Taisol heatsink temps.... please check in!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: Taisol heatsink temps.... please check in!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126

    Taisol heatsink temps.... please check in!

    I'm waiting on a copper base insert Taisol #760092 heatsink to arrive for my testing enjoyment and was wondering what temps I should expect.

    It will be delivered with the standard fan, but I also have a YS Tech and Delta laying around to play with as well. Maybe I can find a "happy medium" between noise and performance!

    So.... please, if you are running a Taisol heatsink, please list your sinks model number, fan type, your CPU speed, Core voltage, and temps both idle and full load.

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    (2)Maxtor Diamondmax+ 7200rpm ATA100 30GB@RAID 0
    Hercules Prophet II MX 200/200
    HP9110i Burner
    Delta 50x CD-Rom

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Hey Toolbox I've got the 760 w/ the copper base and its nice.. Idle temps are currently @ 27.c this is with the registery hack though, and temps under a full load after about and hour never top 42.c! This is at 1.85v @ 1.5Ghz.. I am using the fan off of my volcano II though but I see no change in temps from using it over the stock fan, I just havent got arround to changing it back. I think I'm gonna put a nice quiet 80mm on her and see what thats like. Anyway, I think you'll like it just fine.. Good Luck!

    ------------------
    <<<***My Stuff***>>>
    AMD T-Bird 1GIG (AXIA) @ 1.5Ghz
    Iwill kk266 (Taisol 760)
    2-128mb Sticks/Kingmax PC-150
    2> 300w Sparkle PS's
    30 gig IBM UDMA 100 7200rpm HD
    Creative TnT2 Ultra 32mb (CRAP)
    Crative 8.4.32 CDRW
    Creative 12x DVDRom
    {Various other machines; all operating above spec}
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Duluth, Mn USA
    Posts
    83
    HIya..I'm running the same HS with the stock fan, and have yet to see anything over 42 under full load...using a antec 840 case, 1.4 tbird(just a slight bump ..with 4 case fans..all 80mm(two antec, 2 sanyo)...works like a charm ...I have yet to put a screamer on it...might look into one of those silencer fans just for kicks..I know the delta makes about a 4 degree difference, but if I'm maxxed at 42 ish, I'm not going to be too concerned at load levels...take it easy AMD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    I've never tried my 760 with the stock fan, I chopped off 1/6th of it and smacked on the 120mm duct right away But with the 742 and the stock fan I got 43~44c max on a P3800@1024 1.95v.

    I think I need to perfect the mounting of the heatsink, as you can probably understand from my testing results.


    edit: The fan used in my testing is a $6.4 120x25mm fan. Really crappy, but I haven't gotten around to testing it with something more powerful.
    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!

    [This message has been edited by D|sElMiNk (edited 06-05-2001).]
    Carpe noctem!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Who's Toolbox???

    AMD100 - What registry hack are you talking about? I'm not familiar with a hack to help temps. Please enlighten me!

    Thanks toml! Sounds like a nice set up you have there! I'm trying to set up a similar rig. My Antec SX1040 is not in stock yet, and I'm waiting for my bonus check this week for a nice 1.0gig AXIA "Y" if I can find one..... Nothing like a nice "little" upgrade in equipment to get ya pumped up!!! Take it easy.....

    Thanks guys! Any other Taisol users?

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    (2)Maxtor Diamondmax+ 7200rpm ATA100 30GB@RAID 0
    Hercules Prophet II MX 200/200
    HP9110i Burner
    Delta 50x CD-Rom

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm

    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 06-05-2001).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,473
    I have a Taisol,
    although it's not one of the fancy pants copper based, cold forged one - it's just the really huge aluminium type, using the standard low profile fan. It used to cool my Duron 600@900 before it died, with temperatures peaking at around 13 or 14 degrees above system temperature, at anywhere between 41 and 47 degrees C (measured using the ridiculously inaccurate motherboard thermal diode, so the actual temp is probably 51 to 57 C).
    Not a bad cooler all told, and the stock fan is much more powerful than it looks, and remarkably quiet. I will hopefully be replacing it hopefully with a another, bigger badder Taisol
    Fallguy

    P.S. The Taisol does benefit more than most from dark side cooling....... if your case is big enough to fit the extra fan in.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Hey Fallguy!
    Are you blind from being here yet?

    Thanks for the info, what are you running now that your Duron died?

    My new case is going to be the Antec SX1030 which has plenty of room for Darkside cooling! You know me, anything less would be unimaginable!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    (2)Maxtor Diamondmax+ 7200rpm ATA100 30GB@RAID 0
    Hercules Prophet II MX 200/200
    HP9110i Burner
    Delta 50x CD-Rom

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm

    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 06-05-2001).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Duluth, Mn USA
    Posts
    83
    Not a problem AMD..That antec case rocks! you'll really like the setup...all the fans just pop in..VERY slick!!...there is a 5th fan in front of the HD also...80mm too(this is on the 840, but I'm darn sure its the same except for the extra drive bay)...take a look at etoyou.com...VERY good place to deal with...on your axia..you may want to check with newegg.com...I was treated well from them...goodluck with your system...lemme know how it went!..toml

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Whitehall, Pa (United States)
    Posts
    804
    Hey AMD100... Could you give me some info on that reg hack also. I would love to get my temps down to 27C. Althought since my room temp is like 25ish and the case is like 28 that's gonna be quite hard.

    ------------------
    AMD Tbird (AXIA) 1Ghz @ 1Ghz w/ OCZ gladiator
    Asus A7V
    384megs crucial cas2
    Leadtek 32meg Geforce2 GTS Pro (225/420)
    Soundblaster Live Value
    Western Digital 20gig 7200rpm (UDMA 100)
    Nec 40x cdrom
    Sony 12x8x32 CD-RW
    17" KDS Avitron flat screan (1024x768 @ 85hz)
    2500+ Barton @ 2.2ghz (200x11)
    Abit NF7-S rev2.0
    Alpha 8045
    Radeon 9800 Pro
    2x 512mb Corsair XMS pc3200
    2x 120gb WD-SE HDDs
    Enermax 431w Whipser
    Lian Li pc61-usb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,473
    What am I running?
    At the moment that PC is down for repairs. I am using my Celeron 566@850 for internet and gaming, although it sucks badly for graphics (Savage 4 32Mb, and for some bizarre reason, UT won't let me use MeTaL with it, grrrr!).
    I'm not sure what I am going to replace the Duron with, I thought about getting a 1Gig Athy, but I'm considering switching to a dual system, and getting a dual PIII 933 or 1Gig. I would have prefered to have a dual AMD rig, but they aren't going to be available in time - hell I'll be lucky to see 760MP or KT266-D motherboards this side of Christmas, and I'm not waiting that long.

    My dream replacement system for the Duron would be as follows:
    Dual PIII 1 Gig
    512Mb PC133 CL2 RAM (I have 256 already).
    Abit VP6
    Voodoo 5 5500
    Windows 2K
    Soundblaster Live!

    Unfortunately the chances are that I won't be able to afford all that (unless I get a really huge bonus, which I somehow doubt!).
    Unfortunately, going with a dual system would mean upgrading to 2K, which would then entail getting a new Vid card (I don't even want to think about trying to use the Viper under Win2K, the drivers are bad enough in '95), as well as the processors and motherboard.......

    Oh, and just so this post isn't totally off topic, I'd get some Taisol heatsinks for the duallies......

    What do you think? Yes I know the V5 is a weird choice, but it has seriously impressive professional OpenGL performance, which is something of a bonus.
    Fallguy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Wow, major upgrade there!!!
    Are we counting dual 1 gig processors as 2 gig in our race?!?
    Sounds like a killer system. I can understand the V5 video choice. I would probably go for a Radeon 64mb DDR or the All-in-Wonder Radeon myself. I like the GeForce2 and 3, but for most of what I'm interested in, the Radeon would do great.
    I will have to condemn your choice of sound cards though. I have totally had it with SoundBlaster stuff. From the old PCI 512 to the newer "Live!" and "Live Value" cards, I've had nothing but problems. Not major stuff, but little driver conflicts, crackling/popping, and various other things that have just pissed me off enough that I have swore off SoundBlaster cards. Currently, I am running a Creative Labs "Ensoniq" PCI 128 that is working great though!!! My problems only seem to be with the SoundBlaster series........
    I would look at the Turtle Beach or Phillips line for your audio needs, but the rest looks kick arse!!!

    Good luck and keep us updated.......

    Oh yeah, the Taisol's would be a great choice!!!


    PS - Have you heard anything from TonForty or 600R??? It's like they have retired or something!!!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    (2)Maxtor Diamondmax+ 7200rpm ATA100 30GB@RAID 0
    Hercules Prophet II MX 200/200
    HP9110i Burner
    Delta 50x CD-Rom

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,473
    Nope,
    a dual 1 Gig setup doesn't count, although a dual 2 Gig definately would...... . I'll just have to live in the hope that the Cyrix 4 is SMP capable...... and runs on Socket 370!
    Yeah, I'm not personally fond of Soundblaster cards, but I simply can't find any alternatives in the shops. To be honest, I'll probably ditch the Soundblaster live and stay with my ubiquitous PCI-128 cards (I have 3), my speakers are not really good enough for me to tell the difference anyway.

    I might have to get a different video card though, I don't know how much longer V5's will be available. I'm not sure which way I will go, maybe a MX or a Radeon, perhaps even a Kyro II if I can find one - I don't want to spend alot of money on a non-DirectX8 compliant card, which will need to be replaced within 6 months or so. Hell, even the Viper has lasted longer than that (8 months now).

    600R and TonForty? I don't post much on this notice board now, but now that you mention it I haven't seen them post in a few weeks........
    Maybe they have retreated to their secret highland fortress and are plotting either
    1)World domination,
    or
    2)How to get an Athlon to 2 Gig......

    I'd probably go with the first option......

    Fallguy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Sorry I didnt answer sooner guys I've been buisy having band practice most of the week, we have a big show comming up next weekend and there is going to be a record company exec there so wish us luck! Any way the registry hack I was talking about is done with Wpcredit and Wpcrset. You can get them both free here: http://www.h-oda.com/ ... Basicly all you have todo is set register 52 to a value of EB and there you have it.. This is only for KX-133A MOBO's and it might not work with some of them, but it works great on my KK266! You can get a step-by-step how too here http://www.athlonoc.com/tweakvia1.php along with a few other reg hacks.. HAVE FUN!

    ------------------
    &lt;&lt;&lt;***My Stuff***&gt;&gt;&gt;
    AMD T-Bird 1GIG (AXIA) @ 1.5Ghz
    Iwill kk266 (Taisol 760)
    2-128mb Sticks/Kingmax PC-150
    2&gt; 300w Sparkle PS's
    30 gig IBM UDMA 100 7200rpm HD
    Creative TnT2 Ultra 32mb (CRAP)
    Crative 8.4.32 CDRW
    Creative 12x DVDRom
    {Various other machines; all operating above spec}
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Oh and AMDnut sorry 'bout that it just goes to show you what can happen after a six-pack and about 30 posts or so in 10 to 20 minutes will do to ya Hope the info helps...

    ------------------
    &lt;&lt;&lt;***My Stuff***&gt;&gt;&gt;
    AMD T-Bird 1GIG (AXIA) @ 1.5Ghz
    Iwill kk266 (Taisol 760)
    2-128mb Sticks/Kingmax PC-150
    2&gt; 300w Sparkle PS's
    30 gig IBM UDMA 100 7200rpm HD
    Creative TnT2 Ultra 32mb (CRAP)
    Crative 8.4.32 CDRW
    Creative 12x DVDRom
    {Various other machines; all operating above spec}
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    UK - Ipswich(Home) & Edinburgh(Uni)
    Posts
    179
    TaiSol CGK742092 Socket A Cooler with Evercool 80mm low noise 29cfm fan on a 800@900Mhz Athlon.

    28/42 degreesC, a couple of degrees higher for both without fan mod...

    ------------------
    Kermet@btinternet.com
    35647692

    TBird 800@950, Abit KT133, 640Mb Crucial SDRAM PC133 CAS2, IBM Deskstar 75GXP 30.7Gb, Segate U5 20.0Gb, Pioneer DVD 105s, Yamaha 2100E 40/16/10, Panasonic LS-120, SB Live, 3D Prophet II GTS 64MB, Mitsumbishi DiamondPlus 17", Customised dual psu (500w) Tower.
    Kermet@btinternet.com
    35647692

    TBird 800@950, Abit KT133, 640Mb Crucial SDRAM PC133 CAS2, IBM Deskstar 75GXP 30.7Gb, Segate U5 20.0Gb, Pioneer DVD 105s, Yamaha 2100E 40/16/10, Panasonic LS-120, SB Live, 3D Prophet II GTS 64MB, Mitsumbishi DiamondPlus 17", Customised dual psu (500w) Tower.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •