tt VolcanoII
    ATi Radeon LE@190
    Maxtor DiamondMax+ 40GB 7200/ATA100
    HP 9550i 12x8x32 CD-RW
    BTC 16x CDROM
    Actiontec 56k PCI Lite
    D-Link PCI 2xUSB Port
    Envision EN780 17"
    Labtec LCS-2418 Flatpanels
    MS Intellimouse Trackball
    KK266, Tbird850 @ 995(153x6.5), Maxtor 40gb 7200/U100, Crucial 256MB cas2 PC133, Tt V-II, ATi Radeon LE @ 191, USR Winmodem

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    The man is running a dual processor mobo, this leads me to assume at some point he will be running two processors. Then if we toss in overclocking (a possibility ) and additional cooling, I think a more powerful supply is in order. Also, think about the upgrade path...

    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    I agree with Maxout. A powersupply is not where you should skimp. Everything seems to be requiring more and more power. If you buy a good one now you will still be able to use it in the future.
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for all the advice, It's good to find a place where the people are helpful

    I think I will go for the 350Watt as I hope to add another processor at some point.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    I like my Leadman 400watt PSU. Works really well.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •