Equipment List for my new computer, what would you change?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Equipment List for my new computer, what would you change?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    40

    Equipment List for my new computer, what would you change?

    Hello Everyone,
    It's been awhile since I have posted anything, but I have been reading most of the latest decussions. You guys helped me get my last system up to standards (PIII-600 runing stable at 800). THANKS
    Now I am ready to go at it again. Below is the list of parts that I plan on buying in the next few days. With what you see here, what would you change and why.
    I am pretty set on these items and am looking for solid reasons why you whould not purchase the following parts, ie. personal preference is not enouph reason.
    Thanks in advance, you guys have been a great help.
    Hobs

    New Computer Overclocked as high as it will go ofcourse...


    Asus A7A266 Motherboard

    AMD Athlon Thunderbird 1.33GHz 266MHz Bus Socket A PGA Processor

    Alpha PAL6035MUC heatsink with Delta Black Label fan

    WindTunnel Mid-Tower ATX Case (from Coolguys.com)

    Enermax 431W ATX Switching Power supply

    Hyundai High Quality 128MB 16x64 PC-2100 DDR RAM Memory

    2-Maxtor 20GB 7200RPM EIDE Ultra 100 3.5" model 5T020H

    Promise Technology FastTrak100 TX2 RAID Controller

    ATI Radeon VE 32MB DDR

    Lite-On 12x10x32 CD-RW Rewriter 12x record, 10x rewrite, 32x read

    Creative Lab sound blaster Live Value PCI Sound Card

    KDS RADIUS 17" TFT LCD MONITOR


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Well, all the benchmarks show that the DDR solution isn't worth all it's hyped up to be. If you like the ASUS boards get an A7V-133 RAID. This will save you money on the mobo, and the external raid controller. You could get 256MB PC-133 SDRAM for the price you'll pay for the other. Buy a 19" monitor. I promise, you'll regret the 17" later.

    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    737
    scratch that VE radeon and get a GF2 pro m8

    ------------------
    T-Bird 900@1100
    KT7-RAID
    256mb Crucial CAS 2
    3d prophet 2 MX 220/200
    IBM 75gxp 30gb
    SB Live PLatinum 5.1
    Cambridge SoundWorks DTT3500
    DVD 12x
    Athlon XP1600+ @2000+ Alpha PAL 8085 MSI K7T266 R126 512mb Crucial CAS 2.5 DDR
    Gainward Geforce 2 Pro /450 GS 2 40Gb 60GXP's In RAID 0 Black Dell P791 SB Live PLatinum 5.1 Black GW 802

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    156
    Actually, if you need Dual Display, get the ATi Radeon VE (NOT EVERYONE IS A GAMER). The Radeon VE is the best Dual Display card you can buy right now. And most 3D games will still work fine on it. But if you are looking for games, get the Radeon DDR 64MB w/ Vivo.

    He is already buying a 17" LCD, which is almost the size of the viewable area of a 19" monitor, so it should be good enough. And I don't think many can afford a 19" LCD yet(if available).

    And don't get the DDR motherboard, get yourself a KT133A motherboard instead, it's simply faster and better.



    ------------------
    Duron 700 @ 933mhz (7 x 133mhz fsb)
    Thermaltake VolcanoII (38C Full Load)
    MSI K7T Turbo
    448MB PC133 SDRAM
    Asus GeForce2 MX @ 220core/210memory
    Quantum 6.4G EX HDD
    SBlive value 2.0
    18" case w/ 300watts PS
    19" Samsung 900SL Monitor

    >'.'<
    Duron 700 @ 933mhz (7 x 133mhz fsb)
    Thermaltake VolcanoII (38C Full Load)
    MSI K7T Turbo
    448MB PC133 SDRAM
    Asus GeForce2 MX @ 220core/210memory
    Quantum 6.4G EX HDD
    Creative 4224 CD-RW
    Toshiba 32x CD-ROM
    SBlive value 2.0
    18" case w/ 300watts PS
    19" Samsung 900SL Monitor

    ^*^
    >'.'<
    W W

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    Here's what i'd change.

    Asus A7A266 Motherboard to an ASUS A7V133

    Hyundai High Quality 128MB 16x64 PC-2100 DDR RAM Memory to Mushkin PC133 CAS2

    2-Maxtor 20GB 7200RPM EIDE Ultra 100 3.5" model 5T020H to 2 IBM 20GB GXP ATA100 drives

    ATI Radeon VE 32MB DDR to a Radeon 64meg VIVO

    Creative Lab sound blaster Live Value PCI Sound Card to a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz Sound Card.




    [This message has been edited by KilrB (edited 04-16-2001).]
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    I'd get 30MB drives because the price differance is very little (IBM drives might be better too, but I do not know that much about drives). The A7A266 is an ALI chipset that performs slower than the KT133A chipsets. Either wait couple of weeks and see if they can get the performance issue fixxed for the KT266 or get an AMD 761 board (a bit more expensive). Otherwise get the KT133A board and SDRAM. I also am partial to Crucial DDR. It is about the cheapest and overclocks pretty good and runs cas2 without a hitch.

    If you like the ATI Radeon, than see if you can use the SDR version. The LE and VE are much slower and cost about the same. Save your money and get a motherboard with integrated raid. That Alpha cooler is a no go. It is falling behind all the others (too out dated).

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85210
    Posts
    1,268
    Only thing that i will change is from SDRAM RADEON to DDR radeon! That is it, nothing more the ASUS A7A266 is much faster than the 133
    Alex D

    ------------------
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    Originally posted by coco:
    Actually, if you need Dual Display, get the ATi Radeon VE (NOT EVERYONE IS A GAMER). The Radeon VE is the best Dual Display card you can buy right now. And most 3D games will still work fine on it. But if you are looking for games, get the Radeon DDR 64MB w/ Vivo.

    He is already buying a 17" LCD, which is almost the size of the viewable area of a 19" monitor, so it should be good enough. And I don't think many can afford a 19" LCD yet(if available).

    And don't get the DDR motherboard, get yourself a KT133A motherboard instead, it's simply faster and better.


    yech LCD! I hate the way those things look. For what he'll pay for that he could probably get a 22" trinitron tube.


    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    El Segundo, CA
    Posts
    309
    Personally I think the Alpha is overpriced.

    Bought my GlobalWin at 2cooltek.com.

    There's a website floating around that has even better prices.

    Come out, come out, wherever you are.

    ------------------
    If you can't be a good example,
    then you'll just have to be a horrible warning.
    - - - Catherine Aird - - -
    If you can't be a good example,
    then you'll just have to be a horrible warning.
    - - - Catherine Aird - - -

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Manassas, VA, USA
    Posts
    8
    The A7A266 is based on the ALi MaGiC (I'm up to *here* with these blasted creative capitalization bastards) chip set, which reviews have shown is not much better (if any) than the VIA KT133A. So if you're hung up on Asus then get the A7V133. If you're hung up on Asus and DDR, then get an AMD 760-based design, like the A7M266. If you can dispense with Asus, then get the FIC AD11, the only 760-based motherboard with all the overclocking features.


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Keller, Tx, USA
    Posts
    240
    I gotta agree on the soundcard... I have never had any problems with the Turtle Beach 5.1 card & it is not that expensive

    ------------------
    Abit KT7A-RAID
    1 GHz (Tbird)-AXIA @ 1.401 140x10 1.840v
    FOP-38
    384 MB SD-133
    2 30 GB ATA-100 (RAID 0)
    60 GB ATA-100 (IDE)
    Voodoo 4 4500 AGP
    TV/FM Card
    Poineer 12x DVD
    8x4x32x CD-RW
    TB-Santa Cruz Dolby 5.1
    Abit KT7A-RAID
    1 GHz/266 FSB (Pentium killer)-AXIA @ 1.521 145x10.5 1.81v
    FOP-38/Arctic Silver II
    512 MB SD-133
    2 30 GB ATA-100 (RAID 0)
    60 GB ATA-100 (IDE)
    GeForce2 MX-400 64MB AGP
    19" Veiwsoniq PF-790
    Hauppauge 5.1 TV/FM Card
    Poineer 12x DVD
    8x4x32x CD-RW
    TB-Santa Cruz Dolby 5.1

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Get more memory if u run NT4, Win98, 98SE, ME then go for at least 192 MB, If u run W2K go for at least 192-256 MB RAM.

    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750@864 Mhz, 256 MB, WBK38/Y.S. TECH 21CFM 28dB
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz, 256 MB, Dual Fop32-1
    P2 350Mhz, 192MB
    P-100Mhz, 48MB
    P-90Mhz, 16MB
    P-75Mhz, 40MB
    486Dx2/66Mhz, 36MB
    386/??Mhz, ??MB
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    Get more memory if u run NT4, Win98, 98SE, ME then go for at least 192 MB, If u run W2K go for at least 192-256 MB RAM.

    ------------------
    AMD Duron 750@864 Mhz, 256 MB, WBK38/Y.S. TECH 21CFM 28dB
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz, 256 MB, Dual Fop32-1
    P2 350Mhz, 192MB
    P-100Mhz, 48MB
    P-90Mhz, 16MB
    P-75Mhz, 40MB
    486Dx2/66Mhz, 36MB
    386/??Mhz, ??MB
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Well, there isn't to much I would change...... but here goes.....

    Mobo - The Asus DDR solution is OK, but go for the AMD chipset. Right now, I personally would go for the Iwill KK266R motherboard / Sdram solution. I haven't owned one yet, but they have good reviews and I hope to purchase one soon.

    DDR Memory - If you do go DDR, I prefer Crucial also. But if you are going PC133, I think the Kingmax PC150 Tiny BGA would be my choice for higher FSB speeds. I'm currently running Crucial PC133 CAS2 stuff which works very well also, but I still would go with the Kingmax.

    Maxtor HDD - I love my Maxtor HDD's, but I've heard a lot of bad stuff lately. I have started buying Western Digital instead. I would go for 30GB drives though whichever you buy. A total of 40GB doesn't cut it for long, trust me on that!

    Radeon - I like the ATI stuff. I am currently running a GeForce2 MX, but from the image quality I've seen, the ATI kicks butt. If you want the best image quality, go for the Radeon, but look for an SDR version instead of VE. If you want fast gaming action only, go GeForce2. My next will probably be a Radeon All-in-Wonder for the vid capture and misc. capabilities.

    SoundBlaster - A good choice, but I haven't been happy with my Creative soundcards lately. Problematic sometimes. I would go for the Turtle Beach or Hercules Fortissimo II if this was my system.....

    That's my .02 worth.....

    ------------------
    THIS SPACE FOR RENT!!!
    ________________________

    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    Hercules Prophet II MX 200/200
    HP9110i Burner
    Delta 50x CD-Rom

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •