Overclocking a Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB....
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Overclocking a Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    13

    Overclocking a Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB....

    anybody have any suggestions for configurations that work to overclock a Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB? Just curious.... be gentle I'm a OC virgin.....

    ------------------
    Abit KT7A (200/266)Mhz
    Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB
    GlobalWin FOP-32
    RAM: 128M (PC-133)
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 PCI (16M)
    SoundBlaster16 ISA
    IBM 30G Deskstar
    NEC 250M Zip drive, Iomega 2G Jaz drive (w/ Jaz Jet PCI)
    NetGear FA311 NIC
    USRobotics Int 56k
    Windows 98 SE
    Abit KT7A (200/266)Mhz
    Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB @ 1.4Ghz
    GlobalWin FOP-32
    RAM: 128M (PC-133)
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 PCI (16M)
    SoundBlaster16 ISA
    IBM 30G Deskstar
    NEC 250M Zip drive, Iomega 2G Jaz drive (w/ Jaz Jet PCI)
    NetGear FA311 NIC
    USRobotics Int 56k
    Windows 98 SE

  2. #2
    ol' man is offline workin fingas to the bone
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9,664
    I'm not sure that your t-bird will overclock, sorry
    .............................................


    Seriously though it probably will you are just making me "jealous." Up the multiplier first and then maybe the FSB. If that don't work then go for upping the voltage. You need to make sure that your bridges are unlocked and you have a good cooling system. Be careful as to not crack your core. This can be done when removing your heattsink. A copper shim would be really a good investment as I am almost sure if you are not careful you will crack your core. Also

    [({<USE THE SEARCH ENGINE>})]

    Read all you can as you have the top of the line chip at the moment and you wouldn't want to wreck it. So please read all you can!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    As long as you are using a kt-133a board you can set the multiplier real low and the fsb to 133 and have plenty of options but with out a kt133a board you kinda stuck at 1.4 which is like 12.5*113 or somthing and thats if the board can handel 113 FSB

    ------------------
    When you cant find a way find a hammer.
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz
    cooled by a Global Win fop-38
    On an Asus A7V Motherboard with
    256 pc-133 ram
    Hercules 3D Prophet II GTS Pro
    Sound Blaster Live!
    Creative Labs 8x DVD
    Western Digital 7200 RPM 40 gig HD
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    What kind of memory you got. If that is an Abit KT7A rev. 2 then they are hitting in the 166-183Mhz range for bus speeds. If you have good enough memory then this will give you the best performance. Just start raising the bus speed until things get unstable then back it off a bit. Sometimes raising the I/O voltage a bit will let you squease a bit more out of your memory. At 150Mhz you will be at 1.5Ghz with the default clock multiplier. If you can get some GOOD SDRAM that can do 150Mhz at cas2, then you will have a rock'n system.

    Also even though the Voodoo3 is a good card, it is getting a bit dated and will be an anchor in a system like yours (along with the sound card). Man you must have dumped everything into getting a new MB, HD, and CPU.

    Also the FOP32-1might not be up to too much overclocking, but as long as you can keep the temps under 50-55'C you should be OK.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    By the way if the memory can't handle anything higher and you are really strapped for cash (considering the price of memory right now) then you can up the multiplier instead. As far as I know all 1.2+Ghz CPUs are shipped un locked. Just start upping the multiplier in .5x steps until it fails some benchmarks. You can bump it back and raise the bus speed a tiny bit to squease every last bit you can out of it.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    13
    Todd,
    Yes I did kinda of dump everything into the case, MB, CPU and HDD... I don't only have a 2 speaker system so what is the advantage to going out and buying SB Live! PCI if I won't reap the benefits... as for my Voodoo3 3000 I'm not quite ready to dump a load of cash (yet) on a new vid card (especially since my Voodoo seems to be working ok)... but I plan to upgrade to an Nvidia GF2 sometime in the future.... As far as my RAM goes it is an PC-133 128MB 16x64 8ns SDRAM DIMM...
    Currently I'm running at 133FSB with the multiplier @ 10x = 1333Mhz = 1.33Ghz

    ------------------
    Abit KT7A (200/266)Mhz
    Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB
    GlobalWin FOP-32
    RAM: 128M (PC-133)
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 PCI (16M)
    SoundBlaster16 ISA
    IBM 30G Deskstar
    NEC 250M Zip drive, Iomega 2G Jaz drive (w/ Jaz Jet PCI)
    NetGear FA311 NIC
    USRobotics Int 56k
    Windows 98 SE
    Abit KT7A (200/266)Mhz
    Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB @ 1.4Ghz
    GlobalWin FOP-32
    RAM: 128M (PC-133)
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 PCI (16M)
    SoundBlaster16 ISA
    IBM 30G Deskstar
    NEC 250M Zip drive, Iomega 2G Jaz drive (w/ Jaz Jet PCI)
    NetGear FA311 NIC
    USRobotics Int 56k
    Windows 98 SE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    13
    Todd,
    but I didn't spend "alot" on the system: Enlight 7237 case, Memory, HDD, CPU, CPU Fan, and Mobo ran me about $800... not bad IMHO...

    So there is room yet for me (buget-wise) to upgrade my sound card, vid card, fan or memory... an other thing is I just put this together (like last week) so I'm not about to run out and get new memory, a cpu fan and such.... but the sound is definitely ancient!


    ------------------
    Abit KT7A (200/266)Mhz
    Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB
    GlobalWin FOP-32
    RAM: 128M (PC-133)
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 PCI (16M)
    SoundBlaster16 ISA
    IBM 30G Deskstar
    NEC 250M Zip drive, Iomega 2G Jaz drive (w/ Jaz Jet PCI)
    NetGear FA311 NIC
    USRobotics Int 56k
    Windows 98 SE

    [This message has been edited by buhockey13 (edited 04-03-2001).]

    [This message has been edited by buhockey13 (edited 04-03-2001).]
    Abit KT7A (200/266)Mhz
    Athlon 1.33Ghz 266FSB @ 1.4Ghz
    GlobalWin FOP-32
    RAM: 128M (PC-133)
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 PCI (16M)
    SoundBlaster16 ISA
    IBM 30G Deskstar
    NEC 250M Zip drive, Iomega 2G Jaz drive (w/ Jaz Jet PCI)
    NetGear FA311 NIC
    USRobotics Int 56k
    Windows 98 SE

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •