KT133A vs KT133
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: KT133A vs KT133

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    141

    KT133A vs KT133

    whats teh diff?

    and does anyone know more about there FIC, 1st mainboard motherboards?
    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750MHz @ 855MHz (114*7.5x)
    Abit KT7A
    320 Mb Ram (128=133MHz, 192=100Mhz)
    GeForce2 MX 400 w/TV out
    Maxtor 7200RPM 29GIG ATA-100
    WD 5400RPM 13.7GIG ATA-66
    Acer 6X4X32 CDRW
    Hitachi 5X DVD
    Hollywood Plus DVD Decoder
    (Working on getting higher with just the PC133)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Whitehall, Pa (United States)
    Posts
    804
    Both the kt133A and the kt133 are VIA apollo chipsets. The kt133A is the newer of the two and supports socket7 266mhz fsb. The kt133 supports 200mhz fsb.

    ------------------
    AMD Tbird (AXIA) 1Ghz @ 1Ghz w/ OCZ gladiator
    Asus A7V
    384megs crucial cas2
    Leadtek 32meg Geforce2 GTS Pro (225/420)
    Soundblaster Live Value
    Western Digital 20gig 7200rpm (UDMA 100)
    Nec 40x cdrom
    Sony 12x8x32 CD-RW
    17" KDS Avitron flat screan (1024x768 @ 85hz)
    2500+ Barton @ 2.2ghz (200x11)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    Alpha 8045
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    2x 512mb Corsair XMS pc3200
    2x 120gb WD-SE HDDs
    Enermax 431w Whipser
    Lian Li pc61-usb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    This also has a big effect on overclocking. Some of the newer cores are hitting 1.5Ghz or more. With the all KT133 you are limited to a 12.5x multiplier and a 110-115Mhz bus speed (and that is on the better boards like Abit or ASUS). That tops out at 1375-1437Mhz. 1.4Ghz will fall short of some of the 1.6Ghz ranges that some are starting to hit. Also the lower bus speed does impact performance a bit.

    As for features they are both very similar. They both use SDRAM. They only thing I am not sure about is weither the KT133 was generally combined with ATA 66 or 100 hard drive controlers. Some of the later revision KT133 boards are hitting 160Mhz or more. VIA is also releasing a new revision of their KT266 (their DDR board) that is supposed to perform better. Hopefully it will overclock higher too.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    6,459
    With the newer KT133a chipset came the infamous VIA 686B southbridge chip (added ATA100 capability). Some of the very last KT133 boards also had this chip.

    ------------------
    Sir, are you classified as human? Negative, I am a meat popsicle.
    My Guitar Hero 2 Xbox Live Ranking
    Main Rig (click this link for specs)
    Certified in: Nothing at all!
    Certifiable: 100% hands-on, real-world experience

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Kalkaska, MI
    Posts
    696
    One correction to make. Wuzup101 stated that they support socket7. They are actually made for SocketA processors. Other than that, everyone is on the money.

    ------------------
    WHASSSSUUUUP???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Nottingham Uni, England
    Posts
    1,945
    The 686B can be a dodgy southbridge at times, esp on cheaper/poor quality mobos (ie, the QDI Kinitz 7B, the only good thing about that mobo is it finaly convinced my work to use ABit instead!)

    Other than that the KT133A is the best of the 2.

    ------------------
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows 98
    AHHH, I think my computer's got a Virus!

    Oh no, that's Windows XP

    Chimaera: Twin Athlon MP 1900+ @ 1824Mhz, GeForce 3 TI500, 512Megs Crucial RegECC, 100GB Total HDD, SuSE Linux 7.3 + Windoze XP Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Whitehall, Pa (United States)
    Posts
    804
    Thanks for picking up on that error Greatmatt...I don't know what I was thinking. Also you guys are right some of the last kt133's had the ata100 support, as my asus A7v does. Not like it really matters since our drives can't keep up anyway.

    ------------------
    AMD Tbird (AXIA) 1Ghz @ 1Ghz w/ OCZ gladiator
    Asus A7V
    384megs crucial cas2
    Leadtek 32meg Geforce2 GTS Pro (225/420)
    Soundblaster Live Value
    Western Digital 20gig 7200rpm (UDMA 100)
    Nec 40x cdrom
    Sony 12x8x32 CD-RW
    17" KDS Avitron flat screan (1024x768 @ 85hz)
    2500+ Barton @ 2.2ghz (200x11)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    Alpha 8045
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    2x 512mb Corsair XMS pc3200
    2x 120gb WD-SE HDDs
    Enermax 431w Whipser
    Lian Li pc61-usb

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •