How NOT to kill your T-Bird/Duron when installing a heatsink©
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: How NOT to kill your T-Bird/Duron when installing a heatsink©

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    143

    How NOT to kill your T-Bird/Duron when installing a heatsink©

    I did this with my FOP38 and my Duron, I hope NOT to do it again, basically I need some pointers. I did it with a coolermaster heatsink Clip... I think that's what really did it because I was trying for a while with the normal clip and it was fine.

    So basically just keep the heatsink FLAT ontop of the CPU and keep the weight distribution even ? I'm also thinking of getting a shim, check the link below.
    http://www.technoyard.com/hardware/m...ms/page_1.html

    ------------------
    http://www.digie.net/sep

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    Recently, after reading about people doing all kinds of damage to AMD processors, I had some misfortune myself.

    AMD cpu's are #1 in my opinion, however the substance they have chosen to make the cpu core happens to be fragile and they should change it ASAP.

    While complaining about stability problems with a new 1200/266 BIRD, I pulled it out and used another cpu. I couldn't see anything wrong with it. While I had a magnifying glass out examining the gold bridges, I was startled to see a hairline fracture on the core. I finally killed something. After calling my guy...he says that it may or may not be covered by warranty ! So there you have it...I thought I was being careful but apparently not. Hardly funny...kind of pathetic, that BIRD is worth $359 CDN.

    So...my only suggestion is to pick a heatsink and stick with it, try not to change it. When applying it, be BLOODY careful...lay the tower on it's side, set the HS on the CPU...light some candles...perform a little VooDoo...and GOOD LUCK !




    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx AMd.
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    143
    heh, thanks for the advice... I was lucky enough to get a replacement for my Duron from AMD via the vendor. You were unfortunate not to get one, sorry.

    ------------------
    http://www.digie.net/sep

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    I think the pics we saw from Cebit of the Pallies showed that they had more blue sealent around the core hopefully to keep it from being broke as easily

    ------------------
    Where's the any key?
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz | Global Win fop-38 | Asus A7V rev 1.04
    256 pc-133 ram (no Name Brand) | Hercules 3D Prophet II GTS Pro | 400W AMD Aproved PSU
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    143
    hmm, I HOPE they do do something about it - they obviously know about it but the question is, why did they do it in the first place ?

    ------------------
    http://www.digie.net/sep

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Grand Junction, CO
    Posts
    767
    You can always add a shim next time it is off, that is what they are for.

    Also, it is a bunch if trouble but it might be worth taking the MOBO out of the case and puting it on a table for the operation. The increased accessibility and visibility makes it a lot easier and safer.

    Bill

    ------------------
    Duron 700@969 & PAL6035
    MSI K7T Turbo, 256MB Kingmax PC150
    IBM 75GXP, 7,200 RPM, 20Gig HD
    Fong-Kai FK603 case & 275W PC Cooling PS
    Matrox G-450 & Iiyama Pro 17
    Mitsumi 48X CD & 250 internal Zip
    Linksys 10/100 Ethernet
    Win 98 SE
    AMD 9950 Quaad-core processor
    M2N-SLI Deluxe board
    4 GB OCZ Gold
    WD 500GB SATA2 HD
    Antec True Power 750
    Antec Sonta case
    BFG 8600GT 256MB video
    Samsung 940bx 19" LCD
    Samsung SH-S203B DVD
    On board NIC
    SB Audigy sound
    XP Pro 64 bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    143
    I've herd people say that but to me personally it isn't worth the hastle... I've got a full tower and there's plenty of room.

    ------------------
    http://www.digie.net/sep

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Sweden, North Europe
    Posts
    1,061
    hi bpratt
    tell me your settings for 700@969 Mhz


    ------------------

    AMD Duron 750 Mhz, 768 MB
    Dual Celeron 366@550Mhz, 256 MB
    P2 350Mhz, 192MB
    P-100Mhz, 48MB
    P-90Mhz, 16MB
    P-75Mhz, 40MB
    486Dx2/66Mhz, 36MB
    386/??Mhz, ??MB
    ftp1. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.1, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    ftp2. Antec PLUSVIEW1000AMG, Abit AT7 v1.2, XP 1800@2300 0,13u, 512MB TwinMOS PC-2700 cl2
    backup. Chieftec Fulltower, Abit KT7A-R v1.3 XP-M 2000+ 3x256MB TwinMOS PC-166
    Workstation. (Not yet ready)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    Well...they havent said no yet...if they do I will appeal...

    Funny they would choose MELBA TOAST for the core ???




    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!" Dr. Foxx AMd.
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    walton on thames, surrey, uk
    Posts
    68
    Sep, I had to take a deep breath when fitting a Coolermaster to my T-bird. It takes a good few megatonnes to hook that clip.
    Crushermaster's suck.

    Nickf

    ---------------------------------------

    Athlon T-Bird 700 @ 100 *7.0, 1.78v

    Papst 612 F 60 mm on Coolermaster DP5 6H51 sink
    A-bit KT7 A (WZ bios)
    256 MB Generic PC133
    Ricoh MP9120 12x10x32-8x DVD combo
    52x Generic CD
    4.3 GB Seagate ATA-33
    S3 graphics
    Enermax 430 W (451P-V) PSU
    Win98 SE

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    I chipped my duron when I accidently make the heatsink slide over the duron horizontally, that is the easiest way to break an AMD chip.

    Never move the heatsink horizontally when it's in contact with the chip, even just to spread the thermal paste.

    ------------------
    AMD Duron 800@1000 (7.5x133MHz)
    128Mb 133MHz RAM
    Abit KT7a RAID
    2x 8.4GB in RAID 0
    Elsa GeForce2MX 32Mb SDR
    ------------------
    With insomnia, nothing is real. Everything is far away. Everything is
    a copy of a copy of a copy.
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sterling, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,097
    Its always better to mount the CPU and HSF prior to mounting the motherboard. Lay the motherboard on the anti-static bag and pad it usually comes with on a flat surface and be carefull....

    ------------------
    AMD Tbird 1Ghz
    ABit KT7
    384MB PC100 SDRAM
    50X ASUS CDROM
    HP-CDWriter 8110i
    30 GB ATA100 HD MAXTOR
    7 GB UDMA/33 HD MAXTOR
    13 GB UDMA/33 HD MAXTOR
    DIAMOND 32MB AGP 4x Video Card
    WINTV Card
    Netgear 10/100 LAN CARD
    SB PCI128
    19" Monitor
    CNA(Novell), CCNA(Cisco)
    -----
    AMD Palomino 1800XP+
    ABit KR7A
    512 PC2100 DDRAM
    16X DVDROM
    16X10X40TDK CDRW
    120 GB ULTRA/ATA 133 HD Maxtor
    Nvidia GeForceFX 5200 128M DH
    Netgear FE CARD
    SBLive!
    (2)19" Monitors
    WinXP Pro

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Australia, NSW
    Posts
    143
    Nickf, I found fitting the coolermaster to my Duron to be an easy process - I used a screw driver. It was the FOP38 that was hard.. so I used the coolermaster clip ( a LOT easier ) but it chipped the core. The weird part is that I had more pressure on it when I was trying to install the FOP ( with normal clip ) than I did when I put the coolermaster's clip on and it didn't break with the normal clip.

    ------------------
    http://www.digie.net/sep

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    367
    Damn, I want to unlock the multipliers on my new Duron, But ya got me scared to take the HSF off.I'm using the new Vantec© HSF with the hinged clip on my K7T Pro 2A. It wasn't that difficult to install.
    Perhaps I'll have a shim on hand for the pencil trick.
    dirt rules

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Ga.
    Posts
    1,289
    Also over at KDcomputers they are selling a socket a cooler that has philips screw tention adjusters on a h/s.Its on their home page and Im probaley going to get one for my TB.

    ------------------
    Miles

    This too shall pass!
    Miles

    This too shall pass!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •